We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centrooms House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centrooms House to your Saves list
Centrooms House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rakoczi ut 44, Budapest 1072, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 174 Budapest B&B and Inns
Bristol
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
68 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Good for the money and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am sat on the bed in Centrooms writting this review now. We have room 2 and it is small with a 5 metre high ceiling. The room is a little dirty and a bit worn. The bed is hard and uncomfortable but sheets are clean. The room is facing the road and is very noisy.

But this place has character !!!!!

Set in a beautifull courtyard and room 2 has a small balcony. It almost feels like the royal box when i am having a sneaky fag on the balcony.

It is also very good value for Central Budapest.

The english speaking staff are friendly and helpfull.

Despite a few miner gripes i recomend this place.

Room Tip: Choose room 2 if you are a smoker and want to go for a ciggerette on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    79
    55
    13
    15
See reviews for
10
72
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kotka, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The location and price/quality- ratio are the highlights of this hotel.
Even if there is raining, all the way from airport, you can reach the Centrooms' door without getting wet. That's some kind of location!
My room, number 6, beside the reception, was quite old and worn and was not equipped with air-conditioning. More important in October was, that the room was warm enough.
Worth to mention is that television channels included CNN. Free Wi-Fi was able to create a Skype-connection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a very good hotel. The location is very good, 15m from metro station, and with lots of restauranrs and bars nearby. Room was clean and the staff very helpful and kind. Facilities are old, but i personally liked this style. I read some comments regarding noise. My room was on the front side, and indeed there is some noise, but not enough to keep you awake. And the price/quality ratio is very good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If i would rewiev this guesthouse just from the position "what i expect from a typical hotel and what i found there" Centrooms house would get 1 or 2 "bubles" (depends on my mood). Geusthouse is worn out a bit, bathroom need repairing (but it is clean). Shower floor is so high from the ground, that it's hard to get out. Bed is hard and noisy.

But as you see i wrote 3 "bubles". It has something. Starting from inner yeard with some small trees and places to sit and relax. Finishing with at least 4 metres high ceiling. It's easyer to fell, then to tell. It's not a place i dream to come back, but i'm happy i tried to stay here.


Location - average. Not the best part of the town, but ~5min walk to city center and nice street with coffe's and pub's just next street. Staff - profesional. Nothing more, than we asked. And nothing less. Perfect english of both receptiomens.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Noisy, impossible to sleep. In front of a big avenue, all night long you're woken up by busses and ambulances. The room never has been cleaned during our stay and the towels never changed. There was no place to hang or put our clothes so had to be left in our suitcases.The Wi-Fi Was less than poor in the room and always cutting off... This hotel ruined my stay in Budapest!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently came back from Budapest in September 2012. Atleast when you come to the hustle and bustle of main street of Budapest you think it is going to be sooo noisey, once you get into centrooms courtyard, you cannot hear any traffic at all. It is actually very pretty courtyard with big rooms and very helpful staff. All the other negatives opinons on here I think are very fussy and it was a great experience for me. You are right next to the metro and not far away from macdonalds and tesco haha but with this hotel I feel you can relax. It definetly is not just for the young people, my family went up to the age of 54 and they thought for the money, it is well worth it.
I will be definetly staying there again.
Emma

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor rooms as they are big and spacious and you dont have to go up any more stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Centrooms House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrooms House

Address: Rakoczi ut 44, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrooms House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Centrooms House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrooms House Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrooms House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.