We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 330 Hotels in Budapest
Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great hotel,liked a lot. Breakfast was good.Hotel was very clean and staff friendly.Good location.Our first in Hungary but certainly not the last one, beautiful city! I think hotel suits better for couples, maybe not the best choice to go with children. Just go and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear „suntours”,

First and foremost let me thank you for your valuable time taken to share your experiences with the travelling community.
I was happy to see that our hotel and the services provided by our staff met or even exceeded your expectations.
It would be our greatest pleasure to serving you again in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy, please do not hesitate to contact us should your travel plans bring you back to our capital city!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,407
    458
    58
    6
    2
See reviews for
296
1,736
112
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

When we return to this lovely city we will definitely choose this hotel again. 10mins walk from The Danube and The Central Market in a nice quiet residential area but with a few good local bars and restaurants on the doorstep too. Breakfast was excellent although it did get very busy between 9am and 10am at the weekend. Worth booking well ahead as we got a great price online.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear „LesBonViveurs”,

Herewith I would like to thank you for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I can not be grateful enough for your kind words and compliments on our location and our breakfast service. We highly appreciate your patronage and hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

In the middle of Budapest . a 20 minutes walk to the Chain bridge. Modern, Clean and a quiet location. Metro station is a 10 minute walk. Wifi is outstanding, breakfast OK. Price level is OK too, What could one wish more?
Next time when i travel Budapest i will book the Palazzo Zichy without any doubts.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on the 5th floor . Open the window and you saw the square below. Nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear „WILENLIN”,

I was sincerely happy to read your kind review about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy, first and foremost let me thank you for having chosen our hotel.
I am also delighted zo see that our Palazzo Zichy could live up to your expectations in all aspects.
Let me thank you for recommending us to the travelling community and we hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our room was very clean and modern. The element separating the bedroom from the bathroom is a glass wall which is nice, but not very sound proof...
The hotel is situated close to the city center and everything is in walking distance (we didn't use any means of transportation to visit the tourist attractions).
Staff was great and helpful and breakfast was amazing!!!We really enjoyed our stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear „maria_85_11”,

First and foremost let me thank you for having chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for your stay in Budapest. I am delighted to read that you considered the location of our hotel to be ideal for a city break. I am also glad that you had a great stay with us. Your generous review is highly appreciated and I do hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My expectations to this hotel were pretty much up the sky after reading all the great reviews here on TripAdvisor. But honestly, this hotel is on a totally different planet in terms of genuinely beautiful architecture, interior design (especially the mix of restored 'old' and new) and friendliness of the staff.
Starting with a warm, personal (!) welcome email within 24hrs after my reservation and with another nice email just a couple of days prior to our arrival in the hotel, we really felt welcome to this place.
The building itself is second to none - you will feel like a princess (prince) just by walking into this establishment. Guest relations managers at the reception welcomed us with a warm smile.
Our room (318) was nice and super clean. We slept so well and peacefully that we actually woke up too late the next day.
Breakfast was very nice too - great selection of food & drinks in a nicely appointed breakfast room.
Location of the hotel is perfect - in a quite district about 5 min walk from the metro station and there are some cool / cute restaurants, cafes along the way between the hotel and the metro station.
This is definitely a place where we would like to return, next time we are in Budapest again, and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear „Monika G”,

I can not be grateful enough for your kind words and compliments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I am sincerely happy that the design of our hotel and the high standard service as well as the service-minded attitude of our staff exceeded your expectations.
We are truly happy that you spent an enjoyable weekend with us and I hope to have opportunity to greeting you in person next time,

Best regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We travelled here late September after reading the reviews and knew we were in for a treat. We stayed in a room looking over the square and the Church. On our first evening we were treated to the sounds of a wonderful choir concert coming from the Church (I don't mean a normal Choir it was like something you would hear in St Pauls or the like!). The hotel is within easy walking distance of the main sights or if walking isn't your thing then close by to public transport links. The room was modern, comfortable and very good value but to be honest we were hardly in the room as the City has so much to see. The hotel staff were the best we have ever come across, nothing was too much trouble and they seemed genuinely happy to assist with everything. Breakfast was excellent with a great selection to suit everyone. All in all a fab hotel which will not disappoint. Have recommended this hotel to all our friends and family and will definitely stay again when we return to wonderful Budapest

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear „Julia T”,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your time taken to share your experiences with the travelling community about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I was happy to see that our entire staff provided an exceptional service throughout your stay. I was also delighted to read that you have been pleased with the location of the hotel.
Let me thank you again for your kind comment. We highly appreciate your patronage and hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Selected Hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and happy with the choice. Hotel is very modern and within easy walk to Central Markets for main city touring hub and only about 15mins by taxi to cruise piers and main train station.

Staff were very helpful and friendly and arranged Hotel transfer to train station for set charge through room which is convenient when not wanting to be caught with local currency at end of the trip.

We were on mezzanine floor so could hear a bit of street noise on Friday night but not enough to inconvenience us for our rest before an early morning departure. Reception provided us with a take-away breakfast pack as our departure was prior to restaurant opening which was a nice touch. All in all a great value stay in a fascinating city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear „Savken”,

Let me thank you for your kind comment on your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I was delighted to see that you spent pleasant days with us and our location and services could live up to your expectations.
I was especially pleased to read that my colleagues could be at your assistance with taxi arrangements as well as with a take-away breakfast box.
I would like to thank you again for your kind words and hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, @-room with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.