We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique feeling of hungarian creativity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Circus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lavender Circus to your Saves list
Lavender Circus
37 Muzeum Krt. | V District, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A unique feeling of hungarian creativity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

First of all this is a hostel that makes u feel at home, as it proclaimes. Some rooms, less people is more quality. The staff is suberb, alternative young people and really helpfull. This hostel gives u a taste of hungarina originality and creativity as you can in all the details that decorate the flat and rooms. Asked for a double room, with bathroom apart, but since there's very few rooms, was like a private bathroom just next to the room. The rooms are super hugeeeee and it's common to feet more than 2 people in there, so gives u very much sense of freedom and confort inside it. Have to praise the originality of the decoration and how easy was to stay there for 3 nights. Really pleasant, was the best hostel I've been so far. Miss it! Would definitly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    36
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
94
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Really friendly and helpful staff. We were given a shot of local liqueur and some home-baked apricot biscuits on our arrival :-) Hostel is really quirky and bohemian. Spacious, clean rooms. Very secure - lock to door of building, to entrance to hostel and to the section our room was in and to our room! Location is excellent, right opposite the national museum and within easy walking distance to 2 metro stations. The only possible drawback is that the kitchen is very small and not greatly equipped. We didn't need to use so it wasn't a disadvantage to us, it but if you are planning on doing your own cooking, it's probably not the best choice in Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was really a great hostel. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room we booked looked out over the National Museum. It had a small kitchen and a fridge. The room was the largest I've encoutered in any hostel and the decoration was great.
Really great accessibility, stone throw away from the metro and walking distance from the market.

Room Tip: You will have to carry your luggage up two flights, so better not have the large suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our stay at Lavender Circus was amazing! We booked our own apartment - it was really spacious, quirky and overlooked the beautiful museum building. Julia was so helpful and (after a shot of Palinka) told us where to go and how to get around - all spot on recommendations. Really great value for money. If you in Budapest for 2 days or more I would highly recommend a Budapest card which covers all of your public transport and free or discounted entry in baths, museums and quite a few restaurants - very convenient instead of having to validate tickets on the trains.

Room Tip: We had a very large room with it's own en-suite and full kitchen. Only downside was the window i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

One of the best hostels we have stayed in thus far. It's quirky decor was really fun! Our room had a bed on another level in the room which was accessible by ladder! My partner and I thought this was awesome. The room also had a table and 2 odd antique couches that were very comfortable. We had a shared bathroom but it was very clean and only once had to use the toilet at the other end of the common area because it was occupied. The kitchen had free coffee tee sugar and some other odd bits and pieces available to use and was equip with microwave 2 hot plates and lots of pots pans and other cooking utensils.
Suzie on reception was amazing. Offering good tips and recommended some fantastic cheap!! Reasturants.
Overall the location is perfect, value for money and a fun place visually.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Himself and I stayed three nights in Budapest at Lavender Circus but could easily have stayed weeks! Aside from the quirky and eclectic decorations throughout, the staff are so friendly and knowledgeable, it truly felt like you were at home. On arrival we instantly felt relaxed and at ease ...though words alone cannot do Lavender Circus justice, I have tried to summarise the pros and cons below.

Pros...
- on arrival we were offered tea/coffee/water, asked to take a seat and provided a personalised welcome to Budapest by Dori as she sat with us, a map and pen, highlighting all the key sights etc to see as well as answering our questions
- our room (#5) was HUGE and even had two big arm chairs and a coffee table by the window in which to enjoy the sunshine
- location is great - directly across from the National Museum, a short stroll to the Central Market Hall, the Danube and Buda, as well as being on a train and tram line (we also walked the 2.5km from Keleti station without too much trouble)
- the common room truly feels like your own home, with an interesting selection of music playing gently in the background (speaker also in one of the toilets...surprise!)
- the eclectic decorations keep everything interesting - there is never a dull moment and always something new to look at
- stacks of guide books on Budapest available for you to borrow whilst there - very useful!
- all staff were so lovely and help you at the drop of a hat (and live there whilst working). Special mention to Julia who spent the weekend there whilst we were there - great conversations and recommendations
- Lavender Circus is only a small hostel, so only double rooms (as far as I'm aware) making it personalised and cosy - no big parties or groups, makes for a great night's sleep!!
- three toilets and bathrooms (separate) available for use - the shower we used (closest to room #5) was hot and had good pressure
- all linen and towels (though small) supplied ...bonus!
- very secure - three keys/electronic swipes provided for access to main entrance hall, private balcony and individual room
- great value!
- balcony around courtyard large and sunny in the afternoon, nice place to relax
- must mention the decorations again....!!!!

Cons...
- there are 108 stairs to climb to get to the third floor where Lavender Circus is located, a problem if you have heavy luggage
- only a tiny kitchen area which may be restrictive if you're planning on self-catering, though with so many eateries around, you probably don't need to (and there is also a fridge available for use)
- wifi didn't really work though a free computer is provided and it seemed to work fine there

I will be recommending Lavender Circus to any of my friends looking for somewhere to stay in Budapest!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Amazing staff, beautiful building, great location. You would be pressed to find better in Budapest for the price and location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Gaia Hostel
Gaia Hostel
#26 of 558 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#32 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
District V / Inner City
Butterfly Home
Butterfly Home
#3 of 177 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel
Pal's Hostel
#14 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#20 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
The Groove
#9 of 558 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Circus

Address: 37 Muzeum Krt. | V District, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lavender Circus is a vintage, quiet apartment like place in the city center . A cozy,special atmosphere is waiting for you in a historical building from the end of the 19th century.In our hostel there are several kind of double bed and dormitory rooms available. The staff is ready to help you 24/7. We are specialized in 2 bed private rooms, en-suites and apartments.You can enjoy your privacy but you're also welcomed in the community room to meet other guests any time. Free WiFi connection is available in all of the rooms and the entire hostel.All of the rooms has an own, individual character designed by graphic designers, painters and sculptors. And you can enjoy the drawn vision of the owner on the walls. If you want, you can cook something in the kitchen. In our lounge there is always free coffee and tea as well and we organize Hungarian dinner parties where guests can try Hungarian palinka or local wine and learn how to prepare traditional dishes. Bedrooms and community rooms are non-smoking!There is a comfortable special separated smoking area. Every private room can be locked safely. Earliest check-in is at 9 a.M. Please inform us about your arrival time. -Free city tour every day -Free map here -Free luggage storage We are looking forward to see you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lavender Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Circus Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.