We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hostel you will never regret, nor forget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Bubble

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Budapest Bubble to your Saves list
Budapest Bubble
Brody Sandor u2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 509 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An amazing hostel you will never regret, nor forget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I could not have possibly asked for a better hostel experience. On arrival, my friends and I were warmly welcomed and given an extremely helpful description of the city and all available activities. Rooms were large and the entire general area of the hostel was kept really clean and cozy.

The hostel's location is also ideal. It is within walking distance of almost everything, from the Danube river and Budapest's castles, to a plethora of bars and shopping centers. And if walking isn't your thing, you can always catch the metro which is also right around the corner.

It was the staff that truly made this hostel experience what is was though, and I'm pretty sure you won't find such a helpful, vivacious, and friendly staff in ALL of Europe. Sam, Alex, and Olga were all incredible, and even hung out with us around town at night! I can guarantee you won't ever have a boring day or night in Budapest when staying at the Bubble. Even 5 days didn't seem like nearly enough time to enjoy all that this incredible hostel and city offers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We went to Budapest in mid June 2011 and although we had some trouble finding it (lookout for that uber small sign opp the museum), we were glad we did- it's easily one of the best hostels in Europe as far as our stay was concerned. It's a small hostel and I think that's what gives it the edge- the staff hangs out with everyone who stays there and pretty much everyone knows everyone- its like being at home! Olga, the owner, was a fabulous host- it was almost like we were visiting her as friends- she came with us to all the bars we went to and really took care of us :) And, she's generally quite adorable! Sam, the manager, was also amazing.

The hostel itself is very clean and the beds are super comfy. There's also a small kitchen area, where you can make yourself small snacks (no full blown kitchen, but hey, go out there and explore Hungarian food!). The bathrooms are small but very clean. And the hostel is very close to the subway, so it's a train ride away from anywhere.
If I go to Budapest again, I'm definitely going straight there :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Just joined tripadvisor, but stayed here a couple of years ago, and i still think its the bet hostel i've been too! Great welcome, Olga was brilliant and went out of her way to ensure we had an awesome time (even took us and everyone else in the hostel on a night out to all the good bars!) The next morning everyone in the hostel made breakfast and ate together, which was good craic. would recommend to any backpacker! Very safe, and close to amenities and metro. Only regret is that we only stayed one night

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

The lovely Budapest bubble is located right next to the city museum and only a block away from the main pedestrian zone and the little bohemian center. The oldest food market is 2minutes away from it as well.
Its close to the metro stop so its easy to reach from the Keleti train st.
The hostel is small and very cozy and staff make up for everything you might have in ind but don*t see hows that possible
Its a real hidden gem and i recommend it for laid back backpackers

Room Tip: the private double and the dorm next to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

From looking at previous reviews Olga is mentioned alot... well we didn't have any contact with Olga so maybe we were just unlucky in that respect...
Our stay was a bit different to the others mentioned, i found the one staff member that we dealt with enthusiastic but very confused and muddled with what he was doing and talked too much BS... was a bit hard getting away from his chatter about nonsense when we wanted to get out and do stuff... he wasn't telling us anything useful about the place.. we didn't get shown around the hostel, just straight up to our rooms.
Also the prices we were given on arrival were not what had been previously agreed (by another hostel who had no room for us) however we agreed a price but then on checking out when we wanted to pay it was like the guy was pulling numbers out of the air, he admitted that he didn't have a price list and didn't know what price the rooms should be (there are only a couple of rooms!!), he tried to charge us more than what was agreed and we got the impression the extra could possibly be for his own pocket!! We also discovered that others staying at the hostel in the same room were paying different prices... it was like everyone had been given a different price which i found strange so be careful!!
We didn't find it to be a very social hostel when we stayed either so again it must have been bad timing for us.
On our trip we stayed in 9 hostels in total in different countries and unfortunately this one was definitely my least favourite.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

My sister and I recently did a quick tour of Europe, staying in hostels in Ireland, Germany, and Hungary. The hostels in Ireland and Germany were great, but they can't quite compare to the Budapest Bubble. Upon arrival, the staff was extremely kind and helpful, and took us and the other guests out to a few bars. The hostel itself was great. It was located in a fairly quiet area, so we didn't have to worry about noise at night or in the morning. It was also close enough to everything that we wanted to see, so we didn't have to walk too far to get anywhere. It was a small hostel compared to others that we stayed in, but that wasn't a problem because it allowed us to meet some great people and have a lot more fun than we did in the bigger hostels. Thanks to Olga and Lando for a great stay and I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others looking for somewhere to stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

The Budapest Bubble is a great hostel to stay in on a budget. Olga, the young woman who owns and runs the place is one of the loveliest people you will ever meet. She is very accommodating, kind, and helpful with suggestions. It's clear she enjoys living in Budapest. The hostel, itself, is cozy and clean. There are two showers upstairs and on full bathroom. There is also a kitchen for guest use. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budapest Bubble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Bubble

Address: Brody Sandor u2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 509 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Budapest Bubble reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Bubble Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Bubble, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.