We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigris Restaurant

Tigris Restaurant
Merleg u. 10., Budapest 1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
+36 1 3173715
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 1,984 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The soups, the main dishes, the wines were great. Although it was expensive it was all worth it. We will go back anytime if we will be in Budapest.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    131
    41
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Outstanding Hungarian specialties in a cozy atmosphere. Food is first rate, probably the best goulash leves (Goulash Soup) I had in Budapest. In the heart of the tourist district but not touristy at all.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

warm and friendly welcome
typical hungarian dishes, wonderful hungarian wines
professional service, speaking english and german

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint and Romantic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had been in Budapest for 3 days and wanted to do a special dinner for our last night. This restaurant was recommended by a friend. It was the best food we had eaten since we had been there. Alot of Budapest food is heavy with few vegies. Tigris is a small cozy restaurant. Romantic and candlelit. The service was excellent and attentive. We had a lovely complimentary appetizer. The fish and accompaniments were excellent. Sauces light and heavenly. With very nice selection of veggies. The desserts were wonderful as well. We fell in love with the Hungarian
wines. Excellent selection of reasonably priced wines.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We went here after looking at trip advisor , for our wedding anniversary and it was amazing. They brought us a delicious pumpkin soup for an appetiser, for starter had foie gras with cherry and my wife had the smoked duck. Both fantastic, we took the recommendation of the sommelier of a dessert wine with the foie gras and a red with the duck and they were lovely. The mains were just as good. I had black Angus fillet steak and my wife had the pork tenderloin and cheek. Gorgeous.

The atmosphere was very romantic, the staff knowledgeable and not intrusive. Cost wise it wasn't cheap, but considering we had three courses, sparkling wine to start, including fillet steak and recommended wines with each dish the bill came in at £120.00. Much cheaper than most European cities. Top drawer overall and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Tigris Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Tigris Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigris Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.