We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing things right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Loft Hostel Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Loft Hostel Budapest to your Saves list
The Loft Hostel Budapest
Veres Palne Utca 19, Budapest 1053, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 556 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Olomouc, Czech Republic
1 review
“Doing things right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The Loft had been an amazing place to stay! Ferci is a great host and cooked an amazing Hungarian meal and took guests out out see his Blues band where he dazzled on guitar. Gina and Emelie, the girls helping out, are also sweethearts and very helpful and friendly. The hostel itself is really cosy, comfortable and personal. It's set up for being sociable and meeting other travellers, there is cool art work on the wall, the dorms are spacious and cool common area. Hot, powerful showers too which is always a bonus. Will definitely recommend!

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

As another reviewer said... small sign and a scary elevator. When I first got to the elevator I almost turned around! I even walked up the 5 flights of stairs! (the elevator looks dodgy but its actually fine to use) Once I got inside my worries about the place disappeared. The staff are very friendly and the place is greatly decorated.

The rooms are large, so even though there were 8 people in my room I didn't notice because there was so much space. The lounge also has a number of couches and beanbags, and 2 computers with free internet, and there is free wifi. There are 2 bathrooms so at times you had to wait a bit, but the hostel isn't that big so there isn't a massive amount of people staying. There is a kitchen so that you can cook your own meals. This is the heart of the place. despite it being small, its greatly decorated and there are always people and staff there chatting and swapping stories. The hostel is covered in Artwork which makes it feel so homely.

The staff are awesome. On arrival they will give you a map and go through with places to see, things to do, and what to eat. Through out your trip they make an effort to get to know you. Most nights they will take people out so you get a chance to see the nightlife with someone who knows the area.

Location is great, right in the middle of Budapest, Everything you need is in walking distance. Very easy to get to from the metro.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Although the hostel isn't well signposted and when you go in the front door and up the scary lift you do wonder where the f you're going but once you get into the actual hostel its amazing!!
Friendly staff there to greet you and their priority is to keep you informed and entertained, they went through the map with us and explained where everything was, how much things were and even where the good restaurants and bars were, they took us out at night and made it just like a night out with friends. Everyone in the hostel is included and its a really good place to meet people and make friends.
The common room is the best i've see, a really cool place to chill out and relax. All over the hostel the walls are decorated with really cool drawings and artwork.
The beds are comfy with even some double ones available, the place is clean and you can also get your laundry done cheaply.
All in all its just a happy, friendly place to be... its got a real hippy kind of feel to it and you can't help but feel at home... loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Although it was a lot smaller then it seemed in the video on the website, the hostel can't really be faulted. The staff are ultra friendly, and are likey to hang around with you in the day and show you the clubs at night. They made our stay really welcoming and contributed to the friendliness of everyone at the hostel. Would definately reccomend!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I stayed there as the first time ever staying in a hostel and absolutely loved it. The staff was great, meeting them really made you feel at home. They were also very helpful and kept a very nice and clean place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,692 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#31 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel
Pal's Hostel
#15 of 556 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft Hostel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft Hostel Budapest

Address: Veres Palne Utca 19, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 556 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi backpacker! We are here to welcome you to Budapest and also to invite you to join our community at The Loft--a community that shares with each other, explores together and stays up into the wee hours because there is still more beer in the refrigerator and the conversation is too good to end. One that celebrates the thrill of a new city, new food and new people, but also understands the need for long, glorious, uninterrupted sleep (having spent too many nights in airports to save a euro), never ending hot water and the rejuvenating qualities of a perfect, giant couch. So if you are tired--you sleep. If you are hungry--you eat. And whenever you are ready to go outside and see Budapest, we will not drag you by the wrist to the obvious places, but we will stand beside you and help to navigate the twisting roads, quirky museums, cheap cafes and uniquely-Budapest bars that collectively are the pulse of the city. We are a small space at Loft, but it suits us and our travelers perfectly. We are simply ourselves here, but the music is always on, the kettle is always on, we are happy and most of all? We really hope you will join us. The Staff, The Loft. Our hostel workers are lovers of fine cuisine, and other such things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Loft Hostel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Loft Hostel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.