We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner and music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Restaurant

Rose Restaurant
24 Akacfa Street | 7th District, Budapest 1072, Hungary
36 1 322 5426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 1,865 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $27
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner and music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We booked this restaurant based on other reviews long prior to our visit to Budapest, we were not disappointed. The cheese soup starter was very good indeed. My Brasso style platter was very flavorful even with more potatoes and less meat than I might have liked. The treat was the Apple Pie desert. We asked the waiter to recommend a wine as we were unfamiliar with Hungarian wine. He recommended a "Bull's Blood" which we have found is a common Hungarian Red which was very good. We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    77
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Everything's roses here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stumbled across this great little place on our short break to Budapest. The atmosphere was typically Hungarian even down to the on site violinist and accompanist. The food was lovely and inexpensive. Recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Food was amazing and so was the service! Very personable. Would highly recommend. The wait staff was fun and very engaging...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aarau, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We ordered the gnochi with ricotta and tomato, mediterranean chicken with rice and a schnitzel with salad. Our mains came out quickly and we all enjoyed our food. These portions will leave you enough space for dessert so do give the Hungarian-style sponge cake a go. It's delicious! Otherwise the Crêpes and the Tiramisu are also highly recommended.

The restaurant's atmosphere is very welcoming and cosy. Our server spoke English and was very polite.

The menu included English descriptions of everything so ordering food was a piece of cake.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This restaurant has upscale Hungarian food including several vegetarian choices. One of us had the goulash with mushrooms and veal and it was excellent. The evening we visited there was live music -- violin and guitar -- which was wonderful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.