We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castle Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Castle Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was a lovely, boutique style hotel with an excellent location. Quiet and roomy as well. Within walking distance of the Buda Castle Garden District. And at the top of a steep hill that led to a major transportation hub with subway, trams and buses all handy. There was the typical Euro style breakfast buffet. The restaurant was a bit pricey for a budget traveler but the one meal I did eat was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    164
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
63
248
45
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ljubljana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

With girlfriend stayed in this new hotel for 6 nights between Christmas and New year. The hotel had and special offer and provided us with Budapest Card, dinner etc.
People who are working in this hotel are very professional and really like to help.
Metro station is just down the hill, but you can just use the bus line to metro station and up.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

After reading the negative reviews concerning the air conditioning we were concerned and wrote the hotel directly. Only on the last of our four day stay did we find the room's cooling turned-off while we were out and it did eventually become comfortable -the outdoor temperature was in the mid-30/95 degrees these four days. Given the other negative reviews, this action by the management could be best expressed as "penny wise, pound foolish."
As a whole the hotel is quiet, clean and convenient to public transportation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Castle Garden in the beginning of July 2011 and enjoyed my stay immensely. The Hotel is situated in a quiet corner surrounded by a beautiful garden landscape. The Hotel is only ~5-10 minute walk away from the red metro line which will take you all necessary destinations or connections in Budapest. In addition, the Hotel is located outside the Castle district where you can find the best panoramic view of Budapest. If your a runner, you can easily run to the Danube River in 5 minutes & will have a great workout making your way back up the steep hill to the hotel. I say that the location is lovely if you want to have a more relaxing environment for after your sightseeing adventures of business expenditures.

As for the Hotel, the breakfast is exceptional and one of the better one's I have seen through my years of travel. The restaurant they have on site serves delicious Italian cuisine but depending on your budget it may be a little more expensive but hotel guest receive a 15% discount. The room service is efficient and insures your stay in comfortable. The staff is mostly friendly, although I did run into one staff member with a poor attitude but that was only 1/5 people I met there with a poor attitude. The price for the rooms are decent for what you receive and with the added welcome drink plus afternoon complimentary tea/coffee/snacks - I say Hotel Castle Garden is the perfect place to stay. I will be staying there my next visit as will my family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear RebekkaVegas!

First I would like to thank this nice comment.
In the opinion of our guest is our top piority abova all.
We take great care to communicate with our guests and providing assistance as well.
I'm pleased that both the location and appearance of the hotel was good for you.
If you re -act in Budapest we welcome you and your family.

Best regards,

Tamas Lenky
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in this delightful hotel at the end of June 2011. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, close to so many attractions. Used the restaurant and spa and both were very enjoyable. Anyone going to Budapest I would strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Mausoleum13!

Especially thank you for taking the time to write on Tirpadvisor.
I'm glad that you delighted of the location and the services.
I also hope that we will see you again in our hotel as soon as possible.

Best regards

Tamas Lenky
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights and left very satisfied. Personnel was friendly and helpful. Room was modern and cosy, breakfast was delicious! Just outside of the hotel there is a bus station and just few meters away tram and metro station. We already recommended this hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GezaF, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear Hugama!

I'm happy that you recommended our hotel to your friends, it means that you really enjoyed your stay here.
I'm glat that the personnel and the room was excellent to you.
I hope to we have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Tamas Lenky
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Horrible place, starting from upon entering the lobby the front desk clerk did not even bother to return our cheerful greeting! And we were the ONLY ones in the small lobby! Thereafter every question was like pulling teeth from them!?! Absolutely RUDE, unfriendly , unhelpful, and ZERO hospitality! And one of us is even Hungarian! THEN , there is a public parking lot across the street from them, and THEY REFUSED to give you change for the meter! That's because they want you to pay their parking fees underground. We travel tu Hungary every year, THIS was the WORST hotel experience EVER!!! DO NOT stay here! We checked out early...and glad for it!

Room Tip: Stay at the BURG Hotel up at the top>
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Address: Lovas u. 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Budapest
#27 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#34 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castle Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.