We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good choice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 331 hotels in Budapest
Kortrijk, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very good choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a extremely efficient, clean and pleasant hotel, with an excellent service.
The staff and the service are very nice and friendly. See the other reviews... Everything is more than o.k.
A nice breakfast with a very good variety of food, also till 17:00 free, all kinds of coffee, tea and water.
This is a hotel where the people take care of you. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear „BernardLaverge”,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with the travelling community about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.
I am delighted to learn from your comment that you had a very pleasant stay with us.
Let me thank you for highlighting the high quality of the service that our staff provided you with throughout your stay. Your generuous review is highly appreciated and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again,

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,200
    415
    59
    6
    2
See reviews for
253
1535
100
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I’m just back from 2 nights at the Palazzo Zichy hotel and I would rebook and recommend in an instant.
Great location, the friendliest and most charming staff, delicious and varied breakfast, comfortable rooms, extras, such as: free coffee / tea and mineral water until 1700 every day, free internet & printers on computers (that all work with super-fast connections!), free wifi (that actually works!)…… it’s a really great hotel with excellent value for money.
The only thing that is less than perfect is - I’d prefer proper curtains in the bedroom. Ours had a sort of light blind, that let in the sunshine early in the morning – I prefer a really dark bedroom to sleep.
And, a kettle in the bedroom would be nice, even with the lovely free tea and coffee all day, I do like to be able to make a herbal tea for myself before bedtime! – but those really are the smallest gripes and I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.
Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear „Jane D”,

Thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for taking your time to recommending us to the travelling community.
I was pleased to read that our hotel could live up to your expectations and you spent an enjoyable citybreak in Budapest. Let me take the opportunity to thank you for your suggestion regarding the in-room tea/coffee facilities as well. Please be ensured that we take your recommendation seriously and it has been forwarded to the management for consideration.
It was our pleasure to serve you and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.

With kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We could not fault this hotel one bit! Fabulous classy rooms, slick finish and incredible choice for breakfast! Staff were helpful particularly in letting you buy tram/metro tickets at the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear „theonewithtom”,

Herewith I would like to thank you for your kind feedback posted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel and for recommending us to the travelling community. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. Your generous review is highly appreciated and I do hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. I loved it. close to good amount of restaurants. Public transportation about 6 mins walk away. I loved our room with gigantic bathroom and plasma television. Front desk is very helpful. Tram No 2 is about 10 mins walk away(Most scenic route on Budapest). Breakfast is great but one thing they can improve on is coffee bar area. Free bar during the day is absolute treat.Ohh.... Do not forget to use front desk for Taxi service. Very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear „irfanmehmud”,

I am so glad that you have chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for your recent holiday in Budapest. I was delighted to read that our hotel met your expectations and you enjoyed the room, our location, our breakfast service and our complimentary lounge bar.
Your compliments regarding our Front Desk staff are also highly appreciated. Let me thank you again for your kind words and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hotel Palazzo Zichy is extemely hospitable, offers excellent rooms, and provides an exceptional breakfast. However, the best aspect of the hotel is the friendly, helpful staff. They are always ready and willing to provide any service requested, and are always knowledgeable and cheerful. The hotel also offers a very comfortable and relaxing lobby area (including plenty of complimentarty computers on the mezzanine level) with coffee, water and snacks, papers and magazines available to help pass the time in between activities, or when waiting for a cab.
We arrived early on our first day and they accomodated us with an early check-in to make our stay even more comfortable.
Their recommendation of Don Leone restaurant (a few steps away), was alos an excellent choice with unique food preparation and very flavorful choices and reasonable prices.
We would stay there again without even exploring alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear „Al H”,

Let me thank you for your valuable feedback posted on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am truly glad that our hotel, our complimentary breakfast and the services provided by our staff lived up to your expectations and we could even make your stay more pleasant with an early check-in.
Your patronage and your compliments are highly appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you again should your travel plans bring you back to Budapest!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Unbeatible customer service, great premises in a quiet centric neighbourhood close to a street plenty of restaurants and places to have a drink.
The hotel is a refurnished XIX century palace and rooms are spacious and well decorated in modern style. Breakfast is quite good and you can take advantage of a free tea coffee and mineral water with snacks til 5:00 PM at the lobby. Access to the gym and sauna is included and Wifi is free of charge covering the whole building.

I must in Budapest and great price for value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear „acmeES”,

First and foremost let me thank you for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.
I was delighted to see whilst reading your generous review, that our staff provided you with an excellent service. I am also glad that you could take advantage of our complimentary services, like the buffet breakfast and the lounge bar.
I would like to thank you again for your compliments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us directly should your plans bring you back to Budapest!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights at this fantastic hotel. We were totally impressed with the customer service even before we arrived. It was our 30th Wedding Anniversary during our stay and I had emailed the hotel a handful of times before our arrival with various questions and requests. The responses were not only immediate, they were also very detailed and even made additional suggestions which we were able to enjoy during our trip. From the reception and kitchen staff through to house keeping, the service we received at this hotel was outstanding and they obviously took great pride in the hotel and its reputation. The hotel is also in a great location, an easy 6 minute walk to the Metro and another 10 minutes to the Danube. We used the hop on hop off bus during our stay as they were offering an extra day free and it also included boats transfers on the Danube and an evening cruise. Things not to miss, The Castle District, Ruszwurm - the Oldest Coffee House in Budapest (amazing cakes) , Grand Market (great food), Evening boat trip down the Danude and The Széchenyi Thermal Baths and if you are lucky enough to be there during Easter they had a fabulous 45 day Food and Craft Market in the city centre.
Thankyou once again to everyone at the Palazzo Zichy for the lovely bowl of fruit and card in our room, we had a lovely time in Budapest and wouldn't hesitate to visit the Palazzo Zichy again and recomend it to all our friends :)

Room Tip: There is only one room with a balcony but all rooms in the hotel are of excellent quality and huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear „Linda095”,

Thank you very much for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy on your wedding anniversary, your praising words are highly appreciated. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your city break with us and from the guestrooms to the breakfast, our facilities and the services provided by our staff met, or even exceeded your expectations. Let me also thank you for your valuable advices regarding activities and places to visit in Budapest. It was our pleasure to be at your assistance prior to your arrival and during your stay with us and we truly hope that we will meet you again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#4 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, @-room with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.