We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly enchanting stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castle Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castle Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Castle Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A truly enchanting stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

From check-in till departure, we experienced the up-most in care and professionalism. I travelled with a large group of friends, staying in spacious and well presented twin rooms for the weekend. A speedy check-in meant that we got into the city in no time and in the end, saw more in three days than most would do in a week; sleeping 10 hours over two nights but feeling fresh as a daisy.

The receptionists (all 3 of you!) were simply excellent, whether it meant assisting one of my injured friends or helping me out last minute in printing out a boarding pass. We were allocated 4 rooms on the ground floor. Even though the view was slightly limited, each room was presentable and as the proverb goes, "does exactly what it says on the tin"! Not being on the upper floors was not a problem at all because our rooms were next door to each other which created a great party atmosphere in our corridor. Budapest is a beautiful city with beautiful people and Castle Garden is the catalyst which lets one capture it all :-)
Best Wishes and See you Soon!
Tarik S

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Tarik,
thank you for sharing your wonderful comments following your recent stay at the Castle Garden. It was delightful to read that you and your friends had such a fantastic time with us and specially that you felt looked after from the moment you checked-in to the hotel. It is a real pleasure that we were able to contribute to your memorable stay in Budapest. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you all back in the near future. Congratulations on your wedding , we wish you all the best for the future! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    182
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
70
288
50
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. I appreciated the location right a few steps from the entrance to the castle district. We came by car and saved 10 EUR leaving the car on the public parking place in front of the hotel (free after 6 pm on Friday and the whole weekend). The staff is just lovely. The girls at the reception give you all the necessary information right at the check-in and recommend you what you shouldn´t miss in the city. Thumb up for the bartender who managed the breakfasts. We asked for white hungarian bread which was not at the buffet and he was so nice and brought us their own white bread. The room was clean and well equipped (free tea). The only dissapointment was when we were disturbed by traffic during the night (cars passing by in front of the window). Anyway I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room viewing the same side as the main entrance, it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear EvitaPrague,

first and foremost I would like to thank you for leaving your positive comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Hotel Castle Garden. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our location, rooms and facilities and that our staff provided an exceptional service through being there for all of your needs . It is great to know that in spite of the noise caused by traffic during the night you would recommend us. We would be very happy to welcome you back for a longer visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went on a business trip to Budapest and stayed at Caste garden, which was 10 minutes away from the office.
I got a room with two very small single beds, on the ground floor and quite noisy. I would have preferred a room with a double bed, or even to be able to put 2 beds together.
Moreover the weather was cold and the room was cold, and only one blanket.
Restaurant was good, nothing special though and no local food!
The staff was friendly but not very efficiently especially for check out, even if we asked them to prepare it when we went to breakfast, it was still not ready when we came to pay !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear MarieRomana,
thank you for sharing your experiences of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. It was concerning to hear about the problems you faced during your stay at the Hotel Castle Garden, please accept my apologies for them. If you had mentioned the issues with the bed and the temperature, we could have done something about them. Regarding the efficiency of our staff, the check-out time is the busiest period of our days and as you could see only one receptionist is on duty at a time so sometimes it happens that we can not be as fast as we would like to and I can assure you that non of us wanted to make you wait. In spite of the inconveniences I truly hope you will consider us next time you visit Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Castle Garden. The location is beautiful and close to the metro so it is easy to get around town and see everything. The hotel was very clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in Budapest!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Yasmin L,
many thanks for your feedback left on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Hotel Castle Garden. We were delighted to read your nice compliments about the hotel, the location and our staff as well. Thank you for recommendation, we hope that your positive descriptions will encourage others to visit us. If you are planning to visit Budapest again, please do not hesitate to contact us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you want a great place by the Castle District, this is where you should stay. I just spent 5 nights at Hotel Castle Garden and I have nothing but good things to say. Nice rooms, well kept, great breakfast (included in the room fee) and a quality restaurant. It's literally a one minute walk from the District. Best of all, they have an awesome staff who are kind, interesting people. They speak fine English and were fully prepared for all of my questions (I had a lot) and my extremely limited Hungarian language skills.

To hotel: Please tell Laura (Lora?) at reception that the flight home was pretty smooth and that I think she should visit America. It's especially nice in the spring, summer, fall or winter.

Thanks,
Mike

murrayinbox@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/mike.murray.56808995

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Mike,
thank you so much for taking the time and leave such a charming review of your stay at Hotel Castle Garden, it certainly sounds like you had a very enjoyable time with us. We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with all the features of the hotel. Thank you for your kind words about our team, it is always a great feeling to be recognised for our service. I will definitely pass on your message to Dóra (not Lora :)). We truly hope to see you soon in in our city again. As America, Budapest is also especially nice in each season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel was situated about 5-10 minutes walk from the main part of the old city. The rooms were spotlessly clean, very quiet and comfortable. we spent 4 nights here in snowy February. It was like being in a winter wonderland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear David hodky H,
thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at Hotel Castle Garden. Regarding your positive words, it is clear that you enjoyed your time in our winter wonderland. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Each season has its own wonder in our fairy city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I have just spent 2 nights here with my daughter. This hotel was ideal for us - great location close to the castle, friendly and helpful staff, immaculately clean and very comfortable. I chose this hotel partly because I saw that the management reads and responds to reviews, which is a sign that the establishment strives to be the best it can and listens to customers.
So for what they are worth here are 2 things which persuaded me to withhold the 5th star.

First, on arrival late and in the dark, we enquired at the desk for a recommendation for a good restaurant nearby. The receptionist gave us a leaflet for a place just 10 minutes walk away in the castle, the Kiraly. It was horrible: bad food, intrusive live music (who wants to be serenaded at their table? And then pestered to tip and to buy the CD). It was also, by a long way, the most expensive meal we had. Very poor value. It was not the best introduction to Hungary. I was amazed to discover the next night that your own restaurant had been open and we could have saved ourselves that bad experience. The Riso was wonderful - so why were we advised to go elsewhere??

My second minor complaint is that when we arrived back in our room in the late afternoon, having left it around 9.30 in the morning, the room had only been partially made up. The bin had been emptied and the teacups replaced, but the beds were unmade. Not a huge problem, but would have been irritating if we had stayed longer and it happened again.

Having said all that, I would definitely stay at the Castle Garden again. I have learned my lesson re dining and I am sure the housekeeping problem was a one off.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Let me to thank you for sharing your experience with the travelling community about your recent stay at the Hotel Castle Garden.
I must say, I was confused after reading your review. Our guests are always informed about our restaurant and its services at the check-in. Apparently in your case the receptionist left this information out. For the other girl it was obvious that you know about the Riso, this is the reason why she suggested the by a lot of guests liked (of course it is a matter of taste) Hungarian restaurant. Otherwise, it is great to know that you enjoyed your dinner at Riso the next evening.
Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences caused by our cleaning stuff, this is far from what we wish to provide to our guests. Many thanks for your feedback, I can assure you that we will use it to improve our service.
All in all I am glad, that besides this issues you were satisfied with our services and that you would stay here again. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your daughter back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Address: Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Budapest
#26 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castle Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.