We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, enjoyable and well priced.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very clean, enjoyable and well priced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights in Novemeber and would highly recommend this hotel. Very clean, great breakfast and the staff were very helpfull. We have friends that are staying here due to how highly we recommended it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,366
    452
    57
    6
    2
See reviews for
291
1,703
110
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stumbled across this hotel whilst looking for flights to Budapest and managed to get a deal. I can't express how much of a joy it was when we turned up on a very cold evening in December!

It's a modern boutique hotel located in a 19th Century building and I can only describe it as stunning! It's in a good location about a 10 minute walk to local transport or a 15-20 minute walk into central Budapest. The staff were very helpful especially when I realised the adaptor I'd taken to charge my phone was the wrong one and they had some spare available for loan! they were also just as helpful when asking for information, booking our bus/boat ticket (which by the way is cheaper at the hotel than if you try and buy if from the street) and especially when booking our return taxi to the airport.

Hot and cold selections at breakfast - of course it's predominantly European (chorizo style sausages, salami and cheeses) but then what do you expect? It's in Europe! There was always lots of choice though along with fresh tea, coffee and juice. Delicious and hearty it definitely set me up for a day of sightseeing.

The room was my personal highlight. It's not massive granted, but it was stylish, spotlessly clean with a really comfortable bed and rain shower. Bliss :-)

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel. Lovely rooms, great service and superb breakfast buffet. We have travelled to many countries and many 4/5 star hotels and still this is one of the best. It worked out to be about £12 each for us which is a total bargain. Don't think we could get this anywhere else!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three days, rooms are clean, spacious and modern. Breakfast is comprehensive and has everything you would want. Can be difficult to find as everyone I gave the address to found it difficult by car but with the trams and metro it is very easy. Staff very helpful and always willing to show you how to get to to places, especially places outside of Budapest. I have spent a lot of time in Budapest and this is the best place I have stayed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and loved it. The rooms and staff were 1st class and the breakfast buffet was amazing. The bar is lovely and relaxed with the free drinks pre 5pm being a lovely touch. Free internet area meant we could easily print our return boarding passes too. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. I chose it because of its wonderful TripAdvisor reviews, which I completely agree with. One of the things I really like about the hotel is its location in a very pleasant residential neighborhood. It was easy to walk to subway stations, tram stations, the Great Market Hall, and the river. The neighborhood had churches, little stores, and restaurants and bars with outdoor seating. If I lived in Budapest, I think I'd want to live in that neighborhood.

Our room was nicely furnished with everything we needed. The breakfast was incredible - there were so many different foods to eat, lots of fresh fruit, interesting breads and cheeses, and more. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and so was the bartender who made my daughter a great grilled cheese sandwich one night when we returned to the hotel late.

We booked a special package that included the hotel room, a city tour, and a dinner at the Museum Restaurant. The dinner was wonderful, but we didn't enjoy the city tour and would have been better off sightseeing on our own.

We did not have enough time in this great city and hope to return one day. If we do, we will definitely return to the Hotel Palazzo Zichy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? I don't know why this hotel gets such good reviews. My boyfriend and I checked in to this hotel and the guy checking us in was plain and simple just not interested, we had to ask for a map and for him to point out attractions on the map! The lady upon check out was helpful though with organising a taxi to the train station, too bad she wasn't there to check us in as well.

Don't get me started on the rooms. The rooms have fake wooden floors which just sound horrible underfoot when walking with shoes on and the room insulation is horrendous, you could hear the next rooms conversations as well as their bathroom activities, the walls are paper thin. There was one instance where we could clearly hear the person in the next room cough like they were in our bathroom! Made me anxious for when I needed to use our bathroom!

Don't bother eating at the restaurant called Stex, highly disappointing food! Try a place called Trofea Grill for a wonderful all you can eat buffet including drinks (alcohol included).

I will not be recommending this hotel to my family so I wont recommend it on here either.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear "Filfromoz",

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Budapest.
I do regret that we did not meet your expectations in certain aspects and you left our hotel with such a negative impression.

We are always aim to provide the highest standards in our services and facilities in order to maintain high customer satisfaction.

As the head of the Front Office department, I am truly surprised that you were not satisfied with the level of service provided during the check-in, as we usually get full score regarding our staff.

Please rest assured that I take your comment seriously and will investigate the situation.
As I don't know all the circumstances of your dissatisfaction, I would be happy to discuss it with you via email (ibogyo@hpz.hu).
Your cooperation would be highly appreciated, and would help us to improve our standards in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.

Thank you,
Istvan Bogyo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, @-room with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.