We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - definitely recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel - definitely recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews, and were not disappointed. From the lobby area to the bedrooms, the hotel is very well presented. Lovely decor, extremely clean etc.

The breakfast was great - nice selection of breads, cereals, fruit, juices etc. There was also free tea and coffee available in the lounge area, although we would have preferred if this was provided in the bedrooms.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, organising taxis for us, recommending restaurants etc.

The complementary internet was also a nice touch.

If there is one tiny fault, it's the location. It didn't really bother us as we're relatively young and don't mind walking, but if you want to be right in the centre of town, then this might not be the best place for you.

Overall a great hotel, and I would have no hesitation recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Dear "Itchy_English_Feet",
Thank you for your kind note and personal recognition and for recommending us to the traveillng community. I am glad to read that we have met your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. We enjoyed reading that you’d liked the unique design and the attention to details. We do appreciate that you have recognized our staff’s professionalism and their service minded attitude. It was our pleasure to meet you and we do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel Palazzo Zichy in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,742
    519
    59
    6
    2
See reviews for
337
1,990
118
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We arrived in BudaPest for the beginning of and end of our trip. This hotel was wonderful. The halls were noisy at times with late night partiers coming home and early rising families leaving but I believe that would be common in most hotels in the area. They made a recommendation for dinner the first night that was excellent (Barrso Bistro). The place was clean with free water and coffee throughout the day as well as 4 computers with free interenet access for you to use. I would highly recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Dear "traveler_from_states",
Thank you for taking the time and recommend our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for the travelers’ community here on TripAdvisor!
It was our pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and I was delighted to read that we could make your stay pleasant and that you were contended with our team's service minded attitude, clean hotel rooms, free lounge bar service. We are all sincerely hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel in the near future!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I stayed here for just 3 short days this past July. I had read the reviews here on Trip Advisor and they lead me to an amazing place to stay.

It was in a quiet section of town, so no noise issues at all. Walking into the hotel it felt more like a 5 star then a 4 star hotel. The room was very classy and just the right amount of space for me. Bed was perfectly comfortable.

They offer complimentary computers and internet service which came in real handy. During the day the also offer complimentary water and coffee. Breakfast had a large selection, including eggs and bacon.

The location provided the peacefulness and it was only a 10 minute walk to the main shopping street. If you don't mind walking a little, you can get to the major sections pretty quickly (10-15 minutes) or within that time get to some form of public transportation that can get you to where you want to go.

I did have an issue the 2nd night where the cooling system (or something) was making a noise every couple of minutes. I went down to let them know about it and they offered me a new room right away for the night, without any questions or anything.

Great service and a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Dear "TravelingTigo",
Thank you for having chosen us for your city break and for sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor! I am glad to read that we have met your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. It is great to see that you could take advantage of our business center and the free lounge bar and that the location of our Hotel Palazzo Zichy fulfilled your expectations. I am glad that you believe that your decision to select our hotel was indeed a right choice. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Budapest was very nice, but hotel Palazzo Zichy was ... wauw!

What a lovely hotel! Everything was good:
- good location (5 minute-walk from Calvin Ter subway)
- Very beautiful (old) building
- Nice (modern) reception
- trendy bar with free drinks (until 17 hr) and free internet (6 pc's + printer)
- Very nice sleepingroom with a perfect bed (beautiful modern bathroom, dressingroom, etc...)
-The breakfast was delicious
- The staff was very friendly and professional
- Everything is super-clean
- The silent "Enigma"-music in the lobby and the breakfastroom was a nice detail
- The price was fair (4 nights in a double-room with breakfast for a total price of 366 euro/ 104 000 HUF).

No wonder this hotel has won the 2010 tripadvisor hotel award!!!!
We really enjoyed our stay. If we ever come back to Budapest ... we will certainly book a room again in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Dear "PH_KP",
Thank you very much for your time to leave a positive comment to the travelling community about your experience at our hotel. I am glad to see that we could do everything to make your stay with us an outstanding stay. It was great to be heard that your were satisfied with our spotless hotel rooms, rich buffet breakfast and I am also delighted that you had highlighted our modern, contemporary art design for other travellers. Thank you again for your comment! I will be happy to assist you with any future bookings when your travel plans bring you back to Budapest.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Very pleased with our choice of hotel - spotlessly clean, high ceilinged room with modern facilities and very sleek decor. Excellent choice of foods at breakfast - you'd have to be a very fussy eater not to find something you like! Staff very pleasant and helpful and spoke very good english. One thing I would have liked is tea and coffee making facilities in the room. There is a lounge bar where you can get complimentary tea, coffee and water, but only until 5pm, so if you came back late from a hard day's sightseeing, you'd have to pay. Also, there's something nice about being able to sit in bed with a cup of tea in the morning!
If you want a night cap, suggest you use the locals bar nearby (out of hotel doors, turn right, right again down to corner of Krudy) .Aszok (local lager) 260forint (about 90p a pint). Compare that with hotel price of 1100 forint for a small bottle!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Dear "hryzko",
First and foremost thank you for taking the time and recommend our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for the travellers’ community here on TripAdvisor! I am glad that you were satisfied with our décor and style, buffet breakfast service. I am also happy to hear that the personnel of the hotel provided an exceptional service to you during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

The moment I am writing this I am staying at the hotel, so these are totally fresh impressions. First off the location: very well situated, within walking distance of the centre, in a calm area. The building itself is nicely renovated, with good taste, the decoration of the rooms also hits the perfect balance beween elegance and comfort. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, but in a natural kind of way. the rooms are kept perfectly clean, and as far as i could understand there is good communication between the cleaning personnel and the supervisors. One minor issue is that the breakfast area could be a bit larger to accomodate the hungry crowd, but this does not mean you have to wait to get a table. to resume: i highly recommend this hotel. Btw: upoarrival My booking was upgraded to a larger room courtesy of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Dear "lacika34",
Thank you for your positive feedback. I appreciate your compliments on the design and the decor of our hotel, which is truly unique in Budapest. It was great to be heard that your were satisfied with the location of the hotel, with our spotless hotel rooms, but from all the compliments I was glad to read that our staff provided exceptional service throughout your stay and could make your holiday enjoyable. It was our pleasure to meet you and I will be happy to assist you with any future bookings when your travel plans bring you back to Budapest.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

A little maway from the centre but has reached a very high standard. To be adversely critical, the television screen in our room is on the small side! Everything else is fine.

Lots of interesting restaurants in Raday Ut. Turn left from hotel, walk straight on for perhaps half a mile and then, having reached Raday Ut, turn right. We found the Lizard Etterem some 300 yards on the right hand side of the road to be exceptional. It's not yet on Trip Advisor but it will be!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Dear "Inspector1",
Thank you for taking the time to recommend us on TripAdvisor! I was delighted to read your short but to the point comment of our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I am also glad that you were satisfied with the high standards of service you have experienced during your stay. We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and provide the same level of service.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,847 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.