We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel 21

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel 21 to your Saves list
Central Hotel 21
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maria Street 10, Budapest 1085, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #82 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Rhodes
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a very nice B&B i definetely suggest to budget travellers who choose Budapest for a short brake. The location is good, close to main metro or tram stations, you can even walk (if it is not too cold to do so!).

The Building is interesting, the entrance is on the first floor. I somehow like this kind of creepy hotels which you cannot find directly from the door!

As you enter, there is the only facility of the hotel, the front-desk/Bar/Lobby, where are working a few guys, always at our disposition. They give usefull information about the city and they are very welcoming! Good Job!

The rooms are smartly furnished, there is even mini bar. I felt a bit awkward with the high ceiling but this is a matter of architecture. The room was warm enough in those cold days of December, you could have an amazing shower.

Only negative aspects that the management should reconsider:
-you need to provide some shower amenities - not all guests have their own!
-you need to fix the TV programme as providing some international or at least english-speaking channels!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear NikRhodes,

We would like to express our gratitude to you for taking your time to write a review after your stay in our hotel.
Our Director of Engineering has attended to the problem regarding the TV channels.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    202
    49
    5
    4
See reviews for
31
187
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zenica, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I've stayed in many hotels and I can say that I never received such value for less money. It was much more than I expected from 3 stars and so low price. Hotel is newly renovated, it is perfectly clean, room is cute and cozy, so as the rest of hotel. Receptionist is very kind and helpful and he speaks English pretty good. Of course, you can't expect perfection for such low price, and the only minus is that the bed is not very comfortable, for my taste it is too soft and I didn't like the pillow, but after all it is not that important. I've stayed in expensive hotels with terrible mattress and pillows, and paid 5 times this price.
Location is great, just 15 minutes walk to town center, and there are some nice bars and restaurants nearby. Also, if you are traveling by car, you can find parking spot in front (street is not that busy). For us it was good because we stayed for one night, and we arrived around 6 p.m. (parking is free from 8 pm to 8 am) so we payed just first two hours, and we were lucky to find a spot just in front of hotel doors. If you're staying longer, there is parking garage nearby.

All together, I warmly recommend. Much more than you expect for 26 € per night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear 2strawberry,

I thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back .

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Hi....i visit...your hotel....in the central of your capital.....near to metro station... i enjoy..staying hire...the stuff,very. Friendly...nice room,clean..wii fi ,...u can't wish more 4a ..3star hotel!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear belahalasz,

I thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back .

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The staff were friendly, helpful and fluent in English. My room was clean and modern with a compact bathroom. It was small but big enough for me. In the room was a large flat screen TV (though only CNN in English), a mini bar and a safe. My only complaint would be that the room was too hot.

The hotel offered free WIFI and use of a computer in the reception and you could help yourself to tea for free. They also arranged transfers from and to the airport (a taxi). They did offer breakfast but we did not take it.

It was about 10 mins walk away from the city centre but there were a few nice bars and restaurants about 2 mins away.

All in all this hotel offered excellent value at less than £20 per night. I would definitely return there - hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Lollilou,

I am glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back .

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, very close to city short walk! Lovely hotel rooms like other reviews it is very hot in the room! Would stay here again! Very efficient in booking taxis and tours good service even though staff spoke little English.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear KJM03,

I thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back .

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's a great hotel and the staff is amazing, very helpful and kind. The location is good, rooms are clean and new furniture. Free wifi in the rooms, free tea in the lobby. We even had free umbrellas for the rainy days.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Oana C,

We would like to express our appreciation to you for taking your time to write a review after staying in our hotel.
Your comments inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was overall a nice room with a clean and good service. We emailed a few weeks before travelling asking for a twin room and when we arrived were upgraded to the apartment which was the only room in the whole hotel with two separate beds. The service of all of the staff was really good and everyone was very friendly. The hotel is in a quiet location and within relative walking distance (20 minutes) from the main city centre. A clean hotel and we would book to stay there again. Breakfast is €4 extra and beware of the 4% tourist tax added on arrival. Overall though it is a good hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: If you would like a twin room email in advance. The only apartment is on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear TripTravels123,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Central Hotel 21 *** Budapest.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Budapest City Central
Budapest City Central
#64 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#48 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#101 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#57 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel 21

Address: Maria Street 10, Budapest 1085, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel 21 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel 21 *** is located in the city centre of Budapest close to the most visited sites (Danube, Market Hall, Synagogue, National Museum) and all parts of the city are within easy reach with public transportation. Shopping areas, theatres, restaurants (with reasonable prices) and cafes are in walking distance (5 minutes on foot). Each room is equipped with a pay-per-use mini bar, an LCD TV, Safe, a direct-dial phone, and the uniquely designed bathroom offers a hairdryer to the guests. Some of them have a view to the street the others to the yard inside. Complimentary high speed internet service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Central Hotel 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.