We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Loft Hostel Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Loft Hostel Budapest to your Saves list
The Loft Hostel Budapest
Veres Palne Utca 19, Budapest 1053, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 559 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was such a lovely place to stay. Really cosy and nice homey atmosphere created by the incredible staff and the small number of guests. Really easy to meet people and great communal area. It's located in this fantastic old apartment block in a really central location. The staff are so knowledgeable about local tips and very approachable. I stayed here 4 nights and could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We read all of the great reviews about this hostel and were not disappointed. The location was great, the building was this really cool old apartment block, and the atmosphere was fantastic. We had a great time here meeting new people and having a great base to explore the city from. We stayed in the private room which was great - it was like a mini apartment, and we could hang out at the main hostel as well. The best of everything!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have met the best people there, comprehensive, fun and helpful. If you're looking to have à great time in Budapest, it is the place to go! It is cozy, you get to dis over some fun and local places with the staff.
Have fun!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hostel is a great place to stay and different from the run of the mill hostel. It is a welcoming place with a friendly and knowledgeable staff that are live-in. It is clear how much they genuinely care about their guests. They have created a really cute and quirky spot, there is an outdoor terrace that you enter from, large common room with computers, TV, DVDs, books and a kitchen. Laundry is available and done for you same day. The space also attracts a really nice crowd of travelers (none of the amateur hour nonsense you can come across at a lot of hostels). The location is superb, easy walking (and subway) access to both Buda and Pest. I was in the four bed dorm, which was quite nice. It would be better if there were lights and a shelf at each bed, but really it's a small detail. I was really pleased with my stay and would gladly stay there again. In addition to the three dorm rooms, they also have a private suite with kitchen and bath. Cash Only.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Loft hostel was the best hostel we ever stayed in. It Had a laid back relaxed atmosphere. Jasmina Emily and Feci were absolutely fabulous hosts and we highly recommend this hostel, if you stay anywhere else in Budapest you are a fool.

Amazing cosy little hostel.

Room Tip: Choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was solo travelling around Europe... found this gem of a hostel. Made me feel at home with a lovely cup of tea. owner plays tunes in a local bar, hostel workers are sound out, and very helpful. Defo recommend it. Tip.. if your travelling from ireland bring some cans of smithwicks.. the owner loves them :)

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

when i got to the hostel i was showed a special map with cool places to check out in budapest, and offered a hot drink. they staff was so friendly and personable. it was low season so i was able to stay in a larger bed and spread out a bit. there are computers to use for free (although the internet on them is kinda slow) and there are a tonne of dvds to watch in the common area. i reaaaaally appreciated the elevator :) i liked how cozy and relaxed the hostel was, and the size made it easy to meet and get to know everyone. i had a great time! i would recommend this highly for your stay in budapest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#11 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,335 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#29 of 559 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel
Pal's Hostel
#14 of 559 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#21 of 559 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft Hostel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft Hostel Budapest

Address: Veres Palne Utca 19, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 559 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi backpacker! We are here to welcome you to Budapest and also to invite you to join our community at The Loft--a community that shares with each other, explores together and stays up into the wee hours because there is still more beer in the refrigerator and the conversation is too good to end. One that celebrates the thrill of a new city, new food and new people, but also understands the need for long, glorious, uninterrupted sleep (having spent too many nights in airports to save a euro), never ending hot water and the rejuvenating qualities of a perfect, giant couch. So if you are tired--you sleep. If you are hungry--you eat. And whenever you are ready to go outside and see Budapest, we will not drag you by the wrist to the obvious places, but we will stand beside you and help to navigate the twisting roads, quirky museums, cheap cafes and uniquely-Budapest bars that collectively are the pulse of the city. We are a small space at Loft, but it suits us and our travelers perfectly. We are simply ourselves here, but the music is always on, the kettle is always on, we are happy and most of all? We really hope you will join us. The Staff, The Loft. Our hostel workers are lovers of fine cuisine, and other such things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Loft Hostel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Loft Hostel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.