We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location friendly helpful staff 4 out of 5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europa Centerpoint Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Europa Centerpoint Budapest to your Saves list
Europa Centerpoint Budapest
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Jozsef korut 2 | Blaha Lujza ter, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 169 Budapest B&B and Inns
bicester uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“central location friendly helpful staff 4 out of 5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

staff were professional and friendly, central location, no problems at all, would recommend this guesthouse considering how much I paid,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erikbaba, Owner at Europa Centerpoint Budapest, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    121
    38
    14
    11
See reviews for
17
117
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We have chosen this place, because it was very well located. This hostel is set in the old building on one of the top floors. There is a small lift, so it can fit only you and your suitcase :-) The reception guy was a little bit funny. The rooms were small, poorly furnished. Bathroom was small as well. Breakfasts include coffee, tea and some croissant - so nothing special. If you wish only to sleep there - this is fine, but if you wish to have a romantic and nice stay - choose a different place.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erikbaba, Owner at Europa Centerpoint Budapest, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
We have rooms at the third and the fourth floor. The third floors rooms windows face to the Rakoczi Street, the fourth floord rooms windows face to the Blaha Lujza Squer and the Jozsef krt. Boulevard where goes the world longest tram 0-24h. The building is 18ö zears old, so we have the smallest elevator on the world. The rooms are IKEA style :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Check in was a mess,they didnt have our reservation first(paid in advance),staff seemed to be very unprofessional.When finally got to our rooms,and there was 7 of us,it seemed that the renovation(if you can call it like that)had been made by bunch of monkeys.Showers didnt work ok,frigdes missing or didnt work,all looked like a work of a 7yrs old,and by the way,the beds were horrible to sleep.breakfast was just bread and jam+coffee,so no points there.cleaning was a matter of its own.After first night,when we got back,all the sheets etc were ripped off,and that was it,not even rubbish taken.Got a bit mad,and after complaining about it,the receptionist came to do our beds,but didnt know how to do it...ah,after 20min or so,the beds finally done,the rubbish still there.eventually we had a 4 night stay,wont be coming back.You can find this good location for a less hassle.Have a nice Budapest.Stay away from this join though :-D

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erikbaba, Owner at Europa Centerpoint Budapest, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
We are so sorry for the negative impression. Here was some renovation that time, but we do not want to close the property. We changed the staff, the beds. Most of our rooms has hydro massage shower cabin, sometimes it goes wrong to use all function, but we prepare all the time, when it not work, we always ask the guests, if something not working in the room, tell it at the reception, to call repair. Now, We have daily housekeeping. I can offer you a free night in my Guesthouse to feel the difference. So sorry about your last impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We had a very disappointing experience in this hotel. The customer service was very poor. We were first put into a very shabby room, whenever a tap was run there was a loud vibrating noise from the pipes. It was not very clean and felt run down. When we complained about this room we were offered a smaller room with twin beds rather than a double or told that we had to pay an extra 10euros per night for a double room.

We had booked for 3 nights and payment had been taken, we were refused a refund so had no option but to pay the extra so as not to ruin the last few days of a 3 week holiday. In the more expensive room the bathroom had the same problem and smelled of drains.

The 'breakfast' was bread and jam with a toaster available for your own use. It was served in a kitchen which didn't look very clean by teenagers (when they eventually noticed us) who kept going outside to smoke.

We had travelled from Istanbul, mostly staying in hostels which were much cheaper and of a much higher standard than this hotel. We have stayed in many hotels and this was the worst customer service we have ever experienced.

The only positive we found for this hotel was the location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erikbaba, Owner at Europa Centerpoint Budapest, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
We changed the staff, renewed the rooms, and changed the costumer service method. Now We provide higher quality, renewed rooms, not advanced payment, money back guaranty, back office manager. Now the room price are not include the breakfast so we can offer better quality food for the costumers if they need it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We were a group of four friends, 18 to 19, having a week's holiday in Budapest, which I had visited once before. I know the city fairly well, so we selected this destination as the destination of our holiday. I have traveled a lot and seen different hotels, good, bad and worse.



We first arrived from the airport via bus and metro to Blaha Lujza tér, which took about an hour. At first, we were a bit suspicious of the place. Kinda run-down building (on the inside), broken dirty windows, et cetera.

And when we got to the reception, we were told that checking in is at 2PM, even though the website says 24/7. Plus the guys at the reception had no idea what to do or say when we arrived, around 1PM. Also, we were kind of doubtful to leave our bags in the reception and suspicious of the staff - they didn't seem like they were educated professionals.

But, we came back at 2PM and the hotel manager was there, he knew what to do and what to say.

After receiving the hotel room keys we went to our room - it was kinda korny, we just laughed hard at the room. Small TV, bed with a electric socket behind your head, a "decorating" blue curtain hanging on the wall (which was far from symmetric). No hairdryer, no mini-fridge, basically nothing. Just two beds, a counter and a chair. Where the hell was the fire alarm?

I went to the hotel manager to ask about the room if there had been a misunderstanding, my reservation said standard room and on the website there's the standard and the budget room. He said that we have a special price for the room because we booked through an traveling agency, but he offered to change the room and I didn't have to even ask.

The new room was better, we finally had a table to put stuff on and night tables. But, again, everything kinda falls off or doesn't work - shower pressure dropped after a few days, the glass counter above the sink came off, security locker cable and card was god-knows-where, massaging shower didn't work, sewers clogged, fire alarm had been taken off, air condition worked randomly, et cetera. The sounds of the city were kind of irritating (especially the emergency vehicle sirens), but the windows blocked most of the noise.

I didn't want to complain since the manager had been kind enough for giving us the new room free of charge. With the new room and everything cleared up, we went to get some necessary things like water and some food.



The next morning we went to the breakfast (from 8 to 10, even though in the dining room it said 8 to 10:30. It seems like you just can't trust anything any sign or website tells you) and it was just... plain. Toast and margarine, coffee/tea and fruit. Not like the continental breakfast I've seen - the information on the website is kind of misleading.



Overall the hotel room was okay and comfortable since we didn't spend much time there, but I wouldn't give it three stars.

For the first time ever I thought, "it's so nice to get back home". The stay was okay, but make sure you get value for your money!

Pluses
+Location - metro stop, shops, cafés and sights nearby and withing a few metro stops.
+Price.
+Friendly manager.
+Brochures and free guidance about night clubs, sights, things to do, et cetera.
+You get to meet new people easily on the courtyard balconies and the dining room.

Cons
-Unprofessional staff, they need some training about how to run a hotel.
-Some things and luxuries in the rooms are non-functional, broken, clogged and/or missing.
-Breakfast was plain, don't even bother.
-Noisy location, but the windows block the noise pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erikbaba, Owner at Europa Centerpoint Budapest, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Since you have been here, we changed the receptionists, We set fridges, and hair dryers, fire alarm system (some times it couse problems, when the guests smoke inside the room :)

Thank You for the positive listings.

Answer for the negative things:
- new staff
- repaired, renewed rooms
- the breakfast not include the rooms rate

We try to make better our quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

The hotel looked more like "rooms to let". Apart from Free Internet, the hotel provides hardly any facilities. Nevertheless, the location is great and the rooms are nice. For 22 euros per room/night it was pretty ok.
Also, staff were friendly, but hardly spoke any English. Written communication worked better for us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

central next to train station and underground in a very old appartment but very cozy..

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europa Centerpoint Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Centerpoint Budapest

Address: Jozsef korut 2 | Blaha Lujza ter, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Centerpoint Budapest 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Centerpoint Budapest is set in a building dating from 1860. Located at the Blaha Lujza metro station, it offers nicely furnished, air-conditioned and non-smoking rooms.Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi as well as wired internet access in all rooms free of charge. Parking is available at a location nearby, charges are applicable. The Jewish Museum is only 150 metres away from the Centerpoint Guesthouse. The Keleti Railway Station can be reached within one tram stop. The staff of the Europa Centerpoint Hotel Budapest will be happy to inform about local sights and give recommendations regarding the numerous restaurants close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Europa Centerpoint Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Centerpoint Budapest Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa Centerpoint Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.