We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel 21

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel 21 to your Saves list
Central Hotel 21
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maria Street 10, Budapest 1085, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #83 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is situated on the Pest side of the city in an ideal location for shopping,sights and restaurants.It's in a building that you could easily walk past.However,once inside it's full of charm and character.Although it's an old building,the rooms are modern,clean and warm.The staff are very helpful without being intrusive.Coffee and tea are available in the bar at no cost should you wish to sit down and unwind from a day in this lovely city.There is also a computer available in the same bar at no cost to the hotels occupants.We hope to return to Budapest one day soon (although I'll wait until the sun is out next time) and when we do,we will have no hesitation in returning to this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear tabpop,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Central Hotel 21 *** Budapest. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially our rooms, friendly team, and convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    180
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
167
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in February.
Very clean rooms and kind personel. Nice additional service is the tea and coffee (no charge) one can take in the lobby.
We considered the hotel near by the (turistic) city centre, approx. a 5-10 minute walk.
If we're back in Budapest, we would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Eef B,

I thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back .

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I definitely recommend this hotel! I stayed here for a week with my sister and it was very safe and great value. The staff were incredibly friendly and have great English. It is very central to everything which meant we were able to walk to everything and not bother with any public transport which is always a plus! I would definitely stay here again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear PocketFullOfShell,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at central Hotel 21 *** Budapest. We are always most delighted to receive positive praise for our perfect service. We very much appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and was upgraded to a bigger room! Good service, polite staff, clean rooms and central location. The only problem was the wifi was terrible! One of the reasons I chose this hotel was because of the wifi and was highly disappointed when I was told that they were having problems with their wifi. Nevertheless would definitely recommend this hotel. It is close to lots of pubs, restaurants, there is a small mart across the hotel. It is also close to the museum.

Room Tip: I like the courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Dharsh,

We would like to express our gratitude to you for taking your time to write a review after your stay in our hotel.
Our Director of Engineering has attended to the problem regarding the internet, for which we apologize.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robecchetto con Induno, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I spent 3 days and 2 nights with my boyfriend (26-28 January 2013) at this hotel.
Clean but small rooms and small bathroom (and no bidet!! ò_O), good walking distance to the metro stations and to the centre, no noises during the night, very kind staff, breakfast not bad (milk, hot drinks, butter, bread, cereals, jams, patès, juices, cheese, ham).
I enjoyed it =)

Room Tip: Room n°10 was small but peacefull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear sbremba,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at central Hotel 21 *** Budapest. We very much appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent 3 days staying at this hotel end of Nov 2012 with 2 of my friends. The hotel is in good walking distance to the centre - trams come every few minutes to take you further into the centre or across the river. There are very poor parts, but we didn't realise that only a 5 minute walk in the opposite direction (where xmas market is) is the posh bit with some lovely shops and a ice bar. Xmas market was lovely too, gets you in a christmassy mood, so do go there around nov/dec time.
Ice bar was only 3euros which incl 2 drinks. The hotel is right by the national museum about a 2 minute walk. Rooms were spacious and good for the money you pay...bath, is a jacuzzi bath..beds are comfy. Don't be expecting wild nights at this hotel as we found, its a long way from any kind of nightlife - you ask for a club and it will be a strip club. Food is so cheap here. Receptionist was lovely and kind, helped us girls out a lot. Would return in summer to see what it is like then!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear ginaarme,

We would like to express our appreciation to you for taking your time to write a review after staying in our hotel.
Your comments inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, clean rooms and bathroom, nicely decoratet! :) warm atmosphere! There is no noise, so it is very peaceful over night! Parking is free duing the weekend in the street. Best value for the money we paid! Tram is 5 min. walk! I will come again! :)))

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear MarinaP767,

I thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back .

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel 21

Address: Maria Street 10, Budapest 1085, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel 21 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel 21 *** is located in the city centre of Budapest close to the most visited sites (Danube, Market Hall, Synagogue, National Museum) and all parts of the city are within easy reach with public transportation. Shopping areas, theatres, restaurants (with reasonable prices) and cafes are in walking distance (5 minutes on foot). Each room is equipped with a pay-per-use mini bar, an LCD TV, Safe, a direct-dial phone, and the uniquely designed bathroom offers a hairdryer to the guests. Some of them have a view to the street the others to the yard inside. Complimentary high speed internet service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Central Hotel 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.