We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Everything You Want From A Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boomerang Hostel and Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boomerang Hostel and Apartments to your Saves list
Boomerang Hostel and Apartments
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Bank utca 7, Budapest 1054, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Almost Everything You Want From A Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Boomerang is a great place to stay in Budapest, there are great transport links to all of the city. The staff are friendly as well as the guests. The showers could have been a little cleaner but you can't expect much more for the price. They staff were on the ball, knew a lot about the city and booked museums and massages so I didn't have to.
One thing I was so greatful for is I was allowed to leave my suitcase after I checked out till I came back later that day so I could easily explore the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
31
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hostel is excellent in different criteria:
- 5 mins to the metro station
- 10 mins to the city center and the river
- very friendly young staff you speaks English
- big and clean rooms with facilities
- different excursions and trips
- tasty breakfast

In words, thank you for our excellent vocation!

Room Tip: the rooms for 2-3 people are on another floor and you have your own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

They have a young, nice staff, very helpful. Excellent location in the downtown. Refrigerator accessible, kitchen for the breakfast. The only small disadvantage was, they do no accept the cards? only cash, but you can pay in EUR with the mormal exch.rate. Generally, basic, but really enoguh for the short visit - good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,744 reviews 1,744 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
777 helpful votes 777 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I've been at this property for 3 nights, I can consider it a great place super cheap and central.
As I have said the location is great, right next to an underground subway "Metro Arany Janos utca", and from there thanks to it you can get anywhere in the city and 10 minutes walk away from the parliament.
The hostel is located on the third floor of a modest building, the staff was very courteous for both check-in and check-out.
I slept in a shared room with 4 beds, very large and double deck beds were very comfortable.
This hostel has a very large living room with a balcony overlooking the main street, the kitchen has is functional and has all the right tools.
There are also a couple of computers with free internet access.
In the context I have been good here, a clean environment, young people and above all a strategic point from which to visit the city at best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights in mid-april. we arrived at 6 am to budapest coming from Prague and the staff of the hostel were waiting for us pretty early. they took us to the apartment which is a few minutes away from the hostel (very close to the river). the apartment was very well equipped, clean and very safe. we loved the fact that a washing machine was in the bathroom (pretty luxurious). The apartment had two comfortable double size futon beds. unfortunately there's no wifi in the apartment.
the breakfast was extremely minimal, it's better to go to the many café around or do your grocery from the 3 markets around the cathedral.
the staff was nice and very helpful to make some reservation for opera and are all fluent in English.
Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights,. I think there is quite a difference between the hostel and the apartments - we stayed in the hostel. As the title says, the accomodation is VERY basic and quite dingy. It felt quite run down. The toilet and showers were shared between 5 rooms/dorms, and we had to walk through the common room area to get to them, which wasn't ideal. If I had to stay here again, I'd probably pay a bit extra for an en suite. In our room there wasn't a sink or a mirror except a tiny one inside the wardrobe, which doesn't seem like a big deal, but was inconvenient. On the plus side, the location is great. As other reviews say, right next to a metro,and near shops, bars, places to eat and St Stephens. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the beds were comfortable enough. The sign in the shower room telling you to open the massive boiler to fix it if the hot water goes off was a bit worrying though!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in a very well located apartment (a block from the river and a two minute walk to the Cathedral) with a well equipped kitchen and a bathtub (a real luxury when you've been living in hotels for months). The neighbors had yippy dogs, and the pilot light in the stove seemed to have gone out without any recourse to fix it, but a book of matches and a little patience and creativity solve both of those very minor problems.

The apartment had two comfortable double size futon beds and plenty of radiators on which to dry your laundry overnight (there's a washing machine in the bathroom!). It's also right around the corner from the Espresso Embassy, which is the best morning pick-me-up in Budapest. Would definitely stay here again if I found myself in Hungary.

Oh, and the hostel staff all spoke very good English and were very helpful and pleasant. If you're not so into the cold cereal for breakfast, though, you might want to get a half dozen eggs and cook for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boomerang Hostel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomerang Hostel and Apartments

Address: Bank utca 7, Budapest 1054, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Boomerang Hostel and Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer dorms, private rooms and apartments in a tidy and home-like environment. The main residence consists of 4 rooms with shared facilities. It´s small enough to have you privacy if you wish and big enough where you are not left waiting for the bathroom. Our helpful and informative English speaking staff will assist you anytime with arranging programs, tours, providing you with detailed, current information about Budapest including: popular sights, nightlife, quality restaurants, sports, music concerts/festivals, opera, theater and other cultural events. We can assist with current travel info, bus/train/plane timetables, and help arrange accommodation for your next destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Boomerang Hostel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boomerang Hostel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.