We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lucky you if you stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Downtown Oasis to your Saves list
Downtown Oasis
Karoly Korut 24 | 3 and 4th Floor, Budapest 1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
bellevue, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lucky you if you stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Perfect. Location, hostess, rooms, price. Charming, large, clean rooms with character. I was traveling solo but Judit gave me a fabulous price on the 4 bed room with updated private bathroom. Great kitchen (market across the street) and common area (free internet) with sunny balconey, Metro and buses minutes away. Located on a treed boulevard. Met other travelers younger and older. Not a noisey party house. Class on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Downtown Oasis was such an awesome place to stay. It is located in the center of Budapest downtown, 2 minutes walk from the main metro and within walking distance to several of the sights There are a lot of great restaurants, cafes and clubs/pubs nearby, so you don't have to go far for a good night out. There is a good kitchen to use in the hostel but food in Budapest is so cheap that I would recommend you try those nice cafes where you can sit outside and have your breakfast right across the Synagogue or under a shady tree in one of those all-pedestrian streets. Nice start to the day!

As the name suggests, it is not one of those party hostels where you meet heaps of people (and cannot sleep at night) so stay here if you are actually looking for a place with a relaxing atmosphere. For us, it was great to return to this quiet oasis after walking around the whole day going from sight to sight.

The rooms and common areas were nicely decorated and they were always kept clean. We never had to wait for the shared bathroom, which was a big plus. Our room was large and sunny with high ceilings and had huge glass doors to our own balcony from which you had great views to the beautiful tree-lined Avenue below (I loved the tram) a big square and the hills in the distance.

Judit, the owner was very friendly and helpful with recommendations (we arrived a little unprepared so it was a trip saver :) You should not leave Budapest without trying one of the public baths!!! We went to the biggest bath in the City Park during the daytime. This is where locals go and you see people playing chess while sitting in the water :) Awesome! We went to the old historic Turkish bath at night, it was open till 4 am, here the younger generation gathered for a relaxing chit-chat kind of night-out. Even better!

Downtown Oasis made our Budapest experience even better. Thanks for the lovely stay, we'll recommend your hostel to all our friends!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We spent there only two days, but the hostel and the staff were nicer than we could expect. The hostel was full equiped, clean, homely, and with stunning views from the balcony. Judit was very helpfull, always with a smile... Excellent value for money!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Downtown Oasis is right in the heart of the city. With nice rooms, good view and close to restaurants and attractions it creates nice and comfortable surroundings for the stay, which very quickly makes you feel like home, and to a good price. Most important of all, Downtown Oasis offers a wonderful service. The staff is always willing to help with directions, contact, recommendations and general good advice about the city, all with a smile. Downtown Oasis made our tour so much nicer. All in all perfect for your trip to Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

8 of us went for a winter trip to Budapest and we booked the whole hostel as an apartment, I believe that it is also a hostel and each room can be booked out separately.

There were 2 rooms of 4 and a double room, the kitchen even had a dishwasher which was handy for us lazy blokes! There were 2 bathrooms (one room on-suite) 2 balconies and a large living room, could have a bigger TV though! :)

There was a computer to use and WIFI which was good for our smartphones.

The location was great loads of bars and restaurants around the area, but Budapest is a very spread out city so not everything is close, we did manage to walk everywhere we went.

All in all if you’re looking for a simple cheap apartment I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Our stay at this hostel was amazing. The private room we had was clean and just as described. Judit's welcome was wrm and she could not do enough to help us. This is a small hostel with private rooms and a great living room and kitchen and was more like renting an apartment. The shared bathroom was immaculate and cleaned everyday. We loved staying here and would reccommend to anyone looking for a comfortable, quite place to stay in central Budapest. Easy to find from the main Square metro. Walking distance to main attractions.

Judit can reccommend many great places to drink and find entertainment.

This hostel is very quiet so sleep was not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We had a private room in the Downtown Oasis. It felt very safe. Nice living room and kitchen. Had to share the bathroom (toilet/shower) with 2 other rooms, but it was okay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,861 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Oasis

Address: Karoly Korut 24 | 3 and 4th Floor, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! The hostel is going to open three more BRAND NEW rooms as part of Downtown Oasis Hostel / Apartment. The new property is called Downtown Oasis Ensuites. The rooms, which are equipped with a nice kitchen and a common area, can be found on Level 3 inside the same building. The new property consists of three ensuite rooms, a brand new kitchen and a common area. The most charming hostel in town with an incredible location! Downtown Oasis is a small, homely and beautifully renovated place in the heart of buzzing historic downtown, within walking distance of most of the sights and right in the entertainment quarter.In the heart of Budapest downtown we've created a calm, cozy and intimate atmosphere where after a tiring day of traveling or sightseeing you can relax and really feel at home. We've turned a beautifully renovated classic Budapest apartment into a small hostel so that you, the budget traveler, can enjoy quality accommodation at bargain price, and get a glimpse of Budapest as only locals know it.Please NOTE that the hostel is small with a few private rooms and therefore it's NOT a place where you can meet lots of people and party. However, if you prefer privacy, personal attention, cleanliness and a relaxed atmosphere with a homely touch this place is idyllic for you! To top it all, the hostel is located within walking distance of most of the sights and is surrounded by amazing old buildings, so staying here you can not only see Budapest's history, you can live in it for a while.We are less than five minutes walk away from the famous Vaci street, a fashionable all pedestrian shopping area, and the nightlife and entertainment quarter, packed with trendy pubs, clubs, cafes, fancy restaurants as well as cheap eateries. Only three minutes walk away from the blue, yellow and red metro line stops, night buses, and trams to the Buda side, we provide an ideal base for exploring Budapest's rich past as well as its vibrant multicultural present.Our friendly staff will be happy to assist you with anything you need. We recommend the best places to go out and we can help you to plan the most efficient ways to do your sightseeing.Please note: we don't have a 24 hour reception, which means that we're not in the hostel all day round, so please NOTIFY us about your arrival time.Check-in: 1pm-12 midnight.Check out from rooms: until 11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Downtown Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.