We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delhi Darbar

Delhi Darbar
Dohany utca 54, Budapest 1074, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)
+36 1 78 69 853
Improve this listing
Ranked #699 of 1,985 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food but quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We enjoyed our meal, the restaurant seemed very authentic and was nicely decorated. It wasn't exactly bustling but that was nice after a long day walking.

The food was good quality, big portions and reasonably priced, we had a nice meal and would go back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    41
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont Saint Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food - shame it is so quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I eat here regularly - the food is reliable. Staff are nice - it deserves a few more customers. Give it a go!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Small place, delicious food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I try not to give 5 stars freely, so please keep that in mind.

Myself and a coworker were heading somewhere else for dinner, but while walking by had a sudden impulse to have Indian food. We were quite happy with our decision!

If/when I return to Budapest I am likely to eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why is this place so quiet ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Went there today for lunch and was the only customer. With dedicated service I have no complains on the delivery. Ordered my usual veg dishes and nan breads. Arrived quickly and hot. Great taste, good spicing good portions, good price. No complaints - just can not understand why I did not have more company.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Following tripadvisor advice, my girlfriend and I ended up in this restaurant on a Monday night. It was empty, only one other couple was there.

The only people working there that we saw were Hungarian... The decoration was a strange mix of Hungarian and Indian, but we didn't come to it for that so it was okay. All we were interested in was Indian food at a good price...

My girlfriend ordered a veggie dish, with tofu and spices that was really good at a good price.

I ordered a more expensive dish, made of lamb marinated with mint, coriander and various spices... At least that is what it was supposed to be on the menu! I received several pieces of red meat that was sausgage tasting, everything but lamb and the spices it said on the menu. I asked the waiter if it was really the dish I ordered and unfortunately it was... Eatable, but not Indian at all and I doubt it was lamb either...

The waiter was not nice, he seemed bored to still have to work because of us.


To summay: You should probably avoid this restaurant unless you order something veggie or you dont mind surprises

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delhi Darbar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Delhi Darbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delhi Darbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.