We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost faultless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
belfast
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“almost faultless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

the excellent reviews are deserved and speak for themselves. small criticisms would be memory foam beds which i found too hard. rooms are not very soundproof - at all !
floors are laminate which make them a bit noisy especially in a non-soundproof setting.

breakfast was superb (and they dont seem to mind you nicking some for lunch....smoked salmon too!!)

quiet and pleasant area. easy to get to from the airport by public transport so why bother with a taxi. only £2-£3

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,361
    450
    57
    6
    2
See reviews for
289
1,701
110
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Dont get me wrong. This was one of the most nicest hotels I have ever stayed in and the staff were some of the nicest I have ever come across. My wife and I were in Budapest for our birthdays and upon arrival at midnight off our flight we were greeted with a big bowl of fruit and a birthday card! Nice touch.

Immediately you notice the decor of this hotel. Very modern/relaxed feel to it. Spotless and shiny too. Not a thing out of place.

Breakfast was out of this world. Some of the best fare I've had at a hotel! Eggs, bacon, chorizo, beans, yoghurt, fruit, various cereals, ham/cheese, croissants...i could go on. You wont leave hungry.

Room was a decent size with a view from floor 2 over the pretty church courtyard. Location wise it was perfect. Situated in a leafy suburb you had a street behind the hotel teamed with about 10-12 restaurants and bars. It was about a 15min walk to the Danube so it was very central.

Where it let me down was the lack of sleep. Every night i'd hear stalettos upstairs on the marble floor. This was very loud and kept me awake for a a while each night. Also the walls were so thin I could clearly hear the person next door snoring very loudly. For a 4 star boutique hotel I dont expect to hear a thing upstairs or next door. And for that reason this hotel gets 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard/church
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights from the 8/11 and was thoroughly impressed. The hotel definitely had the wow factor i was hoping for as it was a surprise romantic break. The hotel was clean, the staff were helpful and the room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. breakfast had plenty of variety and the restaurant area had a very fresh feel to it. The location suited us, short tram rides into the hustle and bustle but just far enough out for cheap food and drink. Would recommend nearby jazz restaurant cafe lado for a nice, sophisticated evening or the nearby 'ruin pub' or even the adjacent pub for a more urban night out. The views from the citadel beat castle hill and the walk is easily manageable. The castle and labyrinth are well worth a visit though. In essence, a lovely modern hotel to contrast from the historic charm of the city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a modern, stylish conversion of an old stately house in Pest. Our room was small but very comfortable and stylish with a well designed shower room. The shower (an overhead rain shower as well as a hand-held shower) was spacious and the water abundant. Our bed was a bit hard and the foam mattress tended to develop defined hollows where you lay so turning over was a bit of a climb out of the depression. We found the pillows hard, but that is personal taste and they tell us they are purchasing feather pillows so there will be a choice in future. The breakfast was an abundant buffet of cold cuts with a large selection of breads, fruit, jams and yogurt. Eggs, sausages and bacon were cooked and held on a warming steam server so, since they weren't freshly cooked we didn't try them.
The bar was a comfortable room off the reception with arm chairs and tables and served drinks and toasted ham and cheese sandwiches which were actually excellent and freshly made when ordered so provided the possibility of having a snack in the hotel whose restaurant only serves breakfast.
The hotel is within a couple of minutes walk from the nearest tram, which runs every few minutes and connects to the metro and other trams and buses directly. The public transport in Budapest is superb and very easy to use if you buy a one, two or three day pass. Don't try to rely on buying individual trip tickets as most of the vending machines seem to be out of order and the sellers in the ticket booths don't speak much, if any, English. Using the trams and Metro in a hop on hop off manner makes getting around Budapest a pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a brilliant hotel, in a great location with great bars and restaurants nearby. It's a short walk to the bridges and main tourist attractions. There is plenty to see nearby too. The hotel staff were relaxed and helpful, the breakfasts were amazing and varied, and the rooms and other areas really clean. The decor throughout is modern but still welcoming. We especially loved the lounge-style area with bottomless teas and coffees during the day, this really was something extra to look forward to after our crisp days out exploring! Great G&Ts in the evening with nibbles too! :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Reception staff were lovely and very helpful. Room was nicely decorated and clean, as was bathroom. Beds could be more comfortable and there was one small pillow each...( Hence my 4 for the room ) and breakfast could have been nicer.. (Hence the 4 overall).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel enough for price - location - service - the staff are brilliant - nothing is too much trouble.
I contacted the hotel several times before arriving asking information on where to eat, how to get to hotel etc. I always got a very promt courteous response. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear „Bassett17”,

I was extremely happy to read your praising words, let me thank you for your time taken to leave a comment on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us. It is our greatest goal to provide our guests with an excellent service, so I was glad to read your kind feedback on it.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, @-room with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.