We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castle Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Castle Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Castle Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the reception staff to the breakfast waiter who offered to cook whatever we wanted when we arrived down late on our first morning we were delighted with how friendly and helpful all the staff were. The hotel was spotless, bright and modern and our room was large and comfortable with a fantastic huge shower. Only minor "complaint" would be that our room was so warm but opening the window soon sorted this. The food in the adjoining restaurant was delicious with local and international dishes on offer(the veal stew with the cottage cheese deserves a special mention) and we ate there on 3 of our 4 nights it was so good. The hotel is ideally placed for the Castle area and we felt we really struck lucky with this wee gem of a hotel. We really enjoyed our first visit to beautiful Budapest and the Hotel Castle Garden and will be sure to recommend both in the future

Room Tip: Room 412 also has a wee ante- room with a single bed-plenty of room for parties of 3 without a silly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Cara08,
thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is so delightful to read how our friendly and helpful staff ensured that you had a pleasant time, I will definitely pass your kind compliments on our breakfast waiter. It is also great to know that you found the room facilities satisfying and that you enjoyed your dinners in the Riso. We truly hope that you will return to visit our Hotel Castle Garden in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    149
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
57
230
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we checked in straight away with no problems, the hotel is only a 10minutes walk uphill from the Metro.
The hotel was very homely, well kept and clean.
The room had a minibar at decent price, two single beds pushed together for a double, a bath and shower.
The tv had few English channels, the bar was also reasonably priced.
We used the spa facilites which is £5pp, the jacuzzi and sauna both worth the money if you want to relax after a long day walking.
The location for the castle etc is amazing, only 5 minute walk, there you get lovely views of Pest.
Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Hannahm2013,

many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you titled us as an excellent hotel. Regarding your positive comments it sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and you feel you received good service at reasonable price. Thank you for choosing us and we truly hope you will return to our Hotel Castle Garden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a lovely small hotel that provides everything you need at a very reasonable price. You get good value for money and the staff are all very caring. Let them advise you on bookings and taxis. The restaurant at the hotel is as good as any in the area. Here you will find some of the locals stopping by for a meal, which I always find is a positive sign.

The rooms are not large but they are comfortable. The bathrooms are neat and clean.

There is a bus stop right near the hotel entrance and the Metro is about ten minutes walk.

We had a wonderful stay and would recommend it to our friends

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet area but our room faced uphill which would seem to be quieter than the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear MikeMouse2910,

thank you for sharing your lovely feedback following your stay with us in Budapest. Already your title makes us feel that you had a great experience at our hotel. It is true we are so lucky with our location, we are very proud of being a gem of the historical Buda. Our team takes huge efforts in ensuring that our guests feel welcome and comfortable and it is always so nice to be recognised of it. It was also a joy to read that you were satisfied with the quality of the room and that you feel you got good value for money. I truly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Have just stayed 5 nights as a last minute break with my friend. The hotel is perfectly located in historical surroundings but the metro and tram station is a 5 minute walk away making it really easy to get into the city centre with the tram running all night making it easy to get back after nights visiting the enchanting ruin pubs in pest. The staff have been helpful and the food in the restaurant is lovely (you get 15% off if you are a resident). Wouldn't hesitate booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear leannedrew,
thank you for your positive notes left on Tripadvisor from your recent stay with us. As we are very proud of our location, it is always so nice to read such complimentary comments about it. I am also glad that you found our staff helpful and that you were pleased with the food in the Riso. We would be very happy to welcome you back to the Castle Garden on your next visit in Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

From check-in till departure, we experienced the up-most in care and professionalism. I travelled with a large group of friends, staying in spacious and well presented twin rooms for the weekend. A speedy check-in meant that we got into the city in no time and in the end, saw more in three days than most would do in a week; sleeping 10 hours over two nights but feeling fresh as a daisy.

The receptionists (all 3 of you!) were simply excellent, whether it meant assisting one of my injured friends or helping me out last minute in printing out a boarding pass. We were allocated 4 rooms on the ground floor. Even though the view was slightly limited, each room was presentable and as the proverb goes, "does exactly what it says on the tin"! Not being on the upper floors was not a problem at all because our rooms were next door to each other which created a great party atmosphere in our corridor. Budapest is a beautiful city with beautiful people and Castle Garden is the catalyst which lets one capture it all :-)
Best Wishes and See you Soon!
Tarik S

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Tarik,
thank you for sharing your wonderful comments following your recent stay at the Castle Garden. It was delightful to read that you and your friends had such a fantastic time with us and specially that you felt looked after from the moment you checked-in to the hotel. It is a real pleasure that we were able to contribute to your memorable stay in Budapest. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you all back in the near future. Congratulations on your wedding , we wish you all the best for the future! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. I appreciated the location right a few steps from the entrance to the castle district. We came by car and saved 10 EUR leaving the car on the public parking place in front of the hotel (free after 6 pm on Friday and the whole weekend). The staff is just lovely. The girls at the reception give you all the necessary information right at the check-in and recommend you what you shouldn´t miss in the city. Thumb up for the bartender who managed the breakfasts. We asked for white hungarian bread which was not at the buffet and he was so nice and brought us their own white bread. The room was clean and well equipped (free tea). The only dissapointment was when we were disturbed by traffic during the night (cars passing by in front of the window). Anyway I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room viewing the same side as the main entrance, it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear EvitaPrague,

first and foremost I would like to thank you for leaving your positive comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Hotel Castle Garden. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our location, rooms and facilities and that our staff provided an exceptional service through being there for all of your needs . It is great to know that in spite of the noise caused by traffic during the night you would recommend us. We would be very happy to welcome you back for a longer visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went on a business trip to Budapest and stayed at Caste garden, which was 10 minutes away from the office.
I got a room with two very small single beds, on the ground floor and quite noisy. I would have preferred a room with a double bed, or even to be able to put 2 beds together.
Moreover the weather was cold and the room was cold, and only one blanket.
Restaurant was good, nothing special though and no local food!
The staff was friendly but not very efficiently especially for check out, even if we asked them to prepare it when we went to breakfast, it was still not ready when we came to pay !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear MarieRomana,
thank you for sharing your experiences of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. It was concerning to hear about the problems you faced during your stay at the Hotel Castle Garden, please accept my apologies for them. If you had mentioned the issues with the bed and the temperature, we could have done something about them. Regarding the efficiency of our staff, the check-out time is the busiest period of our days and as you could see only one receptionist is on duty at a time so sometimes it happens that we can not be as fast as we would like to and I can assure you that non of us wanted to make you wait. In spite of the inconveniences I truly hope you will consider us next time you visit Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel
Address: Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Budapest
#23 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#38 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castle Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.