We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Groove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Groove to your Saves list
The Groove
Szt. Istvan krt. 16 II/14, Budapest 1137, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best hostel in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Good atmosphere, great rooms and living room, really nice and interesting people, lot of tips about tourism and parties.
The hostel is built to meet people and have great moments.
Moreover it's located near the touristic places of Budapest and the famous ruinbars.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
10
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My friend and I stayed in this hostel for 3 nights in July.. the staff were very friendly and helpful. The dorms are spacious and clean! Our dorm actually had a little balcony so we could sit outside (this hostel is not on the ground floor). The hostel itself is situated in a gorgeous building, is small but adequate. There is are a couple of toilets and then 3 or 4 private bathrooms, with nice showers! There is a small communal/lounge area, with small kitchen bit and a fridge. Our dorm was very hot at night but we can't complain about the sunshine- just not much of a breeze in the dorm. The location is good too being just a few minutes walk away from Margrit bridge. Would definitely recommend this hostel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

friendly staff nice rooms the best location!u feel like being at home!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I loved this hostel, it's an eclectic mix of styles and luxuries - if you'd like a more private room they've these awesome individually designed ones with a shared kitchen that looks like it belongs in someone's home, but the one i stayed in was the 8-bed mixed dorm that's connected to the reception/lounge/kitchen area. I was pleasantly surprised that even though there were 8 beds in the room, it was large enough and well furbished such that one could still have his/her own personal space. They're not called The Groove for nothing; I felt like i stepped into an ikea showroom - the attention to detail and the vibrancy of the interior immediately brightens your day (: i was with a bunch of friends and we had the privilege to try home-cooked hungary food for a small sum. There are a few staff who do their duties on shifts and I always felt welcome by them (: thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The groove is the most sociable hostel i stayed in. It is quite small and based in one large apartment so everyone can interact and get to know each other very easily. It was very clean and beds were comfy. Also as we stayed on a monday night we were treated to a free Hungarian goulashe meal-yum!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Groove was fantastic, it was great for meeting other travellers, had comfy beds, friendly & helpful staff. The one dowside was that there was no air con.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Huge private rooms on the lower level with clean spacious bathroom, and very well equiped kitchen. The kitchen has everything one misses from home like coffee machine, gas cooking and sharp knives. Fast internet in our room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would definetly recomend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Groove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groove

Address: Szt. Istvan krt. 16 II/14, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to feel home away from home The Groove is your place. Small, independent hostel (32 beds total, 4 dorm rooms and 3 privates) with everything you need: orthopedic matrasses, fully equipped kitchen, lounge area to meet people and plenty of social activities (bicycle trips - bicycle rent on site, cooking, pub crawl etc) and the friendliest, local, multi-lingual staff who eager to help you with good tips about Budapest and everything you need for a nice stay in this beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your The Groove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Groove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.