We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centrooms House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centrooms House to your Saves list
Centrooms House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rakoczi ut 44, Budapest 1072, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 166 Budapest B&B and Inns
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    75
    55
    12
    15
See reviews for
10
71
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kotka, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The location and price/quality- ratio are the highlights of this hotel.
Even if there is raining, all the way from airport, you can reach the Centrooms' door without getting wet. That's some kind of location!
My room, number 6, beside the reception, was quite old and worn and was not equipped with air-conditioning. More important in October was, that the room was warm enough.
Worth to mention is that television channels included CNN. Free Wi-Fi was able to create a Skype-connection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a very good hotel. The location is very good, 15m from metro station, and with lots of restauranrs and bars nearby. Room was clean and the staff very helpful and kind. Facilities are old, but i personally liked this style. I read some comments regarding noise. My room was on the front side, and indeed there is some noise, but not enough to keep you awake. And the price/quality ratio is very good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If i would rewiev this guesthouse just from the position "what i expect from a typical hotel and what i found there" Centrooms house would get 1 or 2 "bubles" (depends on my mood). Geusthouse is worn out a bit, bathroom need repairing (but it is clean). Shower floor is so high from the ground, that it's hard to get out. Bed is hard and noisy.

But as you see i wrote 3 "bubles". It has something. Starting from inner yeard with some small trees and places to sit and relax. Finishing with at least 4 metres high ceiling. It's easyer to fell, then to tell. It's not a place i dream to come back, but i'm happy i tried to stay here.


Location - average. Not the best part of the town, but ~5min walk to city center and nice street with coffe's and pub's just next street. Staff - profesional. Nothing more, than we asked. And nothing less. Perfect english of both receptiomens.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Noisy, impossible to sleep. In front of a big avenue, all night long you're woken up by busses and ambulances. The room never has been cleaned during our stay and the towels never changed. There was no place to hang or put our clothes so had to be left in our suitcases.The Wi-Fi Was less than poor in the room and always cutting off... This hotel ruined my stay in Budapest!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently came back from Budapest in September 2012. Atleast when you come to the hustle and bustle of main street of Budapest you think it is going to be sooo noisey, once you get into centrooms courtyard, you cannot hear any traffic at all. It is actually very pretty courtyard with big rooms and very helpful staff. All the other negatives opinons on here I think are very fussy and it was a great experience for me. You are right next to the metro and not far away from macdonalds and tesco haha but with this hotel I feel you can relax. It definetly is not just for the young people, my family went up to the age of 54 and they thought for the money, it is well worth it.
I will be definetly staying there again.
Emma

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor rooms as they are big and spacious and you dont have to go up any more stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Decided to stay here based on the previous reviews and stayed for 3 nights. The building is situated on a busy main road but the road noise could not be heard from our room. We stayed in room 13 which is located on the ground floor facing a central courtyard.

Booked a double room but ended up with an extra room with another single bed. The rooms have exceptionally high ceilings and the bed was nice and comfortable. There is a safe which You can keep valuables in and is just big enough for an ipad. The bathroom was very small and as previous reviewers have mentioned, this room had half a door missing and a leaky shower hose which flooded the room everytime we attempted a shower.

The first night was a good sleep however for some strange reason, we were woken up by builders who decided it was ok to start drilling and using power tools at 7.30 in the morning! This also carried on the following night where we were glad to get away. The walls and windows were exceptionally thin and you could hear everything outside the room.

Overall, the place is nice but could do with a few renovations starting with the bathroom and painting the walls. Staff were friendly and can speak english but advise to take your own hair dryer as the girlfriend got an electric shock from the one she used from reception.

Finally, the area is ok (you can see a few homeless people around) however i think this is compensated by the wide variety of cafes/restaurants and bars/clubs within a couple of streets.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centrooms House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrooms House

Address: Rakoczi ut 44, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrooms House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Centrooms House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrooms House Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centrooms House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.