We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Clean Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Fish Budapest Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Big Fish Budapest Hostel to your Saves list
Big Fish Budapest Hostel
Erzsebet korut 33 | 11 doorbell, Budapest 1073, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Clean Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, with 11 mates, in 2 different room in mid March.

Great place to stay - safe, central location, friendly staff, clean, nice communal room, decent beds all with a good vibe.

very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

been there for few days: great atmosphere and the staff was very kind. we enjoyed budapest and the position in not far from the main attractions of this beautiful city and we also visited not so touristic places thanks to the suggestions of the staff.
quality of services very good,from rooms to bathroom, as well as the prices , thanks again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is definitly the best hostel I have ever stayed in. We were in the new annex wich was accross the road from the reception and it was spacious, clean and modern. Quite cheap on top of that !
The people were really nice and had good advice on where to go !
Definitly worth stopping by !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We only stayed for one night, but in that short time we felt like at home.. Warm welcome at the reception.. Nice bathrooms.. Spacious rooms.. And a cool kitchen connected with the common room that is fully stocked with movies and games. We were offered a free cup of delicious tee at our arrival whitch felt just right for the freezing November earning. Thank you for everything :)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I spend 5 very nice nights in this place.
Location is good, not to far from any major attractions in Budapest. Also, very good connections with tram or metro to any desirable part of the city.
Staff is cool, very well informed about the city and happenings in it. Organization is great and if you don't know what to do, they will make a great plan for you.
Rooms (mine was 8 bed dorm) are spacious, big lockers inside (if you don't have your own lock they will provide you one), very clean inside, also I got clean sheets and the towel for free.
If you are for cooking, Big Fish kitchen is a right place for you. Extremely good equipped and salt, paper, oil (olive and sunflower) and various spices are there for free.
And most probably, you will have one night pleasure to eat food that they will prepare for you! Beata cooks magical meals! ;)
Bon appetite! :)
In all, great place to be in Budapest, choose Big Fish, you will love your Budapest holiday with Big Fish!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have been to quite a few hostels but this place puts hostels on another level - it is amazingly spacious & clean, there are so many funky artistic touches to it, the common room & kitchen are really cozy, the staff will go out of their way to recommend the best places & adventures to experience in Budapest (like caving under the city which is so thrilling & crazy & a must!), they know the coolest bars/clubs in town, they made us a Hungarian dinner which was delicious.. what more can I say?! If you're staying in Budapest don't miss this place!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed here while travelling around europe and it was one of the best hostels I stayed in. It's small so there is a cosy feel. Everyone hung out together at night. The rooms were big, so it was fine to have 10 people in them, and there were safes for everyone too. The kitchen was ideal for cooking and socalising and there was even a common area with a tv. The only problem was the bathrooms, which there were only a few of. The shower wasn't especially nice.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Fish Budapest Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Fish Budapest Hostel

Address: Erzsebet korut 33 | 11 doorbell, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming, small Big Fish Budapest is perfectly located in the downtown, within walking distance to all the main attractions. We offer huge deluxe dorms and privates, comfortable new beds with lockers, lots of freebies, power plugs and reading lights next to all the beds.There’s new bathrooms and toilets with hot showers, a well equipped kitchen, a cosy common room with a game corner, 24/7 reception, free maps, free towels...you will like it!Our LOCAL staff are experienced in tourism and are always happy to inform you about the city, the country or almost anything you need. We can recommend the best places to go, local food and drinks, pubs and clubs.Laundry service is also available with drying.There’s no curfew and no lockout.We have free Wi-Fi and internet, a huge collection of DVDs to watch and a PlayStation3!Meet travellers, share your travel experiences and learn about destinations. Like Verena said: Welcome home. :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Big Fish Budapest Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Fish Budapest Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.