We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked here based on Tripadvisor recommendation and was not disappointed! My first trip to Europe and the hotel staff couldn't be more accommodating...even before our arrival.
Rooms were nice, clean and overlooked a little square where we'd watch the locals meet and sit in a courtyard. Charming. Hotel staff was always friendly and great with recommendations, reservations and tips for what was worthwhile. We walked everywhere from here. Stayed at the Hilton on Buda side just prior to returning home but found Zichy much more comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel. As such looked out on small square which was perfect for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,586
    488
    58
    6
    2
See reviews for
313
1,880
114
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a wonderful place to stay for a visit to Budapest. The location is great for sightseeing. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and polite. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and well equipped. Breakfast was first class & a great start to the day. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Just great!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great hotel in a great location. The staff was extremely helpful and the breakfast was excellent every morning. If you're looking for a nice boutique hotel in the heart of Budapest don't hesitate to stay here. It is within walking distance to most major sights and also close to routes of public transportation.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From the moment we entered this hotel we could not find a single fault. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and modern and the bedrooms are the same. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and speak fantastic english nothing is too much trouble for them. A big thanks especially to Sara in Reception and to Ennent (sorry if I have spelt that wrong) the lounge barman. They will help you book tickets and restaurant reservations and taxi's. It was my husbands birthday and I emailed in advance to arrange for champagne and chocolates and they arrived when I asked for them and were delicious. There is plenty of choice for breakfast and is the perfect start to the day. It is also the perfect location in Pest, 10 minutes walk to the city centre where you can pick up the hop on and hop off buses and the trams and metro and a little further to the Danube where there are plenty of restaurants and shops. Also a little further walking and you can go over the bridge to Buda. There are also plenty of restaurants within a few minutes walking distance of the hotel which means if you don't want to go far after a long days sightseeing you don't need to everything is on your doorstep. I would recommend this hotel in Budapest and will definitely be staying here again if we ever visit Budapest again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After trawling Trip Adviser and Expedia for somewhere to stay on a city break with a friend, I eventually settled on the Hotel Palazzo Zichy - it had great reviews, looked like it was in a good location, and more to the point was decently priced. Upon confirmation of booking, I emailed the concierge to arrange transfer from the airport, and from then on the staff were great. We arrived late, but the arranged transport was there to collect us and took us to the hotel. Check in was quick and easy, and the guy on reception was entirely pleasant despite the late hour. The hotel was clean and tidy, and although an old palazzo that maintained it's old, traditional charm, it was entirely modern and homely. The room was lovely and clean, and of a decent size. The lovely hot, overhead shower was welcome every evening seeing as it was so cold in January! As was the Sauna in the basement of the hotel, especially to thaw us out from the snow! Breakfast was lovely, and well-stocked - although the breakfast room was small, we never had any issues with finding somewhere to sit. The hotel was conveniently located between two tram stops, and had a metro station nearby as well as a few bus stops. It was also in walking distance of the Jewish Quarter, with the famous Szimpla Kert bar; as well as a number of other lovely restaurants and wine bars. I would not hesitate to stay here again on my next visit, and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I have titled this review 5 star plus because quite honestly that is what I would like to rate it !! What a great boutique hotel, quite why it's is rated no2/332 hotels in Budapest, I don't know, because I really can't believe it can be beaten. From the moment you arrive until checkout nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The rooms are modern and spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable, the inclusive breakfast fresh and varied. The hotel is located within easy walking distance to the main areas, and there is a superb public transport service for those needing it. Buy the travel pass which covers buses,trams and metro and great value at £11.00 for a 7 day pass, then you can hop on or off at your leisure. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and at very reasonable rates.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This very modern hotel in an old palace lived up to it's reputation on tripadvisor. we had a junior suite which was reasonably spacious, well appointed and very clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially in the breakfast room. This room was beautifully laid out and the food excellent. The hotel is well positioned in a nice area of Pest with lots of restaurants and cafes near by. There is lots of public transport nearby but we found walking was the best way to see the city. If we ever return to Budapest we would definitely stay here again and we would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: the junior suite we had on the top floor was very quiet and had good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.