We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigris Restaurant

Tigris Restaurant
Merleg u. 10., Budapest 1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
+36 1 3173715
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 1,989 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: European, Middle Eastern, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We came to Tigris on a recommendation of people we met in town. The restaurant is located in the center very close to St. Stefan Basilica. The specialty is a modern hungarian cuisine.
We came on Wednesday night to find out there were no tables available. We made a reservation for Thursday night. The restaurant is not large and was full. The food was very tasty and presented in an artistic way. A sommelier was making recommendations for wine. The meal started with a spinach mousse with beef served in small shot glasses courtesy of the house. We all ordered different things on the menu:steak tartar, smoked duck beast, leg of lamb with green pea puree and polenta, tender pork tenderloin & cheese.
We ordered a bottle of red wine Kovar 2008. Food and wine were exquisite. The deserts were delicious and beautifully presented. The price of food was reasonable, but wines are expensive. Main course was between 15 and 27 euro. The wine bottle started at 53 euro a bottle. We would recommend this restaurant, and I suggest making a reservation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    131
    41
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lovely food. Romantic atmosphere. Great service. Exceptional wine list.

Has to be one of the best restaurants in Budapest.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful food, wine, service and environs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Tastefully furnished in an old school Hungarian style. The food leans towards a modern European style, but is sourced from exceptional ingredients and served in both a stylish and wholesome way. The wall of awards are indeed justified, particularly those for the wine. An extremely comprehensive and thoroughly explained wine list awaits. Whilst many are not cheap, €30 buys a bottle of exception quality that will surprise. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Tigris wholeheartedly. My advice would be to book however. The restaurant is small, less than 36 covers and the quality has made it popular. Even on a quiet midweek night, short-notice tables are far from guaranteed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“From the minute we sat down it was rushed and pushy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were among the first diners of the evening to this hightly recomended restaurant. Before we had a chance to even look at the menu we were being told about the specials of the evening...asked if we wanted champagne (actually Hungarian sparkling wine) to start and what wine would we have.? I ordered the Hungarian sparkling wine and he poured less than half a champagne glass. (Price was about $6.50 U.S.) I thought it was to taste the wine but that was the serving size. I had them repeat the specials, but there were no prices given and of course the fish I ordered from the specials was among the most expensive things on the menu.They served bread, but I had to ask for butter and there never were any butter plates so eating the bread was a bit awkward. We were asked what wine we wanted for our entree before we had been served our appetizer or finished our first glass of wine. They were really pushy about the wines. The goulash soup was only fair, the cod was excellent and they did prepare it without salt as requested. The cabbage appetizer was interesting, but this is not a first class restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of my top 10 meals....ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a find. Small, great atmosphere and fun. Excellent wine but what really stood out was the food - a special that included sauteed scallops from Amsterdam and Fois Gras. I am 66 years old and have travelled alot and this made my top 10 all time meal list!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tigris Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Tigris Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigris Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.