We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 330 hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the very best I have stayed in, I can't find any faults with it. The service is excellent, the staff go out of their way to be helpful & friendly. There are lots of thoughtful touches you don't often get with other hotels- free coffee, bottles of water fresh fruits & nuts in the bar & things like travel adapters and metro tickets available at reception. The rooms are boutique style and really comfortable, the air conditioning is virtually silent, the showers are really good. The breakfast choice is great and even better now than my last stay- as well as eggs, sausage, bacon, yoghurt, vegetables and baked goods it now also includes fresh fruits, cheeses & smoked salmon. I cant recommend it highly enough. I would also recommend visiting the Szechenyi Baths if you're in Budapest- its great!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,147
    406
    57
    6
    2
See reviews for
260
1562
101
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in February. I can honestly say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in for all round service and value. All the staff from the reception to the room cleaners were friendly, helpful and professional and never failed to have a smile. Situated in an old Palace the interior has been tastefully and stylishly modernised to an extremely high standard. The rooms are bright and modern with minibar, flat screen cable TV and sumptuous walk-in shower with huge and powerful dustbin lid shower head. Until 5pm the bar area becomes a guest lounge with free coffee and tea, bottles of still or sparkling mineral water and peanuts and nibbles which can be enjoyed in comfortable armchairs with free international newspapers provided. Breakfast is a revelation and is undoubtedly the best hotel buffet breakfast we have enjoyed in our extensive travels. The choice is overwhelming and everything is freshly prepared and replenished immediately. At around £60 a night this hotel is outstanding value and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A tasteful modern conversion in a Baroque shell. The rooms were quiet, comfortable if you like firm beds, and excellently equipped. A particularly good breakfast, buffet, with a vast choice, and the cooked stuff and fruit constantly renewed. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. It was especially nice to have somewhere comfortable to sit, with hot and cold drinks, before a late-ish flight. Very strongly reommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My stay at Palazzo Zichy was excellent, nothing to complain about. The area is peaceful and quiet, close to downtown and the metro station. The hotel is very elegant, rooms are clean and cosy. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of products, lots of fruits, cold appetizers, hot dishes and delicious fresh grapefruit juice. People working at the hotel were friendly and helpful, staff exceeded all expectations! Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a 5* hotel banded as 4* as it doesnt have a restaurant.We were upgraded as it was my birthday and there was a welcome card and fruit in our stunning room.Very large room with an enormous bed.Beautiful bathroom with lovely toiletries.The staff are so frindly and helpful.The breakfasts to die for.The atmoshere is relaxed as are all the staff.They have transformed an old noblemans palace into a stylish hotel retaining the history.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor room 520...large room and enormous bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights from 29th January and had a wonderful time.
I chose the hotel due to it's top rating on Tripadvisor and the hotel and it's staff exceeded all expectations.
We transferred from the Airport using a shuttle service, being met in the arrivals hall and then transferring to the hotel for 18 Euros for a private transfer.
At the hotel we received a warm welcome and stayed in room 111 which overlooked a small square to the front of the hotel.
We took advantage of the complimentary free tea/coffee and water until 5p.m. in the bar area and then went out.
We bought a hop on hop off bus ticket from the reception staff which cost 5000 HUF and gave you 2 days bus travel and a free 1hour Danube river cruise.
On the second day we went to Szechenyi Thermal Spa by bus, getting off at stop number 6 on Heroes Square.
On day of checkout the staff will store your suitcases free of charge.
We ate one night at an Italian Restaurant not far from the hotel called Trattoria Venezia, where they do fantastic pizzas.
On the second night we went to a little restaurant called Darsham Etterem, which is a few yards from the hotel and had a very nice meal. Overall we found that Budapest offers very good value for money when eating out.
Opposite the hotel is a small cellar bar/pub called Kamra Klub, where we went and this place is very friendly and the drinks are ridiculously cheap, paying £1.00 for a pint of Tuborg and the same for a large glass of wine !
The hotel has a wellness Centre downstairs and a small gym. We used the Sauna which was very good and not at all busy.
The breakfast as has already been said was excellent with a super choice of cereals, hot cooked items, pastries, breads etc.
We have stayed in many 4* hotels in the UK and abroad and this is amongst the nicest, cleanest and friendliest we have visited. The hotel building itself has been restored to a very high standard and is immaculately kept. The outstanding staff helped make this a very enjoyable stay. We would not hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This place was beautiful from top to bottom! It's in a quiet area of town, but close to anything and everything.
The breakfast was delightful - lots of fruit, pastries, cold cuts and juices.
The best part was the hotel staff. They were absolutely perfect!!!! Very friendly and helpful.
Only problem was that the rooms weren't soundproofed, so we were woken up early every morning by the cleaning ladies - don't let this deter for you from staying here though. Just a minor detail.
Great value for your money; would definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#4 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, @-room with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.