We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castle Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castle Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Castle Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Tempe
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. We were some reason upgraded to the Panorama Room for the last leg of our journey (4/18-4/21). While the view and room is spectacular, there really is no love for the extra flight of stairs you need to take from the elevator to the room. It's minor, but I guess with just one room, there is no reason to extend an elevator all the way up. The location is beautiful but after a full day of walking around, the last thing you want to do is take the metro and walk up that hill. On the good side the 16 bus stops right in front of the parking garage, so it's an easy walk from there, but once again a good walk up the steps, then my other set of stairs and my legs are just jello.

My only other minor complaint is the lack of plugs. There was one above the heater and another in the bathroom. They gave us a water kettle, but there was no hookups on the breakfast bar, so I either had to put it on the floor or put it in the bathroom. Overall it was a great hotel and great for the price ($55 USD through Expedia) but still just a few small details could have made it that much better.

Room Tip: Take the panorama if you can, but just be aware it isn't handicapped accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Psumek!

First of all, let me thank for your review on behalf of the team of our hotel.

We do apologize if the lack of plugs caused any inconvience during your staying. Altough, good news I can announce; when you visit us next time, you can already enjoy the beatiful view with a glass of wine on the terrace of the panoram room, which has just been refurbished and now it is ready. We hope, we can welcome back to you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    183
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
70
290
50
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is at a great location just outside the Buda castle. It's a 5ms walk from metro, tram, bus station and a 5ms walk to a big shopping centre.
The hotel itse
The hotel itself is very modern, clean, fresh. Everything was like new.
Staff were friendly and helpful and it also has a very good restaurant.
Can't wait to go back again.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear "Reszus"!

Thank you for your "superb" review about our hotel, which is appreciated by on behalf of our team. We also can not wait to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKELMERSDALE LANCS,UK.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and i stayed 4 nights from 21st to the 25th of March and was excellent value for money with a great location up in the Castle area of the Buda side of Budapest.Down the hill is the Metro,Bus and Tram station,an easy walk down,not so easy coming back after a long day sightseeing,but easy transport into the city.The hotel was spotless and the staff on reception and in the terraced restuarant were always polite and helpful at all times.The breakfast is full and varied and you,ll not starve.We eat out on the terrace as the sun was warm enough,but there was air conditioning inside,if that was your choice.We wouldnt hesitate in reccomending a stay here,and intend to go back again ourselves.

Room Tip: 7 rooms on the 1st floor have an outdoor balcony with table and chairs,for the breeze and a drink be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Neilandmary!


Many thanks for the kind words appreciated by the hotel team. We are happy, you did bring memorable positive experience about Budapest, which may make you return to us. We also would like to thank you for your recommendation; we do hope other will have the same right choice, when looking for accommodation. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family in near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We picked this hotel because it is close to the castle district - we arrived late at night and didn't realise how close until the morning - it is literally across the road from the walls of the castle district and about 200 metres from the Vienna gate. It's a comfortable hotel, with very friendly staff. It has a nice bar/restaurant with a terrace, whcih is a good place to relax with a post-sightseeing drink. In addition, there are lots of restaurants in the Castle area, or within easy reach. The Metro at Moskva Ter is close, or there are trolley buses which go across to Pest.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear "06D123"!


Firstly, I would like to thank you for leaving your review of your staying in our hotel. We are happy to read your nice description may encouraging others to visit us. We hope, we can welcome you back and your family in summer or in autumn time, when the wine festival and many other exciting programs will be in the castle area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My friend & I had a very pleasant stay at this lovely clean, modern & excellently priced hotel. The staff were pleasant & helpful, even to the extent of supplying for us english breakfast tea, which was not one of their usual brands. The restaurant food was excellent and guests were given a discount. The castle area is very quiet and away from the traffic and transport links are easily accessible. My friend and I had only one little criticism on the hotel and that was the pillows in our room, we asked for a change of mine as it was very lumpy and my friend required an extra pillow. Perhaps they could have a pillow menu which is popular now.

Room Tip: Ground floor no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear "Smartie York"
Many thanks for your feedback and for your title about our hotel. We are pleased to read your praise of our staff, who were able to provide quality service to you. We do apologize for causing any inconvience of pillows, which we will pay attention more in the future. We do hope, we can welcome back you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Modern hotel, newly built, not ostentatious, but perfect for each service and detail. It is located a short walk from the Castle District and it'is close to Moskva Ter Metro station. Our room had a balcony, very useful in the spring and summer months. It 's very good also the restaurant of the Hotel, where I ate an excellent Thai rice with duck breast. The only negative is the breakfast, which is rather poor (extra charged). Excellent choice for visiting Budapest; I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Emilio C!

Thank you for your glowing feedback. We are glad that we could make you feel welcome not only in our hotel, but in our city, too. Your praise of our restaurant is also appreciated. We do apologize for any disappointment regarding our breakfast.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and then you may have a chance to try our Goulash soup, as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Nice clean, modern, moderately priced hotel, in an excellent position near the castle with breathtaking views nearby of the Danube river. Excellent restaurants, cafes and bars nearby. Bit quiet at night.

Room Tip: High up to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Feretdubois!

Many thanks for the short, but your good summary about our hotel. We hope, you will visit Budapest again exploring the other side of the Danube river, as well.
In case of accommodation, do not hesitate to contact to us noting a second floor room or our panorama room. :-)

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Address: Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Budapest
#27 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castle Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.