We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, very expensive though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olimpia

Olimpia
Alpar utca 5., Budapest, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)
+36 1 321-2805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 1,990 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $112
Cuisines: International, European, Contemporary, Fusion, Diner, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, very expensive though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Very near to Far Home Apartments. Not many vegetarian options available. Staff very courteous and patient with our 18 month old baby. Not a place to venture in evening especially if you have cranky kids!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    18
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“delicious & inventive food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My friend and I went here in February 2013 and enjoyed the restaurant though it was a different experience to what we were expecting! First, the restaurant is much farther away from the city centre than we had anticipated. You actually have to walk through what appears to be a dodgy part of town to get there which we didn't like. When we arrived we were sat right away and immediately asked if we wanted champagne though we had asked for a wine list. We never ended up receiving our wine list and felt rather forced to have the wine tastings with each course though it wasn't to our liking and rather expensive for Budapest. We chose the 4 course tasting which actually ended up being a 7 course tasting! I couldn't imagine having gone for more courses than just the 4! We ended up having 2 starters, a soup, a main, a cheese selection, and 2 desserts. More than enough food! Everything was delicious except for the soup which wasn't to our liking - green soup with a "perfect egg" as it was described to us...strange consistency and flavours. The restaurant is quite bare with recipe books from famous chefs and restaurants. Overall the restaurant was expensive for Budapest but inexpensive when considering it ended up being a 7 course tasting menu. If you have time for a 2-2.5 hour dinner then definitely try this place! Reservations are recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personal art cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A hidden gem in Budapest. The Chef, Lajos Takacs, turns to the food with heart and intelligence, which shows on their menu. Although they don't have menu in the everyday sense, they inform us only about the ingredients they use on a blackboard in the middle of the restaurant. Always seasonal, and local. The wine part is handled by Csaba Csongrady, the sommelier, who prefers wines of small haute-couture cellars to put on the wine list. His knowledge is impressive. The gastronomic experience is one the bests in Budapest.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've been there two times, having a dinner there was always a pleasure. Great food, great service, it worth every forint.
Don't go there if you don't want to spend the full night there. Let the waiter/sommelier offer you wine before and after every dish to maximize the culinary experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Much looked forward to- sadly disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had been looking forward to going for quite some time, having read some very positive reviews on TripAdvisor and heard good things on web sites. A delayed wedding anniversary celebration proved the ideal excuse. It is situated in deepest district 8 near Keleti Station in an area that might be described as “up and coming”. The quirk of the restaurant is that there is no menu. The courses are fixed but if you have any allergies they can change certain items. You can start at 4 courses or go up to 7 courses. We chose the 4 course menu (although we were promised the 5 course menu when we booked as a special offer).

Our first impressions were good. It seemed busy and there was a lively buzz. It soon went downhill. We were left for a long time before they came to take our drinks order and when the waiter realised (after telling him more than once) that we did not want to take the wine offer which included wines to match the dishes for an undisclosed sum his attitude became even more offputting. The wine list though quite extensive seemed a little on the pricey side to me- but then I am not a wine buff.

Our food started arriving and a small amuse bouche was followed by our starter- duck liver with smoked eel. I liked the smoked eel but will be happy never to taste duck liver again. Having studiously avoided goose liver since coming here (too too cruel) I was not really too happy about the duck. This is one of the perils of eating in this kind of place. We were left for long periods of time with no food or drink. The waiter kept our wine bottle and only topped our glasses up when he remembered- not very often. Our soup course was a vegetable consomme with a few mussels floating in it- they did not add anything to the flavour and seemed a bit of an empty gesture. We had arrived at 7.30 but it was now past 9 and our food intake had been very minimal. The main course arrived and what there was of it was good, slow roasted pork with a reduced sauce and a few vegetables. I was very happy to get our dessert of plum crumble cake as this meant we could leave!

I would love to say that we had spent a lovely 3 hours but all I can really remember is the surly waiter, being hungry and feeling very uncomfortable. The handmade ceramic crockery was much admired by me though. At 5000 HUF each for the food it was not bad value but we will not be going back and if you do I would suggest that the 7 course option might be an idea although it would probably take 5 hours. Hubby has been to a similar very famous restaurant in Lyon and he claims that the food was much better and the staff far ruder- but with a certain Gallic charm!

Maybe we just expected too much. The food and the service in particular does not warrant such rave reviews in my opinion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olimpia also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Olimpia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olimpia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.