We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Host : ) ; )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budavar Pension B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Budavar Pension B&B to your Saves list
Budavar Pension B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Szabo Ilonka u. 15/A, Budapest 1015, Hungary (District I / Buda)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 178 Budapest B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Host : ) ; )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband & I (from Hong Kong) stayed 2 nites there just 2 weeks ago. A very convenience location to the romance fairy tales sightseeing spots: Fisherman's Bastion(just 2mins walk) and the famous Matthias Church, Buda Castle. We enjoyed the day + night view of Fisherman's Bastion very very much (attached wz a photo view from my pillow). The innkeeper Viktor is very friendly, helpful and attentive. He prepared a simple but nice with warm eggs continental breakfast for every guest every morning at the cosy restaurant. Though the pension is not big but clean & tidy. A cosy and value for money B&B highly recommended.

Room Tip: choose rooms facing Fisherman's Bastion if you like fairy tales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    67
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
130
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It's very nice located place -3 minutes to Fisherman Bastion, 10 minutes to metro. From my room it was very nice view to Parlament and in the morning I could enjoy sunrise and in the evening watch beautiful lights of Budapest. I was here 4 nights, and I like it a lot.
Inside my room it's enough space.
Also it's safe box, soap in shower, good towels.
The breakfast is easy, but the eating room is small and nice. Victor, who works there, was so helpful and kind. He answered all my questions, gave me maps, and provided information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Budavar Pension. Our room was simple but clean, comfortable and with free wifi. We really enjoyed our balcony with a great view of the Parliament accross the Danube. Good choices for breakfast. The owner, Viktor, was very helpful.

Budavar Pension is located on a hill in Buda just below the castle. It's in a nice and quiet location. Batthyány tér, with a tram and metro station as well as the Hop on Hop off boat, is within 10 minutes walking distance even if there are quite a few stairs to climb on the way back. The Pest side is just a short walk away, across the Chain Bridge, even though there is a steady climb back to the Pension.

There are some nice local restaurants. We enjoyed Atakám Budai Bisztró at Iskola u. 29 on the way to the Batthyány tér and Gong at Hunyadi János út 9 on the way to the Chain Bridge. The owner of Gong, Bakonyi Nándor, is very welcoming and a seven-time Hungarian boxing champion!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and great view of the Parliament!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were wrapping up our travel in Hungary by spending the last 2 nights in Budapest and wanted to see as much as we could in the little time left and this was a perfect place to stay. Victor was very helpful and accomodating. We got in late and he met us just as we planned. He gave us information on "must see" sights, events, and even offered to call the airline for us when we had a slight problem locating our reservations on our mobile device. Since we had a 6 a.m. flight out of Budapest, he told us we can grab a cup of coffee and a small breakfast in the dining area.

We had 2 rooms, one superior room and one classic room. The larger room had a huge king size bed and a sofa that opened up for extra sleeping space. The other one had a queen sized bed. Both rooms had sitting areas. Each room had a nice balcony looking out toward the Danube river and seeing a bit of Pest side. All was very clean and eclectic decor. The room that serves breakfast had a balcony with 2 or 3 tables. Breakfast was typical Hungarian fare.

The location is the best feature I think of this Pension. Walk out and you're at the footsteps of the Buda Castle...great great place to wander about at night after all the tourist buses have gone home. Felt very safe and like having your own castle all to yourself after midnight. One lone violin player even graced us with his presence the one night playing Vivaldi...ahhh...it put the whole experience over the top!

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My stay for 4 nights was most enjoyable. Viktor is a kind and attentive host, who speaks good English and German. The room on the roadside is large, with a balcony, which is a great asset when the nights are warm. A bit old-fashioned and at times a bit noisy (cars) until about 23.00, but that didn't bother me. Simple but good breakfast, relaxed atmosphere, and literally steps away from the Matthiaschurch, and 10 min from the metro. This is excellent value for money!

Room Tip: You can ask for a room on the streetside with balcony, or on the Danube side with on the 2nd or 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Viktor provided my brother and I with fantastic hospitality! The place is spotless and very well situated in a quieter part of the city and very easily accessible via the subway. We ultimately chose the place based on the overwhelmingly good reviews and we were pleased to discover that the good reviews were well founded. Glad to add to Viktor's good reputation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

From the friendly welcome to the friendly farewell, everything was perfect. Great location on a quite street, with a nice view against the Parliament. Clean and comfort rooms. Easy access to many main attractions, 10 - 15 minutes walking distance. Our host Victor was very helpful, shared his experience in many way. We had 5 fantastic days!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,404 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 5,020 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#45 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#18 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budavar Pension B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budavar Pension B&B

Address: Szabo Ilonka u. 15/A, Budapest 1015, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budavar Pension B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budavar Pension B&B resides in the heart of Budapest in the World Heritage Site historic Castle Hill District of the Buda side of the city. You stay several footsteps away from Fishermen's Bastion and Matthias Church. You can reach the business and entertainment district of Pest in a few minutes. Rooms feature wonderful panoramic view and are equipped with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Budavar Pension B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budavar Pension B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.