We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Loft Hostel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Loft Hostel Budapest to your Saves list
The Loft Hostel Budapest
Veres Palne Utca 19, Budapest 1053, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 556 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

we stayed here over the holidays and were not dissapointed. The hostel is centrally located, and has a very homey feel. The tv lounge and movies give it a home-like feeling and make it easy to meet other travellers. There's only 2 bathrooms, but that's a minor detail. The staff is really friendly and do their best ot help you out. Definitely would recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I just love it, exactly what i was looking for. It´s been 1 year that i´ve stay there and I can´t forget. Looking so much forward to come back to Budapest and stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Loft was exactly what I hoped for! The location could not be more perfect, the staff is amazingly helpful and lovely to hang out with, and the accommodations are great. I stayed in the 6 person loft, and it was very roomy, with huge lockers that fit an entire backpack. There are only two bathrooms for everybody (18 people), but there never seemed to be much of an issue.

Room Tip: The 6 or 8 bed room is in the back and a bit quieter (people coming in late may wake anybody in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I went to budapest for 2 nights and ended up staying 6!

This place was an amazing home for those 6 nights. As a travelling homeless it was amazing to find a place that felt like home. The space nutures a great atmosphere, requires it almost.

The city is amazing in the fall and the loft hostel is a perfect jumping point to see a vibrant part of the city - near universities, the danube, minutes walk from the food market and turkish baths. The bar/club district is only 10-15 minutes away if you so choose, but this place is on the 6th floor and has a 10pm noise curfew (at which point people go out - usually together) so sleepers can sleep if they want.

I came away from this place thinking it was in the top 5 hostels I've ever stayed in - out of 100's around the world.
The only thing you could ask for to be better, is an updated and added bathroom. There are two for the 18-20 people and the showers are clean, but old. If that is SUPER important to you, then you are missing out on a great place for the sake of holding it in for a few minutes in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Congratulations to the owners of this hostel for making it the great accommodation that it is. We were made to feel very welcome from the minute we arrived, and everyone here was friendly and helpful. We're not party animals so didn't take up offers to go out for drinks etc but met some interesting people here.

The hostel itself is bright, warm and welcoming, beds were comfortable and the wireless internet had a good connection. All in all a great place to stay in Budapest - I had stayed somewhere else a year previously and wished I had found this place instead!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Great location, great staff, great building, great city, at a perfectly reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Unforgettable place, such a welcoming atmosphere and we were particularly well cared for by the staff-Emilie, everyone made sure we had an incredible time in budapest and we never wanted to leave!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,686 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,327 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#32 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel
Pal's Hostel
#15 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft Hostel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft Hostel Budapest

Address: Veres Palne Utca 19, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 556 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi backpacker! We are here to welcome you to Budapest and also to invite you to join our community at The Loft--a community that shares with each other, explores together and stays up into the wee hours because there is still more beer in the refrigerator and the conversation is too good to end. One that celebrates the thrill of a new city, new food and new people, but also understands the need for long, glorious, uninterrupted sleep (having spent too many nights in airports to save a euro), never ending hot water and the rejuvenating qualities of a perfect, giant couch. So if you are tired--you sleep. If you are hungry--you eat. And whenever you are ready to go outside and see Budapest, we will not drag you by the wrist to the obvious places, but we will stand beside you and help to navigate the twisting roads, quirky museums, cheap cafes and uniquely-Budapest bars that collectively are the pulse of the city. We are a small space at Loft, but it suits us and our travelers perfectly. We are simply ourselves here, but the music is always on, the kettle is always on, we are happy and most of all? We really hope you will join us. The Staff, The Loft. Our hostel workers are lovers of fine cuisine, and other such things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Loft Hostel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Loft Hostel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.