We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Castle Garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castle Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Castle Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel Castle Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in the Castle Garden from 26/30-Jan-13. I am more than happy to recommend the hotel to anyone travelling to Budapest. Enough is said in other reviews about the location, the rooms, public transport etc and I would echo everything that they say. But it was the staff who were willing to go the extra mile when my wife and I decided to walk back from Pest (on our first night) but avoided going up to the castle. Trying to read a poor map at 2300 hrs under poor street lights is not the easiest thing to do. Cue a phone call to the receptionist on duty (Dora) whose English was faultless and the taxi found us 5 minutes later! We had a great time in a great city and that was in no small way due to the hotel.

The location is wonderful. You are about 300 m from the entrance to Castle Hill. From here you can see everything especially the awesome views of the Danube. I would recommend the Hospital in the Rock as a place that you must see. The only pity about it being that they do not allow you to take photographs inside. From Castle Hill you can get anywhere in the city using public transport, taxi, hop-on, hop-off bus (I recommend the Red Line) or simply enjoy the castle area.

We enjoyed everything about this trip - even the sub-zero temperatures - and intend to return at some point in the near future. We will stay in the Castle Garden.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Ian M,
thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor, it was a pleasure to read it. We are very glad that your stay in Budapest was an enjoyable experience and that the Hotel Castle Garden was able to be a part of it. We are sorry for the inconvenience that occurred during your walk, but we are also glad, that due to the assistance of our guest-orientated staff you got safe to the hotel. Thank you for your comments and recommendations.We hope to see you soon back, you must see our great city at above-zero temperatures as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    174
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
66
271
47
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in January having stayed briefly once before in October. This is a very civilised place to stay, located close to the castle district and with good public transport to the rest of the city via Moskva Ter which is 10 mins walk or a short ride on the 16 bus. Room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The hotel staff are friendly and professional. The breakfast is very nice and the complimentary tea and coffee in the reception during the day is a nice touch.The price was very good for the quality. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Budapest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Robert S,
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know about it on Tripadvisor. It is always great to know that our returning guests remain satisfied with our services on their second visit as well. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Castle Garden for your stay in Budapest and we hope we can welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had three rooms at Hotel Castle Garden and found it to be delightful. Near metro and exploring on the Buda side. We had parents, three married daughters and one son in law. We would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others

Staff helpful and congenial

Just remember that money exchanges are harder to figure in forinth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear JoOlson73,
many thanks for your nice review about your recent stay at Hotel Castle Garden. A real pleasure to read that your trip was a great experience, we are delighted that we could be the part of bringing the family together. We hope the exchange difficulties were the only negative aspects of your stay. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Loved this hotel, staff were very welcoming and was so clean and tidy and the restaurant where we had breakfast was so quirky and spacious. The hotel was very high up so we had to get taxis to the sight seeing places, but those were very cheap and the hotel did fixed prices with a set taxi firm, loved the space in the room, the fact it had a bath and the bed was very comfortable. I would defiantly recommend this hotel and stay here again if i ever went back to Budapest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Aleanne L,
let me to thank you for writing such a lovely review from your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that your stay was a great experience. We are really glad that you enjoyed all the features of your room. We are looking forward to welcoming you back and thank you for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for five nights in January. Very helpful and friendly reception staff. Rooms are modern, comfortable and clean which is vital. Restaurant is open from breakfast until dinner and is available for snacks and drinks at any time. The only comments are that the toaster is exceptionally slow to toast during breakfast (fried eggs would be nice) and the coffee machine needs upgrading like the one available in the lobby all day - also it would be nice to order a simple sandwich as a snack occasionally

Overall this is an excellent hotel and grewat value for money where the residents are important. Will return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Gismobo,
I am appreciated to read your kind review of your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your note regarding the breakfast; we do take your consideration and we will make efforts to develop the service of it. Thank you for your visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter for 4 nights city break Great location near to the Castle and Fishermans Bastion. The number 16 bus will take you to the Pest side of the city. Our room was neat and tidy with a lovely bathroom but unfortunately was downstairs with a view of the street at the back of the hotel and over the car park entrance/exit. We arrived late Monday evening so didn't use the restaurant but planned to eat there on the following 3 evenings. Unfortunately on the Tuesday and the Thursday the restaurant was closed to hotel residents as it was being used for private parties so we only ate there on one evening, having said that the meal was great. The hotel staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The hotel is certainly good value for money and i would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Marlin2000!
I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at our Hotel Castle Garden. I am sorry to read that you could not eat in the restaurant caused by busy Christmas time. We truly hope that you can enjoy it’s delicious foods in the future. We are glad that you felt you have received a good value for your money in our Hotel. I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is well placed near the Castle, you can reach it on the number 16 bus. The hotel greeted us late in the evening having arranged a car to collect us from our Krakow bus, there was a little trouble with the taxi finding us but this was eventually sorted by an extremely helpful receptionist.
The room was more than adequate and well provided, if I had any comments it would be that the breakfast needed a little more attention and more frequent replenishment of its provisions. Several of us were waiting quite a period and you no sooner found one thing provided when the next was empty. Just a small thing but it did detract from the excellent service provided in the other areas.
Transport around Budapest was very easy, a day ticket on the tram was approximately $6 Au and this covered all the public transport, we used the tram mainly as it showed you both areas of this fairytale city, both day and night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Janbee23,
many thanks for leaving your comment about your recent stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. I am delighted to read that you got safe to the hotel due to the cooperation of my colleuge. Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding the breakfast, we will take further steps to make some improvement. Should your plans bring you back to our fairytale city, please do not hesitate to contact to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Address: Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#26 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#30 Family Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castle Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;