We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely marvelous gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Circus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lavender Circus to your Saves list
Lavender Circus
37 Muzeum Krt. | V District, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 509 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely marvelous gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Lavender Circus is a fantastic hostel and we thoroughly enjoyed our FAR too short stay there. Fantastic base to see an amazing city - very affordable and with a ton of character. Owner clearly has amazing personality. Must be experienced if you are of an alternative/arty persuasion.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
71
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rieti, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010 via mobile

We definitely recommend this hostel, the room was huge and comfortable and the staff welcomed us with wine and suggested a lot of interesting and alternative places to hang out, to eat and to visit.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

Lavender Circus is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. I booked a room because I liked the name, but it was totally worth the 15 euros/night/person in a double room.

The location is pretty good, only a couple of hundred meters from the metro station and many tram lines. The place was easy to find - the only minus is that it's located on 3rd floor with no elevator. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. Adam and Judit are more like your good friends than just some guys behind the counter.

If you can choose, ask for the room number 1. Our room was very big, bigger than many of the hotel rooms I've stayed. It was in the end of a corridor, clean and very quiet. The room didn't have internet acces, but there was a laptop in the communal room which you could use free of charge. We didn't cook, but the kitchen was clean and nice.

The toilet and the shower were shared, but since there were no other rooms in our corridor, we were the only ones using them. The towels were small, so bring your own.

The only minus was that there was no air conditioning in the room. You could open the window, but with almost +40 celcius it was sometimes almost too hot to sleep.

I would definetly recommend the place both for couples and young people travelling with friends. If I visit Budapest again, I'll go back to Lavender Circus.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendoza
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

This is a great hostel. The owner Adam is an incredibly interesting guy who has really lived! He made us feel very welcome, even opening beer when we arrived! The rooms are huge and the hostel has free internet and a great communal living space. We really recommend this place for something different, not just the party crowd who seem to dominate European hostels.

  • Liked — location, owner, big rooms, not a party place
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Circus

Address: 37 Muzeum Krt. | V District, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 509 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lavender Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Circus Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.