We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous! Stay Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Gorgeous! Stay Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel Palazzo Zichy surpassed my expectations! When we walked into the lobby for the first time and saw the beautiful modern décor mixed with old charm of the building, we were so thrilled! The front desk was so helpful and courteous! They even packed us a breakfast pack to go when we had an early morning flight back home! Free mineral water/coffee and snacks until 5 pm!? Amazing! Free wifi, too. The rooms were really nice and the bathroom was gorgeous with a huge rain shower. Seriously impressed. The location was good too, in a neighborhood with lots of cafes and restaurants with outdoor seating. It is a bit of lengthy walk to get to places like Castle Hill/Parliament, but definitely doable. We walked all over the city and really enjoyed the location of Hotel Palazzo Zichy. Highly recommend this awesome hotel if you are visiting beautiful Budapest!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,586
    488
    58
    6
    2
See reviews for
313
1,880
114
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed 5 nights. We got a spacious room for a reasonable rate on the 5th floor with an unexpected bonus of a view of the church and square. Clean, and with a modern flair, the bed is one of the most comfortable I've slept in. No complains about the service, from well-staffed reception, to bar and breakfast, all smiling and first-rate. It is located at the edge of the inner city of Pest and so the walk is mostly towards the north and the river, and if you wander the other direction the streets can get starkly quiet, especially at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in September 2013. I met up with a friend on my second day in Budapest and we shared a room with twin beds for the second and third night.

Our room was very well appointed and very clean, comfortable beds and very quiet. Our room overlooked an internal atrium and didn't have any windows facing the street, so it may have been particularly quiet.

The hotel as a whole is beautifully renovated and appeared very clean and well maintained, with an excellent breakfast room and great selection of food and drinks available each morning. The staff were very friendly and offered assistance and advice. The hotel offers free tea, coffee and bottled water all day in a lounge near the reception area.

We were happy with the location of the hotel as it gave us easy access to local restaurants and trams, and was a nice walk to the river and main "tourist areas". If you like your hotel to be on top of major tourist attractions, then the location may not be ideal for you. My preference is a hotel in a backstreet with local restaurants nearby, so this was perfect for me.

The only negative comment that I have is that the room had one of those silly, partially see-through glass doors with no seal to speak of. It looked nice, but I'm one of those people who thinks that 85% of what goes on in a bathroom should be kept to yourself. I've just seen a review where somebody specifically mentioned that they loved the bathroom door, so...each to their own!!

Overall, the hotel was excellent and very good value for money and if I returned to Budapest I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking an internal atrium. The room was very quiet, but may not be suitable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Like most other reviews we have only praise for this hotel.Everything was first class with excellent breakfast and all the staff were friendly and helpful special mention for Gabor the barman.
Yes it is a short distance to city centre however the underground is only a five minute walk or a fifteen minute walk will get you there, the upside is you have a good selection of bars and restaurants that are not your usual tourist traps offering good value and frequented by locals as well as tourists. Would return to this hotel and highly recommend to any visitor to Budapest

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stopped for a 3 night break to celebrate our anniversary. From the welcome note to checking out it was faultless. How people can give this place a bad review is beyond me. We stated in a junior suite. For 135€ a night is excellent value. Spacious clean room. Noise what noise ? We heard nothing from our room 108. Breakfast fantastic choice. You don't have to eat the same thing every day. Replenished regularly. Even at 9.50, when they stop serving at 10. Easy to walk to the Danube or local eateries. We did not feel the need to use public transport at all. Friendly , helpful staff.... What else do you need. How this hotel can be critisied is beyond me

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great place, great staff, beautifully renovated. Loved the door on the bathroom. Clean, great view from our room, and the little street behind the church is beautiful and a great place to hang out...however, in hindsight, i would've been better off to plan on taking more taxis. it is a bit out of the way from the "traditional" tourist stuff, and the on and off busses were not close by. the map is a bit deceiving i think. we got a bit lost one night coming home, and it seemed further than what it should've been on the map. I would probably recommend taking a taxi to the Chain bridge, take the Budapest Castle Hill Funicular, and wander around the Castle District.

Room Tip: 5th floor overlooking the church......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear „SueIris”,

thank you very much for your generous review posted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I am glad to see that you loved the unique design of our hotel and you liked the view from your room. I also would like to thank you for your kind note regarding our quiet location.

Let me take the opportunity to thank you for choosing our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and I truly hope that we will meet you again in the future!

Best regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed Three nights and Enjoyed the stay at Palazzo Zichy.
The breakfast is good and the staff is very friendly and helpful - and their English is very good! The hotel is located in the city, though is is a rather long walk to go to the actual city centre. But fortunately, the hotel is also located very close to public transport (Trams - not the metro), so you can easy get around.
Until 5pm, you can grab free bottles of water in the bar accompanied by some light snacks - a nice pitstop before leaving or when returning to the hotel.
Next time i'm in Budapest, i'm likely to come back :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear „micmm”,

I can not be grateful enough for sharing your experiences with the travelling community and for your kind words. It was great to read that you enjoyed your citybreak in Budapest and our Hotel Palazzo Zichy could live up to your expectations.
I was happy to see that you could take advantage of our complimentary Lounge Bar and you found our Team helpful and friendly.
Let me thank you again for your positive comment and for your patronge. I truly hope that we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.