We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Groove

Save Saved
You added The Groove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Groove
Szt. Istvan krt. 16 II/14, Budapest 1137, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 470 Specialty lodging in Budapest
York, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our Europe trip and really liked this hostel. We found it hard to find at first but that might have been our fault! The hostel is on the first floor and is like an apartment. The reception is the main area and there are 3 rooms (I think, not quite sure!) leading into the reception and then there are a few showers/toilets. The room was lovely, nicely decorated, the bed was comfy and had a reading light and a pouch to put valuables in while you slept. Lockers under the beds were enormous and there was a sofa in the room which was nice to chill on. Toilets and showers were clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good, right next to a metro/train station but you could walk to the centre if you wanted.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
9
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The best place to stay!
The biulding is incredible beautiful and the rooms, we stayed at the suites, are clean and spacious. We loved!
The hostel is close to the metro, tram, bars, stores... everything.
You will have lot of fun in this lovely place ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Good atmosphere, great rooms and living room, really nice and interesting people, lot of tips about tourism and parties.
The hostel is built to meet people and have great moments.
Moreover it's located near the touristic places of Budapest and the famous ruinbars.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My friend and I stayed in this hostel for 3 nights in July.. the staff were very friendly and helpful. The dorms are spacious and clean! Our dorm actually had a little balcony so we could sit outside (this hostel is not on the ground floor). The hostel itself is situated in a gorgeous building, is small but adequate. There is are a couple of toilets and then 3 or 4 private bathrooms, with nice showers! There is a small communal/lounge area, with small kitchen bit and a fridge. Our dorm was very hot at night but we can't complain about the sunshine- just not much of a breeze in the dorm. The location is good too being just a few minutes walk away from Margrit bridge. Would definitely recommend this hostel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

friendly staff nice rooms the best location!u feel like being at home!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I loved this hostel, it's an eclectic mix of styles and luxuries - if you'd like a more private room they've these awesome individually designed ones with a shared kitchen that looks like it belongs in someone's home, but the one i stayed in was the 8-bed mixed dorm that's connected to the reception/lounge/kitchen area. I was pleasantly surprised that even though there were 8 beds in the room, it was large enough and well furbished such that one could still have his/her own personal space. They're not called The Groove for nothing; I felt like i stepped into an ikea showroom - the attention to detail and the vibrancy of the interior immediately brightens your day (: i was with a bunch of friends and we had the privilege to try home-cooked hungary food for a small sum. There are a few staff who do their duties on shifts and I always felt welcome by them (: thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The groove is the most sociable hostel i stayed in. It is quite small and based in one large apartment so everyone can interact and get to know each other very easily. It was very clean and beds were comfy. Also as we stayed on a monday night we were treated to a free Hungarian goulashe meal-yum!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Groove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groove

Address: Szt. Istvan krt. 16 II/14, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 470 Specialty lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Groove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Groove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.