We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to ideal but not quite there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Bromley, Kent.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Close to ideal but not quite there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lovely modern hotel located in a beautiful old building. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful (as were the breakfast and bar staff). Room and bathroom was very nice (5th floor overlooking the square and church). The bar area is soulless but at least the seats were comfortable. The breakfast was good and as is described other reviews.
One negative point – there was plenty of noise from the adjacent room, and it wasn’t as if our neighbours were being overly loud. I am aware that this may not be an issue with every room/floor, but it is perhaps best to pack some ear-plugs if you are light sleeper.
The immediate locale is fine and felt safe. Not many other hotels in the area so no crowds of tourists or joints designed to rip them off. There are a few bars and restaurants very nearby and we found these to be cheaper than others in more touristy areas. Public transport is only a minute or so away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear „ADifferentStation”,

Let me thank you for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for your valuable time taken to share your experiences with the travelling community.
I was glad to learn from your TripAdvisor-comment, that you had been pleased with our breakfast service, with the guestroom and with the service provided by our staff. Your positive opinion about our location is also highly appreciated.
However, I was sorry to read that the sound-proofing of the rooms did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience the noise from other rooms might have caused to you.
I truly hope that in spite of your mixed experience we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we could do for you.

With kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,066
    385
    56
    6
    2
See reviews for
234
1440
92
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for a city-break in Budapest in February 2013, and would definitely stay here again. Very central, yet nice and quiet. They've put a lot of work into making such a lovely old building feel modern. The rooms are very stylishly decorated, and are nice and big. Top marks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear “Kolinovic”,

Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I was delighted to read that the design and the location of our hotel met or even exceeded your expectations.
Thank you very much for your patronage and I sincerely hope to meet you in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy in the future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Travelled to Budapest with my girlfriend for 4 nights late Feb 2013. The hotel arranged a car from and back to the airport at a reasonable price (£50 approx round trip) which was a pleasant and reassuring way to arrive into an unfamiliar (to us) city. The hotel is situated in a central location in Pest with all attractions etc. within easy access. Not expensive – around £35 PPPN B&B. The hotel itself is an old building that has received a modern makeover executed to high standards that would be acceptable in any city around the world. It has a more business than touristy flavour and that suits us when staying in an urban area. All the staff were extremely friendly, helpful, attentive and even informative – the barman on the first night (who mixed us some great cocktails!) gave us advice on visiting the Szechenyi Baths and Spa which is an absolute must!, Szimpla Kert bar/nightclub and the House of Terror museum. Housekeeping was of the highest order as was the service in general. As mentioned we were B&B and we can only say good things about the breakfast – buffet style with tons of choice both hot and cold in a large, bright and airy dining area. The only slight downside (and it really isn’t a problem) is there was only a sauna and fitness room – no swimming facilities, but this isn’t a criticism, however, it would be a bonus. All in all would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly and thank you to them.

Room Tip: As for an upgrade we did and it worked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear „RoyalWater”,

Herewith I would like to thank you for your kind feedback posted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel and for recommending us to the travelling community. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us, and our hotel and the service provided by our staff, especially by our barman lived up to your expectations.
The entire staff of the Hotel Palazzo Zichy is pleased to be at your disposal when staying with us next time! Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can do anything for you!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from 4 amazing nights staying at the Palazzo Zichy and loved it! The service was second to none from everyone we came across. I wrote various emails prior to our visit and these were swiftly replied to with very helpful, polite and individual answers, Zsofia was particularly helpful and charming and did all she could to make our stay even more special.

We were in room 511 which was towards the top of the Hotel and overlooked the little square and church, it was the perfect size for us. A large double bed and enough storage, we found the bed very comfortable and had no problem with the pillows (although one was more than enough!). The bathroom was lovely, very modern and a wonderful shower with plenty of hot water. Nice toiletries and, at my request, bathrobes were available for us.

As others have mentioned in previous reviews, the free coffee and water available until 5pm in the bar area was a lovely touch, so nice to relax in the comfy chairs with a nice hot drink after a long day walking beautiful Budapest. We had a drink at the bar one evening at the barman was friendly and chatty, the drinks were a reasonable price for a hotel bar. Reception staff were always happy to help with any questions including excellent recommendations on places to eat.

Breakfast was delicious, we had no problem finding a table at whatever time we went down. A large selection of hot and cold food, juices, cereals and bread, more than enough to set us up for the day.

It was a 5 minute pleasant walk to the nearest Metro and then a further 8/10 minutes to reach the Danube, we didn't bother taking any public transport during our trip and were happy to walk everywhere and it was lovely that the Hotel is set in a residential quiet area and yet has restaurants and bars close by.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and should we ever return to Budapest we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 511 was a lovely room - facing the square/church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear „AstridCB”,

Thank you very much for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for your praising words. I was more than happy to see that the entire staff of our hotel could be at your assistance to make your stay more pleasant with us, even prior to your arrival.
Let me thank you for your all-embracing positive comment and for recommending us to the travelling community. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your plans bring you back to our beautiful capital!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The location was perfect for walking around the city centre. Located in a historical but quite square, the hotel was chic, clean and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were slightly small but very well designed. I was fortunate enough to have a room overlooking the square and the rooftops. The bathroom was very luxurious with a wet room shower and plenty of space to get ready for the night life. Breakfast was great and catered for most types of diets but I don't think any of the meat was Halal. located in the basement, the restaurant served hot and cold food, fruit, deli meats, pastries, muesli, etc. The main lounge area has a bar and free teas and coffees, as well as several computers that were handing for planning where to go and researching the city. the staff were friendly and so helpful, it really made my stay there easy and comfortable. I would definitely go back there as its only 8-10 minute walk to the main city centre so perfect city base.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear „Nefri75”,

First and foremost let me thank you for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for your kind words and compliments. Your praising feedback concerning our rooms, the location, our breakfast choice and our staff is highly appreciated. We are looking forward to hosting you again in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews and position in TripAdvisor.....It exceeded my expectations in all respects...............the the staff are fantastic...I did not have dinner there but the breakfast is a treat, a feast in fact, with huge choice....complimentary tea & coffee all day in the lobby......great sauna......small but well equipped gym, spacious, quiet and comfortable bedrooms......quality wifi........

All staff that I met were nicer than each other, however I would especially like to mention Karolina the receptionist who solved so many issues for me on the day that I checked out.

The only annoyance in my opinion was the traffic noise in Bamboo relaxation suite......

I'm going to make this hotel a regular stop over point

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room.......I was given a room overlooking the inner quadrangle and apartments to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear „DON1957Ireland”,

I am glad to read that you have been happy with your hotel choice after reading the reviews about our Hotel Palazzo Zichy on TripAdvisor.
Your kind words regarding our hotel, facilities and especially our staff are highly appreciated. It was our pleasure to serve you and make your stay more pleasant. I hope to meet you again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can do anything for you!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very nice hotel, looks brand new. Very modern a contrast to the city. We stayed there 3 nights at the beginning of march. Our room was very nice , you can walk to the center of the city about 20 minutes.The breakfast is good, the breakfast room is very nice and the staff there is fantastic as is the staff at the reception specialy Rita . I would have given this hotel 5 stars but for 2 nights out of 3 we hearded noise coming from the room above us, I think it was a women walking on the wood floor with high heels until way past midnight .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear „thebeach2004”,

First of all let me thank you for choosing our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for your city break in Budapest. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and my colleagues, especially Rita provided you with an excellent service. I was also happy to see that you could enjoy our breakfast service and you could discover the main sights on foot.
However, I regret to learn from your kind comment that we could not live up to your expectations in one aspect – thank you for your valuable feedback regarding the sound-proofig of the rooms and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience the noise might have caused to you.
I truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you in the not so distant future again!
Please feel free to contact me directly, should your travel plans bring you back to Budapest.

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, @-room with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.