We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel 21

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel 21 to your Saves list
Central Hotel 21
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maria Street 10, Budapest 1085, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #84 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I went on a Christmas break to Budapest in December 2012 (only gotten round to writing a review now - sorry!).
The hotel Is located on the edge of the city center on the Pest side, down a quiet residential street. The hotel is situated in a beautiful traditional building, with modern rooms inside.
We were located in a room on the ground floor next to the breakfast room. Despite being next to the road there was no noise from outside. The room had a very comfortable double bed, plenty of storage space, satellite tv, free Wi-Fi, and the bathroom had a great shower! The rooms were very clean, and were tidied each day.
The staff were very friendly here, and were happy to indulge our liberal use of the free tea / coffee making facilities and our "odd" British habit of putting milk in tea (puzzles many Hungarians).
It is located 2 minutes from the tram service, 5 minutes from the nearest Metro station, and 10 minutes from the city center.
Unfortunately our flight back was cancelled, so we had to stay another night - and were able to get another room here. But it was a family apartment in the courtyard (which would be great for friends / family to stay in) It had a kitchen, two double beds, a single, and a very large bathroom.
Overall, I would come back to Budapest, and happily stay here whether as a couple, or with friends/family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Tintin1991,

It is so wonderful to hear that you loved the hotel so much and I am delighted that you found it to be comfortable, refined and the service impeccable. I am pleased to hear that the team were helpful, courteous and genuinely interested in guest. We genuinely are interested in our guests and we want them to have a wonderful and memorable stay with us so I am pleased that you had a lovely time

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    197
    47
    5
    4
See reviews for
31
179
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Unfortunately no airco in this hotel! Overall comfortabele and clean rooms. Good breakfast for a small price. The staff was friendly and helpfull. Take the airportshuttle for transport to this hotel! Quick, save and simple

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Peter F,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Location is convenient, close to transport links and a few places to eat and drink although I preferred the other areas of Budapest, they would have undoubtedly been more expensive. The hotel is slightly odd, we found it harder to find as it's on a quieter street but the street is quiet and residential. Hotel stairwell and area smelled very damp and old fashioned but lobby was tiny but modern. Staff were relatively helpful. Room was huge. It had 4 beds inside (we booked a double room) a kitchen and dining room but a really tiny bathroom, so was slightly odd. For the money though the room was huge, so huge it felt empty and cold though with no decor whatsoever. Rooms had no air con so had to open windows which meant it was cooler but could be louder as for some reason the locals like to be up at the crack of dawn. I would stay here if you want a very short stay in the city and not going to be in the hotel much, want something cheaper and slightly more out of the way. If you have a bit more money to spend, this hotel is one of the most basic I've stayed in and I've stayed in many a motel that felt more hotel like than this.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the road (i think all are) which was relatively busy if you had windows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear smnthklly,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Central Hotel 21 *** Budapest.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the city center but on a quiet street. The staff was very helpful and recommended us a good restaurant nearby.The entrance in our room (which was in fact a very big apartment) was from an inside garden which is very cosy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Mousiero,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Central Hotel 21 *** Budapest. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

When you first go in the hotel, it is a little weird because everything looks old but after you enter the hotel door, everything is modern and clean. Nice and friendly staff, willing to help at any time. Good price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Wendy V,

We would like to express our appreciation to you for taking your time to write a review after staying in our hotel.
Your comments inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Well for the price there is not too much to complain about.
Nice clean rooms in a good area that is reasonably central.
There is the usual gripe about insufficient hangers in the wardrobe, no space to put toiletries in the bathroom, but I have experienced these concerns in five star hotels at three times the price.
It is a little noisy at night, due mainly to revellers coming back in the early hours of the morning, the doors are very close together and the key mechanism is very noisy to get in and out of the room. So take your earplugs if you want an undisturbed night of sleep.
The reception staff are all very helpful and speak good english.
The breakfast is very basic for the five euros, but that is reflected in the price.
Unfortunately there is no decaff coffee, english teabags or sweeteners available.
Now I am only highlighting the niggles, but for a clean and a good priced base from which to explore Budapest from this is a great place.

Room Tip: I would avoid the front rooms that face the road, but rooms inside the courtyard can also be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear brazier123,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Central Hotel 21 *** Budapest.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Budapest City Central
Budapest City Central
#64 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#94 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#49 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#59 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#47 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel 21

Address: Maria Street 10, Budapest 1085, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel 21 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel 21 *** is located in the city centre of Budapest close to the most visited sites (Danube, Market Hall, Synagogue, National Museum) and all parts of the city are within easy reach with public transportation. Shopping areas, theatres, restaurants (with reasonable prices) and cafes are in walking distance (5 minutes on foot). Each room is equipped with a pay-per-use mini bar, an LCD TV, Safe, a direct-dial phone, and the uniquely designed bathroom offers a hairdryer to the guests. Some of them have a view to the street the others to the yard inside. Complimentary high speed internet service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Central Hotel 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.