We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, loved it, loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 330 Hotels in Budapest
Essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved it, loved it, loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I spent a long time comparing hotels before booking this one. I'm so glad I did.

The hotel is in a great location. We have never been to Budapest before and found it easily. We travelled from the airport on the bus and then the metro. Because it was the weekend, some metro lines were closed and bus replacement services were operating. We didn't bother with the bus and just walked the last couple of stops.

We were warming welcomed at the hotel. We were allowed in our room immediately. The room was lovely. Very modern, very warm and very clean. The entire hotel is pristine and spotless.

We used the complimentary wifi/coffee/snack lounge in the hotel before heading out.

We got back late. The desk is manned 24 hours. We ordered cocktails in the hotel and received brilliant service.

After a great nights sleep, we enjoyed an amazing breakfast. The breakfast room and facilities are fantastic. A hot food section, a big cheese and meat section, a large selection of different breads and pastries, cereals, fresh fruits, yoghurts. Lovely coffee machines and fruit juices. Even sparkling wine if you fancy it.

I was delighted to see that they even serves gluten free rolls which were still warm.

We didn't use room service so cannot comment on that.

The showers are amazing. The rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day. All of the staff we came across were delightful.

I didn't want to leave. I will definitely come back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Fantastic value, facilities and service.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,414
    459
    58
    6
    2
See reviews for
296
1,741
112
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and it comes very highly recommended.

Situated in the City Centre but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle, we were able to walk everywhere from this hotel. Alternatively it is 3 mins walk to the nearest tram stop and 5 mins to the metro. The transport system in Budapest is fantastic.This hotel acts as a fantastic base for exploring budapest, which suprisingly is a very big city in Europe.

Hotel building is beautifully styled and decorated throughout, it has a boutique feel about it from the bar, reception and bedrooms. Fantastic service throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Rooms were exceptionally clean and modern. Beds extremely comfortable. Some great local restaurants/ bars only a few mins walk away. Great location.

Breakfast was great with a huge selection and there is complimentary water & tea/coffee in the bar area until 5pm each day. Mojito's in the bar were one of the best we have had anywhere!!

Overall, a great hotel with great facilites and service. We were extremely impressed and will recommend to others. Tip: Visit the amazing Veli Bej spa....15 min taxi journey away,

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I will keep it very simple, what an incredible hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel if you were visiting Budapest. My partner and I booked the hotels city break package which included a bus tour and a 3 course meal. The 3 course meal was phononinal and located in a beautiful restaurant next to the national museum. The hotel staff are very friendly and always polite. The breakfast that was Included could not be faulted at all. I would definitely stay here again if I return to the city. Very very impressed with the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just returned home after a lovely time in Budapest and the most amazing stay at the hotel palazzo zichy. We found the hotel through trip advisor and were very happy with our choice, the hotel is in a quieter part of the city but with very good transport link just a short stroll away which gives you access to all of the areas.
On our arrival we were quickly checked in and welcomed by the very helpful and friendly staff on reception, our room was superb, spotlessly clean and lovely bathrooms and walk in wardrobes. The beds were comfy and big and lovely pillows!

The fact that there is no restaurant in the hotel is actually a Bonus because there are so many great places to eat in the area.

Because we arrived early evening and were hungry we decided to eat in the Russian themed restaurant over the road which was excellent and good value for money. We finished the evening with a cocktail and a glass of palingka in the hotels cocktail bar - hic ;-) !

Breakfast the following day was fantastic, plenty to eat, lovely coffee and glasses of Hungarian sparkling wine which we drank with the lovely peach juice as a refreshing Bellini!

This hotel has everything you need if visiting Budapest, we would definitely stay here again!

Would recommend the airport shuttle, which you can pre book on line and is excellent value for money.
Also the Budapest card which gave us free travel around the city and access to a lot of sights and to the baths - we loved the baths, go at nighttime, buy a cheap towel in the shops and pack your costume and flip flops.

Room Tip: We found the inside rooms very quiet, there aren't really views to look at here unless you are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have just returned from a five night stay with friends found the hotel excellent free tea coffee and soft drinks in the lobby up to five pm. I would have preferred it in the room but no problem breakfast is excellent with a wonderful choice of hot an cold. Would definitely recommend it

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As everyone else has said this is a great place to stay. Very friendly helpful staff beautiful rooms great location and breakfast every day was superb. Didn't try room service but did use bar facilities which was a great touch tea/coffee daily till 5pm so nice after a day's sightseeing would definitely recommend this hotel without a doubt first class !! .....

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I would like to thank all the staff who work in this hotel for giving me and my wife a wedding anniversary to remember. They did their best to make our holiday as relaxing as possible. The reservations office is very efficient and is very fast with trouble shooting. They gave us an option to take a taxi from the airport at a fixed price which we liked so much. The hotel has a very modern look and the decorations are fascinating. The receptionists were always very helpful. The room service is one of a kind - we ordered an entire dinner from a restaurant which is affiliated with the hotel. After 30-45 minutes, the dinner was served in our room! The food was well cooked and delicious. The hotel is just a few minutes walk away from a metro station which we used a lot. The breakfast was a continental one and the items were being replenished all the time. Highly recommendable!

Room Tip: one that faces the small square and the church - nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, @-room with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.