We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place in a great location with the greatestest staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Bubble

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Budapest Bubble to your Saves list
Budapest Bubble
Brody Sandor u2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 556 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
World
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place in a great location with the greatestest staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

The lovely Budapest bubble is located right next to the city museum and only a block away from the main pedestrian zone and the little bohemian center. The oldest food market is 2minutes away from it as well.
Its close to the metro stop so its easy to reach from the Keleti train st.
The hostel is small and very cozy and staff make up for everything you might have in ind but don*t see hows that possible
Its a real hidden gem and i recommend it for laid back backpackers

Room Tip: the private double and the dorm next to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
6
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

From looking at previous reviews Olga is mentioned alot... well we didn't have any contact with Olga so maybe we were just unlucky in that respect...
Our stay was a bit different to the others mentioned, i found the one staff member that we dealt with enthusiastic but very confused and muddled with what he was doing and talked too much BS... was a bit hard getting away from his chatter about nonsense when we wanted to get out and do stuff... he wasn't telling us anything useful about the place.. we didn't get shown around the hostel, just straight up to our rooms.
Also the prices we were given on arrival were not what had been previously agreed (by another hostel who had no room for us) however we agreed a price but then on checking out when we wanted to pay it was like the guy was pulling numbers out of the air, he admitted that he didn't have a price list and didn't know what price the rooms should be (there are only a couple of rooms!!), he tried to charge us more than what was agreed and we got the impression the extra could possibly be for his own pocket!! We also discovered that others staying at the hostel in the same room were paying different prices... it was like everyone had been given a different price which i found strange so be careful!!
We didn't find it to be a very social hostel when we stayed either so again it must have been bad timing for us.
On our trip we stayed in 9 hostels in total in different countries and unfortunately this one was definitely my least favourite.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

My sister and I recently did a quick tour of Europe, staying in hostels in Ireland, Germany, and Hungary. The hostels in Ireland and Germany were great, but they can't quite compare to the Budapest Bubble. Upon arrival, the staff was extremely kind and helpful, and took us and the other guests out to a few bars. The hostel itself was great. It was located in a fairly quiet area, so we didn't have to worry about noise at night or in the morning. It was also close enough to everything that we wanted to see, so we didn't have to walk too far to get anywhere. It was a small hostel compared to others that we stayed in, but that wasn't a problem because it allowed us to meet some great people and have a lot more fun than we did in the bigger hostels. Thanks to Olga and Lando for a great stay and I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others looking for somewhere to stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

The Budapest Bubble is a great hostel to stay in on a budget. Olga, the young woman who owns and runs the place is one of the loveliest people you will ever meet. She is very accommodating, kind, and helpful with suggestions. It's clear she enjoys living in Budapest. The hostel, itself, is cozy and clean. There are two showers upstairs and on full bathroom. There is also a kitchen for guest use. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
159 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Budapest Bubble for a few nights and we were pleasantly surprised by just how lovely it was. It's a small hostel holding 16 people though, thanks to Olga's kindness, we were able to accommodate a couple more people by pulling out an extra mattress and also using the couch. While the place was a bit cramped at times (only 2 showers, 2 toilets and 4 sinks), it didn't much matter - the hostel felt more like a group of friends staying all together in a shared house. Everything was cleaned (daily!) and there is a nice little kitchen, and common area where we could hang out and relax.

If you are looking for a hostel that works like clockwork and has everything organised and "by the book", this isn't the place for you...but if you want to be stay somewhere cosy and kind where you feel right at home, get into the bubble!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

A very small hostel with a great location in Pest. The woman who runs the hostel is named Olga and she's great - very committed to getting people to socialize together. This gave it a great atmosphere and made our stay very pleasant. She's also very knowledgeable about places to go and things to do in the city. The guest kitchen is small, but well stocked. There's free tea and coffee and wifi/computer terminal. Overall it feels more like staying at a friends apartment than staying in a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Home Made Hostel
Home Made Hostel
#66 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel
Pal's Hostel
#15 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
District V / Inner City
Gaia Hostel
Gaia Hostel
#33 of 556 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Big Fish Budapest Hostel
Big Fish Budapest Hostel
#35 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Astoria City Hostel
Astoria City Hostel
#43 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Budapest Rooms
#14 of 176 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Bubble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Bubble

Address: Brody Sandor u2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 556 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Budapest Bubble reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Bubble Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Bubble, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.