We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real "Dream" Apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Dream Apartment

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Dream Apartment
Save
You added Green Dream Apartment to your Saves list
Szent Istvan korut 8, Budapest 1137, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 537 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Caen, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A real "Dream" Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have spent 4 days in January 2013 in the Green Dream Apartment and were truely extremely enthusiastic with this accommodation that is very well located close to the Parlement and the Marguerite Bridge, perfectly quiet and definitely convenient. Greg welcome us with kindness and gave us some useful information to enjoy our stay. I strongly recommend this address and if we come back to Budapest we will certainly go back to this Dream Apartment. We were 4 adults (two of us and our 2 daughters 19 and 22) and everyone really enjoyed the apartment as we could easily take a rest or play games or read a book or have meals and the location allowed our daughters to be independent when they wanted. Stores and tramway are at less than 100 meters but we also walked across the town very easily from the apartment. Thank you Greg for your welcome hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    39
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
69
67
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the GD Family apartment. We especially appreciated the peace and quiet of the place, remarkable since the building is located on such a busy and noisy thoroughfare. (The apartment itself is at the far end of a courtyard.) Location is excellent in every way: central, close to shops and restaurants.
The interior has everything you might need, including wifi and the use of a computer. On the negative side you could say that it's nothing special, design-wise; also there's no proper separation between the downstairs and upstairs rooms (the first bedroom is on the landing, so that, for example, after our daughter had gone to bed we were unable to talk or have the television on downstairs without disturbing her). But overall the accommodation was excellent value.
Greg was welcoming and helpful. He recommended the local Pozsonyi restaurant, where we enjoyed traditional Hungarian dishes. (Note: Don't just turn up as we did to find a long queue. Reserve a table.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zejtun, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I don’t usually write reviews, but I felt compelled to write one this time round. I chose to stay at GD apartment for my trip in Budapest after reading many positive reviews on TripAdvisor. It was the best decision I could have done. The apartment is at a very central location. I visited all the main attractions at the Pest side on foot, and since the apartment is at the side of the Danube, it was also easy to cross to the Buda side on foot. The apartment was equipped with everything you can imagine you'd need including a kitchenette, washing machine, iron, adapter, books on Budapest, leaflets and maps about main attractions, etc. The apartment was also very clean. The price is ridiculous. If all this does not impress you, what will certainly impress you is Greg, the apartment owner. He's the most helpful person you will ever meet. He speaks perfect English and explains everything you need to know to make things as easy as possible for you. One day I emailed him at 1:30am, and he replied a minute later! To sum it up, I totally recommend this place.

Room Tip: Don't forget to tell Greg at what time you will be arriving so that he will be waiting for you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was upgraded from the light to the family appartement :)
I was very glad for it.
The appartement was perfect; greg ( the owner ) very sympathic, he explained me where to can buy something in a grocery ; tjhe lukas baths ( not far from the appartement , the other side of the danube; and a very good ( and cheap) restaurant .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My girlfriend and visited Budapest last week for a 3-day trip and stayed in the Green Dream apartment and we can really recommend it.

The apartment is situated in a central place with public transportation, super market and a variety of cafés and restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance. The apartment itself is situated in a beautiful old building, and we also enjoyed the interieur design. The apartment is spacious, and is equipped with all basic cooking facilities and also a washing machine, but no automatic dishwasher and no baking oven. There was also a TV with Hungarian and English speaking channels and wifi internet access for free.

The apartment entrance is on the ground-floor, but the sleeping room is to be reached via stairs, so physically disabled visitors should keep this obstacle in mind.

I also want to emphasize that we had the impression of a very helpful and friendly service by the apartment owner who provided useful information.

I can recommend a stay in this apartment with a clear conscience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Green Dream Family Apartment. Greg was there to meet us on arrival and gave us many tips for an enjoyable stay in Budapest. The Apartment is in a brilliant location by Margaret Bridge and Island. There are supermarkets, cash machines, restaurants and trams very close by. Even though the apartment is close to all amenities in a busy area it is in a gated peaceful courtyard. Had fabulous Hungarian soup at Lecsa just 2 or 3 doors up the road and enjoyed visiting Poszonyi Restaurant most evenings for traditional Hungarian fayre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Excellent location, nearby all facilities and sites to visit. Easily to reach by public transport. Very quiet and clean. Also provided with coffee/tea so nothing to bring with you. Host Greg is very friendly and providing all info you might need.
Will be back here on next visit to Budapest!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Dream Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Dream Apartment

Address: Szent Istvan korut 8, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 537 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy guesthouse with private units. Friendly atmosphere in the heart of downtown, closed to renewed Margaret bridge, Pest side. Convenient location, excellent accessibility. Carefully designed to be a truly home-to-home accommodation, where you can easily relax after sightseeing, and sleep well respecting the extra quiet sorrounding. Peaceful courtyard with plants and flowers, you will feel incubated from the hustle and bustle of the city life.Free broadband wifi internet, laptop, cable are provided by default in all units.All apartments have been refurbished recent years 2010/11, quality interior design, furnished according to high level of standards with care to give every comfort of a home. Family friendly environment. Baby-cot, baby-chair, toys for kids are available on request (for free). Highest level of hygiene and cleanness on every check in.Most sights are within a short walking distance. Few minutes to the Parliament, the Nyugati Railway Station or the beautiful parks of Margaret Island. Buda Castle or Heroes Squar can be reached easily and quickly by public transportation. The Danube, the Comedy Theatre are only a minute away. Lot of restaurants, cafes and pubs, shops can be found in the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Dream Apartment Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Dream Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.