We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service in great value hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing service in great value hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

We only got to spend 1 night in this hotel but I wished we could have stayed longer. We got a great deal online and could not believe our luck when we walked throught the door. The entrance is very impressive. the restoration of this old building is beautiful. The staff was ever so helpful. Free tea/coffee/minerals are available from the lobby bar all day and I was surprised to also find an internet room if you do not have your laptop with you.
I will definitely be back on my next trip to Budapest.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,184
    412
    58
    6
    2
See reviews for
252
1524
98
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed in Palazzo Zichy for three nights and our stay was above and beyond our expectations. The hotel just opened in Feb 2009. The building is a beautiful 19th century mansion which has been recently refurbished. The interior is ultra modern but comfortable. The service of the staff was great. They were extremely helpful and polite. They gave us tips about the city and gladly recommended restaurants for us and made reservations. The breakfast was also great with many hot and cold choices. Breakfast was served in a reasonably big room with a glass ceiling. Our standard room was quite big and spotlessly clean. It was so big that we were literally able to run around our room :) The hotel has a bar that provides unlimited free bottled water and coffee until 5pm everyday!! Above the bar there is a room with about 6 computers with internet access and even a printer free of charge. There's a sauna and a fitness center in the hotel as well.

This hotel is in city center but Budapest is a big city so we often ended up taking taxis. There is a metro station (Kalvin ter) which is about a 5 minute walk away. The tram (#4 or #6) is also about a 5 minute walk away. The trams can be fun as you can see the city while traveling instead of being underground. The neighborhood is clean and peaceful.

The only thing lacking was a restaurant but there are many excellent restaurants in Budapest. Other than the lack of a restaurant it was a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

We had a very good time at the hotel and were extremely happy with a level of service. Good location, easy to move around. Helpful and professional staff made the stay a lot easier on us as medical advice was needed. Breakfast full of choice. Drink at the cosy lobby in the evening after all the sightseeing with a talkative and entertaining barman or quick email to friends in the internet corner. Lovely wellness centre available to the hotel guests. Anything you may need during a short stay away from home. Incredible attention to details. It will be a very special memory for us as we got engaged there! Lovely Budapest and Palazzo!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

A wonderful hotel. The design is contemporary but sympathetic to the building. The staff were polite and helpful.
The location is great for walking to the centre of town.
Try the Wellness suite. It's small but great for relaxing after a long day of walking.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

I'll admit that we've not long since arrived here but this hotel is superb. The attention to detail in the renovation is wonderful and it is beyond what I'd hoped for.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, @-room with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.