We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful weeks stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful weeks stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel was beautiful, service amazing and clean, clean, clean!!! The spa area was brilliant, the gym slightly limited but you never use that on a holiday anyway!

The staff were friendly and so helpful to us, the receptionist Catherine and barman Goran (I think that was his name) were particularly good. If I were to go to Budapest again I would without hesitation stay here!!

Only criticism was the boiled eggs were cold which is not what I'm used to in the Uk but other than that just perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,742
    519
    59
    6
    2
See reviews for
337
1,990
118
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The best choice I could have made! First off, I made a mistake in my online reservation. I emailed the manager and she very quickly corrected everything with no problem! When I arrived, the room was spotless, modern and very elegant. It is in an old building but the rooms are spectacular! I loved coming to this room after my day was over. The best part of this hotel is the service which is fabulous. The last day I had to get a taxi and requested the hotel lobby receptionist call one for me which accepted credit card. The front lady said not to worry that they can charge it to my final bill- this was such a convenience for me. I call this excellent service.

On top of this, the breakfast is nicely prepared and there is always coffee and tea in the lobby area. I will not hesitate to stay here again or recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

**Listen to this for service!, my girlfriend realised she had left her swimsuit in the bathroom after we left the Hotel, and while we were on the plane back to the UK, they had e-mailed her to say that they had found it, and not to worry as they were posting it back to us F.O.C that day!!**

The Hotel Palazzo Zichy was tucked away opposite a square and a church, it's modest entrance gave way to a beautiful reception area staffed by friendly efficient staff. The rooms were chic, the breakfast was really good and the staff could not do enough for you.

The rooms were really quiet at night so the sleep quality was excellent and the view from our room gave us a glimpse of day to day city life in Budapest.

It's a great base for exploring the city, as Budapest's public transport system is excellent.

To find your way to the Hotel if you don't want to take a cab, the easiest way is to get a bus from the Airport terminal until it gets to a large shopping centre, then you get on the subway and leave that 10 mins away from the hotel.

***Traveller TIp 1 - Visit the Rudas Baths and have a massage! quality! **

***Traveller Tip 2 - Don't accept the 200ft note as change, its obsolete as I discovered, also be careful to count your money if you exchange it at one of the bureau de changes in the tourist area, I was scalped of £20.00 but did not realise until I got back to the hotel, apart from those little things Budapest is an excellent place to visit.***

Room Tip: Ask for a a room with a nice view and a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Accompanied by two friends I visited Budapest for the first time in early Feb. Our choice of hotel made a superb start and base for our visit. The rooms were superb and the service just so welcoming and excellent. Breakfast each morning was a delight - fresh and varied and delivered by staff par excellent. This quality of service was replicated by the every helpful Reception staff to the personable and attentive barman, Gabor.

The Hotel's location is well placed and we look forward to a return in warmer weather so we can enjoy the street culture that obviously abounds in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear „KingstonTraveller55”,

I am glad that you had enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy, let me thank you for sharing your experiences with the travellers on TripAdvisor. Your patronage is highly appreciated.
It made me really happy to see that you had found our hotel to be an excellent choice to discover Budapest.
I also would like to thank you for your compliments on our rich breakfast buffet, our great location and the service provided by my colleagues at the Reception and in the bar.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel Palazzo Zichy, hopefully very soon!

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I was swayed between 4 and 5 stars for this hotel. 5 stars for the beautiful hotel with excellent service and 4 because it doesn't have tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. However I decided on 5 because we could live without the T & C facilities just for once and the breakfast was one of the best we've experienced in a city hotel. They did serve coffee in the lounge before 5 pm but we never seemed to get back in time!! The hotel was extremely good value for money and we would highly recommend it.

We found some nice restaurants nearby and the Danube is about 10 minutes walking distance. A lovely city to visit, it exceeded our expectations. Particularly good were the Opera House, the thermal baths, the Hop On Hop off bus service and the cakes!! Not to mention the Hungarian 'champagne'!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear „YorkielassEngland”,

Let me thank you for staying at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy during your city break in Budapest.
I was happy to see that you had enjoyed your visit and our hotel, our facilities and services could meet or even exceed your expectations.

I also would like to thank you for the suggestions you made regarding acitivities, I am sure many travellers will find them very helpful.

I would like to thank you for your positive feedback posted on the most popular travellers’ site. We hope to have the opportunity to meeting you soon again.

With best regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Good looking hotel on the inside, with stylish buffet breakfast and conveniently placed close to tram/metro and easy walking distance to thermal spa indoor market and Borrso Bistro fab foodie 5 mins away loved this hotel for style and value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear „Sarah L”,

Thank you very much for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for sharing your experiences with the travelling community.
It made me truly happy to see that you had enjoyed your city break and you had been pleased with our breakfast service and with our great location.
Your compliments are highly appreciated and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again!

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had the most enjoyable stay in this very comfortable hotel. The staff were professional, welcoming, friendly and helpful and the breakfast was superb. The location of the hotel was perfect in a central but quiet area with good restaurants close by. If we ever go back to Budapest we would certainly stay here again.The taxi transfer to the airport is good value and easy to arrange.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear „spatchlet”,

I was so glad to read your kind words and positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.

I was delighted to see that you had spent pleasant days with us and our Team had been able to contribute to your memorable experience. I especially would like to thank you for highlighting our great location, the friendly and professional service and excellent breakfast buffet.

Let me thank you again for choosing our hotel. Should your travel plans bring you back to Budapest, we would be happy to serve you again!

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,849 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.