We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small casket” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castle Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castle Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Castle Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
“A small casket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A few weeks ago my husband and I decided to stay a long weekend in Budapest. Our relatives recommended us Hotel Castle Garden, because they really enjoyed their stay here some years ago. It was not only a small, friendly hotel, it exceeded all of our expectations.
The atmosphere captivates you immediately and the hotel is like a small casket. We liked the inside of the hotel very much, the room was large, clean and our bed was comfortable for sleep. My favourite was the large bathroom, it was so neat.
The staff was really helpful and hospitable. We had a lot of questions about the city and they were patient and very kind. We got useful advices, what to see and what to do. We used the public transportation and so it is easy to reach everything.
We loved the long walks in the castle district, and the spectacular view to the Pest side and the river Danube.
I highly recommend this hotel and I hope, that we will return soon.

Vanessa Romer

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking to the castle walls are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Vaness R!

Let me thank you for your nice title and for sharing your experience with the travelling community about your recent stay at our Hotel
I was glad to see that our staff provided an exceptional service throughout your stay and you had been pleased with our rooms. I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can do anything for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    182
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
70
290
50
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and 8 month old baby for a weekend prior to travelling to a work conference in Tata, Hungary. I wanted somewhere comfortable, close to main sights and not overly expensive. I chose this hotel because of the great reviews it had - and it actually exceeded all my expectations. For a start, it was very warm in the room (heating on all the time - but with the possibility of opening windows or turning on air conditioning), which was very important for the baby, the bathroom was spacious and stylish and the room was clean and very comfortable. The baby's cot and bedding was very clean too (not something I take for granted anymore after staying in a couple of more expensive hotels in Hungary where the baby's bedding stank of urine!). The location was perfect because my husband could go for walks with the baby in the pretty surroundings of the hotel, while I was able to do my work (the wi-fi in the room and restaurant was very good for that too). With the limited time I had because of my work, it was nice that I could step out for short walks to see the spectacular nearby views of Budapest. The best bit, however, was the restaurant. After eating some awful food in a nearby restaurant, my husband and I ended up eating at the hotel restaurant for all our meals because it was so good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Olivia O!

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We take great pride in that the majority of our guests leave refreshed and renewed. It is our commitment to our guests that they will be 100% satisfied. We are family friendly hotel, thus it is important to provide a quality service to our baby guests, as well! Thank you for choosing Hotel Castle Garden. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinas Powys
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Myself, husband and 5 friend have just returned from Budapest where we stayed in the Hotel Castle Garden for 4 nights. We arrived at the hotel after midnight due to our flight time. We received a very warm and welcome hello from the receiptionist and it was straight to bed. Very comfy beds in what was a spotless room. In the morning we welcomed in the sun onto our balcony, a lovely addition to the room if you can get one.
The restaurant served up the most delicious food at a very reasonable price --the pasta carbonara was particularly good. Waiters were very friendly and attentive.
The hotel is ideally situated just yard from the Catle wall, once inside it was magical - the views accross Budapest were breathtaking. Transport systems were exellent and we crossed over into the Pest side for some retail therapy.
A visit to the Parliament is a must as well as a trip down the danube. The Gelert baths were also a lovely experience. All in all we had a great time and Budapest has definately carved a way into our hearts.

Room Tip: We were in room 303 which had a delightful balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Karen!

I am delighted to read your comment made about your recent staying with us. It was our pleasure to be at your service making such a positive experience of your staying. We truly hope we can welcome you back as a returning guests in our hotel. Please feel free to contact to us if you need anything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier Municipality, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My houseband and I stayed here for 2 nights last year, and 1 night this autumn. Since we are not just going for the sightseeing ( my houseband is from Budapest ) we appreciate the location close to the castle area, and also a short walk to trams and busses. We where upgraded to the Panorama room, with own terrace and excellent view over Budapest. The service at the front desk is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Linda D!

Thank you for your nice review about your staying in Hotel Castle Garden. We truly happy that our services have met with your expectation and even you have been upgraded to the Panorama room. We hope you will stay with us this year, as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights. The staff on the reception speak very good English and were very friendly, gave us a map etc on arrival. Our room was modern and was great for the price we paid. We had a lovely modern bathroom, shower was pretty good. Well stocked mini bar which by English standards was pretty cheap. We had a flat screen TV(not that we watched it) and an enclosed balcony. My wife and I found the bed really uncomfortable but this is personal taste. The hotel can't accommodate everyone for this so I'm not knocking the hotel for this. The hotel location is up the hill in Buda, which after a day out in Pest wasn't great to walk up to but the 16 bus stops outside the hotel. It's right next to the castle district(to state the obvious) which has a few nice restaurants and the faust wine cellar. The attached italian restaurant gives residents 15% discount, we ate the night we landed and it was great, if a little pricey in comparison to other restaurants but still cheap by UK standards. We drank here a few times and took drinks up to the room before going out for meals etc. nice area to sit outside in the sunshine as well.
All in all was a great hotel and really enjoyed our trip to Budapest was a lovely city and you can walk everywhere. Would recommend for a city break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear filipoberio!

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Thank you for your compliments. We agree that the location is quite practical if you want to take a short quiet walk in the castle area or you can have access to the city centre within 15 minutes with metro or with bus. Many of our mattresses have been changed recently and we are sorry that it could not win you conveniences. Thank you for choosing Hotel Castle Garden. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have recently stayed in the hotel as city break in Budapest. It was amazing experience in every point of view. Since it was a special occassion we have been upgraded to the panorama room as a gift of the hotel. (It is still really appreciated) From the room you can see all over the Buda site even till the Buda mounatins sourranded. The room was just perfectly clean and the reception team were at our service in any requests anytime. As summerizing, we would definately recommend the hotel, who would like to enjoy a historical area but still feeling home.

Room Tip: Panorama room or rooms on the castle side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Bianca922!

Thank you for your feedback and wonderful compliments. I can not wait to share your review with our team. They love to hear when their hard work and dedication make an impact on the guests stay. We hope you will return to us to celebrate another special day with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Good location for all sights in Buda old town, though bit of a trek down to the Danube. Staff very helpful and even pre-arranged a taxi to and from the airport for us that we were able to pay directly to the hotel. Think hotel only 4 years old so has new and modern comfortable beds. The restaurant serves very good food and with a 15% discount for residents is well worth using as we did on two nights of our stay. The only downside was that on returning after a hard day sightseeing we discovered that the restaurant was closed that evening for a wedding.. Advance notice at breakfast would have perhaps been more considerate. Without exception all staff were helpful and friendly and indeed everyone we encountered whilst in Budapest were equally polite. We never heard anyone use a car horn, and in fact saw many tourists wander across roads without looking but none of the coach drivers seem to mind. Though Budapest is a nice city, it isn't as intimate or beautiful as some others, notably Prague. possibly because of its large size. Probably worth a visit though.

Room Tip: We stayed in a baseroom room which was quiet at night as windows closed but might be noisy in summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear raffles4876!

I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your staying with us. Glad to hear that majority of your stay was a positive experience. I am sorry you could not eat in the restaurant due to a wedding party. You are right in point of preinformation for the guests; your comment will help management in order to avoid similar situations. We are glad for you recommendation and we hope we can welcome you back during the “Budapest Invitation” time, when you can have opportunity to try our wonderful and historical thermal baths.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Address: Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Budapest
#27 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castle Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.