We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel - would highly recommend it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great hotel - would highly recommend it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and loved it. The rooms and staff were 1st class and the breakfast buffet was amazing. The bar is lovely and relaxed with the free drinks pre 5pm being a lovely touch. Free internet area meant we could easily print our return boarding passes too. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,744
    520
    59
    6
    2
See reviews for
338
1,991
118
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. I chose it because of its wonderful TripAdvisor reviews, which I completely agree with. One of the things I really like about the hotel is its location in a very pleasant residential neighborhood. It was easy to walk to subway stations, tram stations, the Great Market Hall, and the river. The neighborhood had churches, little stores, and restaurants and bars with outdoor seating. If I lived in Budapest, I think I'd want to live in that neighborhood.

Our room was nicely furnished with everything we needed. The breakfast was incredible - there were so many different foods to eat, lots of fresh fruit, interesting breads and cheeses, and more. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and so was the bartender who made my daughter a great grilled cheese sandwich one night when we returned to the hotel late.

We booked a special package that included the hotel room, a city tour, and a dinner at the Museum Restaurant. The dinner was wonderful, but we didn't enjoy the city tour and would have been better off sightseeing on our own.

We did not have enough time in this great city and hope to return one day. If we do, we will definitely return to the Hotel Palazzo Zichy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? I don't know why this hotel gets such good reviews. My boyfriend and I checked in to this hotel and the guy checking us in was plain and simple just not interested, we had to ask for a map and for him to point out attractions on the map! The lady upon check out was helpful though with organising a taxi to the train station, too bad she wasn't there to check us in as well.

Don't get me started on the rooms. The rooms have fake wooden floors which just sound horrible underfoot when walking with shoes on and the room insulation is horrendous, you could hear the next rooms conversations as well as their bathroom activities, the walls are paper thin. There was one instance where we could clearly hear the person in the next room cough like they were in our bathroom! Made me anxious for when I needed to use our bathroom!

Don't bother eating at the restaurant called Stex, highly disappointing food! Try a place called Trofea Grill for a wonderful all you can eat buffet including drinks (alcohol included).

I will not be recommending this hotel to my family so I wont recommend it on here either.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear "Filfromoz",

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Budapest.
I do regret that we did not meet your expectations in certain aspects and you left our hotel with such a negative impression.

We are always aim to provide the highest standards in our services and facilities in order to maintain high customer satisfaction.

As the head of the Front Office department, I am truly surprised that you were not satisfied with the level of service provided during the check-in, as we usually get full score regarding our staff.

Please rest assured that I take your comment seriously and will investigate the situation.
As I don't know all the circumstances of your dissatisfaction, I would be happy to discuss it with you via email (ibogyo@hpz.hu).
Your cooperation would be highly appreciated, and would help us to improve our standards in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.

Thank you,
Istvan Bogyo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in (not that I profess to having stayed in many!), this sleek, contemporary hotel was just the ticket for our recent stay in Budapest.

It's not especially central, but don't let that put you off as Budapest isn't huge so it's still very accessible. Rooms were decent size, and very plush, which is exactly what we were looking for after running around like headless tourists all day.The breakfast offers a wide choice, and the bar area serves a mean Mojito if you're looking to kill some time of an evening.

One slight issue in that the bathroom doors don't provide entire privacy from the bedroom, which makes discretion for certain acts difficult... If you get my meaning!

One lovely touch: We left our luggage at the front desk after checking out to explore the city further, and I'd forgotten a pair of trousers in the wardrobe - the cleaning staff were gracious enough to run them down to front desk though, and they were there waiting for me when I came back to collect my luggage later that day.

Would definitely recommend for a couple on a city break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, and can say that the hotel is completely without fault.

We arrived on Friday a couple of hours early for check in, and were told we could go to our room immediately. The staff on reception couldn't do enough for us. The information they gave us on check in was perfect - breakfast times, free tea, coffee and mineral water throughout the day, access to the spa/sauna.

The hotel itself is a beautiful old building with a modern style. Comfortable and clean rooms and stylish decor.

The hotel staff really made our stay more enjoyable. They recommended and booked our day at the baths, including massage, and also assisted us with how to get there. They also were happy to make us a reservation at Spoon Restaurant for the Saturday evening, and book our taxi for the airport.

Breakfast was fantastic, fruit, cereal, pastries, cooked breakfast items, cold cuts, freshly squeezed juice, just perfect. Much better quality than the standard continental breakfast provided at some hotels.

Overall we were extremely impressed with our break in Budapest, I will definitely be returning and when I do I will definitely be staying at the Palazzo Zichy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. Hotel was spotless, staff were very pleasant and helpful. The bathroom was perfect great shower and well designed. Each time we returned to hotel staff always greeted us.We booked our trips through reception nothing was any bother. They organised our taxi to airport. Breakfast was unbelievable everything you could possibly want. Free tea, coffee,bottled water and snacks up to 5pm in bar area, in the evening they did brilliant cocktails at a very reasonable price. Everything about the hotel was of a very high standard. It was a pleasant 15minute walk into the centre. If I return to Budapest I will definitely stay in this hotel wouldn't consider anywhere else, don't think I could get any better value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Like most visitors, we decided to stay at Hotel Palazzo Zichy based on positive TripAdvisor reviews and to our delight the hotel delivered. You're immediately greeted by welcoming staff and a wonderful reception setting. Breakfast was awesome - high standard and lots to choose from. Free tea/coffee/water till 5pm was a great touch to our stay as we came back in for an hour to chill and plan our evening ahead. Free WiFi was great too - especially to help plan our trip on the go.

Hotel is exceptionally decorated and maintained throughout, including our room. I really wanted to give this review 5/excellent, but there's are few things that could be improved. 1. The room TV had one British channel - BBC news. 2. on a few mornings/evenings we were disturbed by cleaners/guests above - floors are hard.

We would stay here again despite these negatives, but others may not be as tolerant. Hotel is situated in a perfect location - we visited all major attractions on foot and loved it.

If you're visiting Budapest and looking for an affordable, stunning hotel that goes that little bit further, then Palazzo Zichy is a must!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,863 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.