We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence all round.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellence all round.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very helpful staff with prompt efficient replies to initial email enquiries while at the hotel, the multi-lingual reception staff were ever willing to cheerfully assist.
The hotel is delightful and set in quiet surroundings, yet close to public transport, shops and restaurants.
The room was a good size, very clean. An extensive buffet breakfast is served until 10am.
The hotel's Spring Break package is an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear „nordeuk”,

Let me thank you for your generous review left on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I was pleased to read that our hotel could live up your expectations and you spent an enjoyable citybreak in Budapest. I was also glad to see that you could take advantage of our Enjoy Budapest package.
We highly appreciate your patronage and hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!
The entire staff of the Hotel Palazzo Zichy is pleased to be at your disposal when staying with us next time!

With kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,204
    417
    57
    6
    2
See reviews for
273
1595
104
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is what Trip Advisor is all about as would have ended up in a large chain hotel without the reveiws from fellow travellers. Stayed here for 4 nights and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Stayed in room 514 which looked out the front of hotel, room was reasonable size good quality bathroom and shower. Pillows were a little hard but after first night quickly got used to them so didnt bother looking to change but no doubt if we had asked would have been changed, its that type of hotel where the customer is treated properly.

Breakfast was excellent choice and never had a problem getting a seat or of anything running out. Fruit, cereal, cold meats and Cheeses, scrambled/fried eggs, omelette and streaky bacon on offer, spoilt for choice and was nice to have the continental approach as opposed good old fry up every day. Little bit cozy when everyone comes down but we had a great breakfast to set us up every day.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent english. Tried the sauna and didnt realise had to ask to be swtitched on outside of 6 - 10 but a member of staff was there and said no problem and was switched on within minutes. Business centre with pcs and access to internet excellent and wifi was good.

No problem with location either, Metro and Tram was 5 minutes walk and easy to use, (bought the one day pass) and we actually walked into main tourist centre from hotel as enjoy walking and get to see more of the city, nice and flat plus we had good weather.

Would I recommend staying here? Absolutely. On the free walking tour they point out the Four Season hotel and dont think we would have got one night there for what we paid for 4 nights at Palazzo Zichy and know the staff could not be any better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear „Matty07uk”,

Let me thank you for staying with us in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy, it was our pleasure to host you whilst visiting Budapest. We highly appreciate your kind comments on our staff, our breakfast service and our location. Thank you very much for your positive review left on TripAdvisor and we hope we will have the possibility to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here in April, 2013. The staff and service were excellent. The continental breakfast that came with the price of the room was wonderful. The rooms were nice & modern--the floors were a tad noisy. You could hear people walking upstairs on the wooden floors. Wear slippers. We loved the location-- short walk (5-10 minutes) to transportaion or sights. We love to walk on vacation, so this was great for us. If you want to be right in the thick of it, or do not want to walk far, this is probably not the place for you. A nice quiet location. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear „mishaSt.Paul”,

Let me thank you for recommending us to the travelling community and for your kind words. I was glad to see that you had been pleased with our location and our reception staff also could be at your assistance to make your stay more pleasant with us.
We highly appreciate your patronage and hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a extremely efficient, clean and pleasant hotel, with an excellent service.
The staff and the service are very nice and friendly. See the other reviews... Everything is more than o.k.
A nice breakfast with a very good variety of food, also till 17:00 free, all kinds of coffee, tea and water.
This is a hotel where the people take care of you. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear „BernardLaverge”,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with the travelling community about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.
I am delighted to learn from your comment that you had a very pleasant stay with us.
Let me thank you for highlighting the high quality of the service that our staff provided you with throughout your stay. Your generuous review is highly appreciated and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again,

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I’m just back from 2 nights at the Palazzo Zichy hotel and I would rebook and recommend in an instant.
Great location, the friendliest and most charming staff, delicious and varied breakfast, comfortable rooms, extras, such as: free coffee / tea and mineral water until 1700 every day, free internet & printers on computers (that all work with super-fast connections!), free wifi (that actually works!)…… it’s a really great hotel with excellent value for money.
The only thing that is less than perfect is - I’d prefer proper curtains in the bedroom. Ours had a sort of light blind, that let in the sunshine early in the morning – I prefer a really dark bedroom to sleep.
And, a kettle in the bedroom would be nice, even with the lovely free tea and coffee all day, I do like to be able to make a herbal tea for myself before bedtime! – but those really are the smallest gripes and I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.
Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear „Jane D”,

Thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for taking your time to recommending us to the travelling community.
I was pleased to read that our hotel could live up to your expectations and you spent an enjoyable citybreak in Budapest. Let me take the opportunity to thank you for your suggestion regarding the in-room tea/coffee facilities as well. Please be ensured that we take your recommendation seriously and it has been forwarded to the management for consideration.
It was our pleasure to serve you and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.

With kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We could not fault this hotel one bit! Fabulous classy rooms, slick finish and incredible choice for breakfast! Staff were helpful particularly in letting you buy tram/metro tickets at the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear „theonewithtom”,

Herewith I would like to thank you for your kind feedback posted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel and for recommending us to the travelling community. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. Your generous review is highly appreciated and I do hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. I loved it. close to good amount of restaurants. Public transportation about 6 mins walk away. I loved our room with gigantic bathroom and plasma television. Front desk is very helpful. Tram No 2 is about 10 mins walk away(Most scenic route on Budapest). Breakfast is great but one thing they can improve on is coffee bar area. Free bar during the day is absolute treat.Ohh.... Do not forget to use front desk for Taxi service. Very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear „irfanmehmud”,

I am so glad that you have chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for your recent holiday in Budapest. I was delighted to read that our hotel met your expectations and you enjoyed the room, our location, our breakfast service and our complimentary lounge bar.
Your compliments regarding our Front Desk staff are also highly appreciated. Let me thank you again for your kind words and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, @-room with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.