We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 331 hotels in Budapest
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a great experience I had at this hotel. The architecture of the lobby was beautiful, as the hotel occupies a century-old building probably. The breakfast buffet was very substantial, with tons of options. The waitstaff was really friendly and accomodated our requests. The hotel is located in a quiet area of downtown Pest, but very close to many restaurants, bars and cafes. It was a 15 minute walk to the Danube River, at most. Close to the 4,6 tramlines too. My only negative comment was the size of the beds. Although they were very comfortable, my friend and I were basically sleeping on top of each other. This kind of close quarters is something to expect in Europe though, so I didn't ding the hotel for that in my 5 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,200
    415
    59
    6
    2
See reviews for
253
1535
100
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent hotel and staff. Room and bathroom clean and spacious. Lovely breakfast buffet.They provide a juicer so you can have freshly squeezed orange or grapfruit juice. Lovely touch.
The hotel is preety central to most things.I would stay at this hotel and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a hotel you choose when you want to feel pampered at a decent price. It is such an elegant, modern hotel and situated only a 15 minute walk from the gorgeous Danube. The rooms are smallish but beautifully designed. The beds are super comfortable and the bathroom is wonderful..... a large showerhead, strong hairdryer and soft large towels. The breakfast was great. A huge variety of food to choose from and you can even squeeze your own grapefruit juice.... There is a computer room consisting of six computers and with access to a printer. The wifi is fast throughout the entire hotel. Free coffee, tea and mineral water offered in the lounge area all day. Would definately recommend this gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I enjoyed my stay because the room was comfortable and the staff was very firendly and very helpful. I really enjoyed their free breakfast buffet because it was very much typical of an combination of an American Breakfast and a Continental breakfast. with many very tasty choices.

A couple of minor negatives cause me to not give it the full five stars:
- It is quite a hike to the closest Metro for moving around the city. Although this did not bother rme much because I need the hike to work off the beautiful cuisine in Budapest, some elderly or couch potatoes might find this more challenging than more expensive hotesl on the mtro line.
-The room was comfortable, but was, in my opinion,a little small for the price. Furthermore, those who have previously commented on neighboring room noise are correct. I woke up because of neighboring room noise through thin walls while trying to sleep off my jet lag.

Overall, I can certainly recommend this hotel for those who ar enot bothered by the 2 issues above. I would certainly use this hotel again if I come back to Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I spent five nights at the Palazzo Zichy in early September, 2013. I won't re-hash all of the details. Other reviewers have pretty much covered the bases. Briefly, service was excellent, the room (a Junior Suite) was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ample and tasty. Our room was on the 3rd floor (with a small balcony), facing the church. It was quiet at night. There are a few nice small restaurants/bistros in the area. The only downside is (as many others have noted) that the location is not very close to the major sights of Budapest. We like to walk, and we are comfortable using mass transit, so this was not a big problem for us. This hotel may not be the right choice if you are disabled or elderly. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we had no problems whatsoever during our stay. The hotel met the high expectations that we had gleaned from prior reviewers.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite (smoking) on the 3rd floor. The room did not smell of smoke, and was of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

There is little I can add to all the great reviews about this lovely hotel. A lot of time and effort went into finding a nice hotel in this beautiful city. What a great decision to pick this one!! A lovely hotel, helpful and committed staff, a central location, lovely food. My only regret was the fact that we could not stay longer!! Hopefully, we will put that right next year. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a gorgeous building. Judit, the reservation manager, was a pleasure to deal with. She always graciously answered all my questions, and helped me change my reservation when something came up. The staff were always helpful, and greeted you with a smile. They even loaned us a large umbrella one day when it was raining. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious, with eggs, meats, breads, jams, cereal, fresh fruits, coffee, and juices. As others have mentioned, the hotel isn't in the middle of all the sites, but rather a 5 minute walk to the metro station with easy access to the rest of Budapest. Sites are also walkable if you have time. Believe the reviews and stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, @-room with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.