We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head straight for this gem in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 330 hotels in Budapest
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Head straight for this gem in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We found this gem of a Hotel with such a good reputation by searching on the internet. However, as always the proof is in the eating and you are always a bit concerned about what you will find.
The truth is that this Hotel is a brilliant find and you will not be disappointed. From the moment you enter and speak to the reception staff you will realise you have made a good choice.
Whilst it is a bit out of the centre of Pest it is by no means difficult to easily reach the centre of town and the river Danube by foot.
The Hotel is modern,very clean and has excellent staff.
The rooms are a good size with air conditioning, en suites, television, fridge and safe. We also found the linen to be a lovely quality. A lift serves all floors.
There is a bar by reception with complimentary coffee and water until 5pm and papers in several languages.
Breakfast is on the lower floor and has everything you will want including cooked food - there is no shortage of choice or quantity.

Room Tip: Speak to the reception staff prior to booking with your preferences - they will be most helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,147
    406
    57
    6
    2
See reviews for
260
1562
101
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Extremely classy hotel, fancy interior everywhere. Super friendly staff. Complimentary coffees, waters etc.
Located very near the public transportation (metro station could be little closer). Also quite near the city center. Superb breakfast; wide selection of everything.
We had a junior suite with a hot tub. We got the suite at very reasonable price, was some kind of offer. The room was very spacious, quiet, air conditioned and beautifully decorated.
The room and the whole hotel were very clean. (Not extremely clean, our female traveller has truly high standards about cleanliness.)
A nice little detail was the possibility to have breakfast in your room with no extra charge.

Highly recommend Zichy. Choose junior suite and you'll love it.

Room Tip: Junior suite is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

"Palazzo Zichy" is one of the best hotels I have ever been.
The hotel is located in a renovated building that dates back to the 19th century; the mixture of old and new architecture is truly magnificent. It is neither close nor far away from the center, with metro stations nearby and in walking distance from many places in Budapest .
The rooms are modern, spacious (ours even had a dressing room!) and really clean. Only drawback is that the bathrooms door was made of glass and did not really "isolate" it from the rest of the room.
It had a rich breakfast with lots of variety that is free for guests of the hotel.
The quality of service was excellent and everyone was willing to help you if you had any questions or needed something.
If I ever go back to Budapest this is definitely the place I will stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

An excellent hotel with exceedingly high standards of customer service. The hotel is slightly out of the centre but has excellent tram and metro links which take literally minutes to reach the heart of the city. The hotel could not have been bettered and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting this fascinating city. We went as a family with our grandson and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with very good restaurants close by. In all a perfect hotel in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear „david l”,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experiences with the travelling community.
I was truly happy to read that you had enjoyed your family holiday in Budapest and our entire team had been able to contribute to your memorable experience; your compliment regarding the service provided by our staff is highly appreciated. I also would like to thank you for highlighting our excellent location.
Let me thank you for recommending our Hotel Palazzo Zichy to the travelling community. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Went to Budapest to celebrate a milestone Birthday with friends all couples, booked this hotel after reading all the reviews, was not disappointed in any way. The first impression is stunning and the staff were absolutely brilliant, very professional and helpful. The rooms have been designed to very high standards the bathroom is very modern and tasteful.
The breakfasts are excellent, very fresh food and plentiful. Nice touch with free coffee throughout the day till 5.00 in the Bar/Lounge area .
Cannot say enough about the hotel from cleanliness to hospitality and the design and fittings, it is so good that we booked to go back again next year as soon as we returned. !!!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Palazzo Zichy is a very special hotel. First, it is architecturally stunning--a sensitive renovation of an historic building that uses sleek modern design to enhance and preserve the original structure. Bravo! Second, the management of the hotel knows how to please its guests and is obviously deeply committed to customer service and satisfaction. The front desk staff is young, smiling, multilingual and extremely accomodating. (I will note that we found Hungarians in general to be lovely, welcoming and helpful to tourists.) Our friends at the desk (thank you, Istvan, Julia, Gregor ( sorry, i know I am spelling your names wrong) answered endless questions, booked restaurants, lent us umbrellas, ordered cars to the airport, and even provided a to-go breakfast for one of our party who had to catch a very early flight before breakfast was available! The rooms are not large but they are very comfortable and well designed. ( We did upgrade to the larger room mid-week and it was spectacular!--By all means book a larger room if finances permit--they are gorgeous.) Breakfast is a delight--very abundant, lots of variety, and more young and smiling staff attending to your every need. The bar is very nice, and the free sparkling water, coffee, tea and snacks during the day is another example of the hotel's commitment to its guests' comfort. The hotel is located in Josefvaros (my favorite neighborhood in Budapest), on a charming square and a lovely walk to anywhere you might want to go . If I am ever lucky enough to come back to beautiful Budapest, I will stay nowhere else. In fact, I want to come back just to stay at Palazzo Zichy again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear „westerngirl”,

I was so glad to read your wonderful comment about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy; thank you very much for staying with us and for posting a generous review on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to see that the decor, the guestroom (especially the junior suite), the service provided by our Team and last but not least the location had met or even exceeded your expectations.
I was also proud to learn from your kind words that my colleagues, but especially Istvan, Julia and Gergo could make your city break more enjoyable.

Your compliments and your patronage are highly appreciated and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to meeting you again.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very chic and quiet hotel. Our room was small but very comfortable and quiet. Fabulous breakfasts. Quaint location with interesting churches, restaurants and plazas nearby. Would definitely stay here again. The hotels on the Danube waterfront are also appealing but perhaps not as quiet and elegant as this one. The staff was professional and very helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the interior courtyard. It was very quiet. I can't speak for the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear „WMerrill”,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for recommending our hotel to the travelling community.

I highly appreciate your kind words regarding our unique design, the excellent breakfast buffet and the service provided by our entire staff. It made me also glad to see that you enjoyed our location, the local restaurants, churches nearby and the bohemian neighbourhood of our hotel.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again, please do not hesitate to contact us should you plan a next visit to Budapest.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#4 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, @-room with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.