We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Zichy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 332 hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We travelled here late September after reading the reviews and knew we were in for a treat. We stayed in a room looking over the square and the Church. On our first evening we were treated to the sounds of a wonderful choir concert coming from the Church (I don't mean a normal Choir it was like something you would hear in St Pauls or the like!). The hotel is within easy walking distance of the main sights or if walking isn't your thing then close by to public transport links. The room was modern, comfortable and very good value but to be honest we were hardly in the room as the City has so much to see. The hotel staff were the best we have ever come across, nothing was too much trouble and they seemed genuinely happy to assist with everything. Breakfast was excellent with a great selection to suit everyone. All in all a fab hotel which will not disappoint. Have recommended this hotel to all our friends and family and will definitely stay again when we return to wonderful Budapest

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear „Julia T”,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your time taken to share your experiences with the travelling community about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I was happy to see that our entire staff provided an exceptional service throughout your stay. I was also delighted to read that you have been pleased with the location of the hotel.
Let me thank you again for your kind comment. We highly appreciate your patronage and hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,184
    411
    58
    6
    2
See reviews for
251
1524
98
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Selected Hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and happy with the choice. Hotel is very modern and within easy walk to Central Markets for main city touring hub and only about 15mins by taxi to cruise piers and main train station.

Staff were very helpful and friendly and arranged Hotel transfer to train station for set charge through room which is convenient when not wanting to be caught with local currency at end of the trip.

We were on mezzanine floor so could hear a bit of street noise on Friday night but not enough to inconvenience us for our rest before an early morning departure. Reception provided us with a take-away breakfast pack as our departure was prior to restaurant opening which was a nice touch. All in all a great value stay in a fascinating city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear „Savken”,

Let me thank you for your kind comment on your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I was delighted to see that you spent pleasant days with us and our location and services could live up to your expectations.
I was especially pleased to read that my colleagues could be at your assistance with taxi arrangements as well as with a take-away breakfast box.
I would like to thank you again for your kind words and hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lovely location and some fab cheap real "local" bars near by. I cannot recommend this hotel enough for price - location - service - the staff are brilliant - nothing is too much trouble but not stuck up like you can get in some 4 star hotels. I would stay here if I went back to Budapest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear „JudeNewtownPowys”,

First and foremost let me thank you for having chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for your recent stay in Budapest.
Your praising words are highly appreciated, I am glad that you found our hotel to be a great place to stay at and to discover our beautiful city.
Let me thank you for your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavendish, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed three nights in this up scale modern hotel and we thank TripAdvisor for the reviews. We were very impressed and happy. the room is great and has all the amenities one needs. Very clean and the WiFi worked really well. The breakfast was among the best we have seen. It is within walking distance to Raday utca, a great street for local restaurants with great food at much lower costs than on the tourist strips. The staff is beyond friendly and helpful and the lounge is cosy and welcoming all day long. Very pleased!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear „llowtherpei”,

I am so glad that you chose our Hotel Palazzo Zichy thanks to the opinion of the travelling community and you left our hotel happy. It is the greatest pleasure for us to see that we succeed to deliver the same high standard services all the time, which is our continuous goal indeed.
I can not be grateful enough for your compliments on our location, the quality of our internet service and the service provided by our staff.
Let me thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Siamo stati a Budapest soggiornando in quest'albergo che abbiamo scoperto grazie a Trip Advisor. Beh cortesia del personale, pulizia delle camere, camere spaziose e moderne cosi come il bagno, colazione internazionale eccellente, che dire non potete sbagliare. Situato a 5 minuti dalla metro blu, ma volendo si puo prendere anche un bus per arrivare alla fermata della metro. Se cercate sui più famosi siti, potrete prenotare usufruendo di ottime tariffe.
We were in Budapest and we have sleep in this hotel thanks to Trip Advisor. Kindly staff, clean modern room quite big, bathroom too very clean and modern. International breakfast very goood, I will raccomanded to everybody. The hotel is quite close (5 minutes by walk) to the underground (blu line), but you can also get the public bus that will bring you in fron of the underground. If you check on main web sites, you can book the hotel paying good tarif.
Bye

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear „AlexTraveller72”,

Thank you very much for your valuable time taken to share your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. Your kind words and advices are highly appreciated and I am sure these are very helpful for our future guests.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us; it was our pleasure to serve you.
Should your travel plans bring you back to Budapest, do not hesitate to contact us directly, we are always pleased to stay at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a newly re vamped hotel in a lovely old building. It is beautifully and tastefully done in a contemporary style. The rooms are a bit small but this is the general deal in Europe unless you are going for a super luxury hotel. Bathroom is up to date and very modern. The rooms have a big flat TV on which you get all major TV stations from Europe the UK and some from the USA. And, the hotel is immaculately clean.
It is situated in a quite area not too far from the River and main shopping area and attractions and can be easily walked within 10 minutes. It is a city that one can walk around in as it is quite flat and there is ample public transport.
The buffet breakfast which is included in the daily rate is superb and there is complimentary afternoon tea and coffee available in the lounge up till cocktail hour.
The staff are very helpful and so polite, speak excellent English and prior to our arrival I even received an e-mail letting me know that they could arrange a taxi to meet the flight and which could be charged to the hotel. This was wonderful as it was quite late at night and took the burden off my shoulders as to how to get there.
The rates were very reasonable and I would certainly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear „entucasa”,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.
I was glad to read that you had a pleasant stay and you liked the design of the building and of our guestrooms. I was also pleased to see that you could take advantage of our complimentary services and our staff provided you with an excellent service throughout your stay.
We highly appreciate your patronage and hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A lovely, quiet, luxurious hotel. Breakfast was excellent and the service and bar were first class. An excellent room with a bathroom as good as I have at home (and that's palatial)
Only criticisms were that when we bought a bus excursion ticket we were not supplied with a map of the stops, and there was no restaurant so we had to eat out every night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear „elwood53”,

Thank you very much for your time to leave a comment to the TripAdvisor travellers about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.
We highly appreciate your balanced review and your compliments regarding our staff and the services provided.
I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our Hotel Palazzo Zichy in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can do for you!

With kind regards,

Judit Rozsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#3 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, @-room with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Zichy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.