We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a quiet area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regnum Residence

Save Saved
You added Hotel Regnum Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regnum Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ganz u. 8, Budapest 1025, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 330 hotels in Budapest
Bucharest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a quiet area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

What i liked:
Hotel is nice on a quiet and nice street close to the Danube.
Room was spacious and clean with a nice design.
Breakfast ok.

What i didn't like:
The only thing i didn't like is that i waited too long to check-in.
After a long day of travel i waited for 25 minutes to check-in.
There was only 1 receptionist at that time and talked to another client this full time.
It seemed that she was doing this on purpose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    158
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
77
264
27
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vercelli, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

good position, quiet and close to the spa, spacious rooms, only the relaxation area was not the greatest, the staff was very helpful. he breakfast was good and the dining room clean.
excellent starting point for visiting the city

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is centrally located near river.you can walk to main visit points.the rooms are very comfortable and the price is very good.you have cable internet free. The breakfast is reach.hotel staff is friendly.Ut is a good choise for budapest visit

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a package so it would not have been our usual choice as it is modern and we usually go for older character hotels but we were very pleasantly surprised. The facilities were excellent, we had a suite with separate living area. It was well equipped and the bathroom was modern and clean. The included breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice of hot and cold food. The hotel is in a quiet area of Buda but within easy walking distance of bars and restaurants and very handy for the Castle district area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We decided to stay here because the price was great and breakfast was included, unlike with some of the other hotels. What a good choice! Don't let initial fears about the location of the hotel stay with you too long. It is in a more quiet, authentic part of the city, where lots of locals live and this is, indeed, one of the many advantages of staying here. The Canadian Embassy is directly opposite. The underground was a 5 minute walk along the river, looking at the marvellous Parliament buildings....an absolute pleasure every day, I can tell you. The underground is fast, efficient and you can get from a to b cheaply and happily. The hotel is near Margaret Island, with it's parks etc. A 10 minute walk along the river northwards will get you to the best well-kept thermal baths secret in Budapest...the Veli Bej baths. No tourists, no bathing caps needed and no sandals/flip-flops needed. Just take a towel. Elegant and quiet.The Regnum staff were so incredibly friendly and efficient. Nothing was a problem for them. Good quality breakfasts with some great breads!!! Lots of choice for veggies and meat eaters alike. We slept like babies as, not only is this a quiet part of the city but our room also overlooked an unused garden/courtyard. The corridors are all beautifully carpeted and there is mediatation music piped throughout the hotel. A lovely, relaxing ambiance and the place feels like a real retreat when you come back after pounding the streets for the day. Everything about it has the feel-good factor. Well done Regnum!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived on a late flight via the hotels taxi transfer service and when we went to check in were pleasantly surprised to hear we had been upgraded to a suite. This was fantastic as we were staying for a week. The suite was a generous size and had a balcony which I had wanted but when we were there Budapest/Hungary was in the middle of a heat wave and it was too hot to sit out. As others have said the location is very quiet and safe but it is easy to travel across Margit Hid on the tram into Pest, or walk down to the metro and go under the Danube, for more excitement/ shopping etc. We were in Budapest for the Sziget festival and the Regnum Residence was ideal for travelling on the HEV to and from the festival as the HEV was running all through the night - so no taxis needed!!
Breakfast was a buffet style with an assortment of hot and cold foods. My husband relished the scrambled eggs which usually had two styles to choose from. I enjoyed the pastries and the watermelon which was sweet. My only negative comment is about the coffee because I have to drink very strong espresso and the machine although convenient was not up my usual Nespresso at home.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The top floor has the large balconies and good views of the Var.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wedemark, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Regnum Residence Hotel is, I think, for both families and business people a good choice a bit outsidebof Budapest city center. Staff was very friendly, Hotel surrounding is very quiet, clean and safe (Embassies are neighbours). My room was a normal room, no business upgrade,... it was very comfortable, clean and new. Continental breakfast with some Hungarian touch, also a small bar with some places outside belong to the hotel.
There is a very easy but brillant beer pub next to the hotel at Ganz Utca. They brew their own beers and have lots of very good beers from all over the wirld bottled. From the hotel it is a nice 1.6 km walk over the Margareten (?) Bridge into downtown: huge and very good shopping mall West End ( next to the Hilton Hotel). Jogging over the bridge and throughout the Margareten (?) Island within the river us about a very nice 10km trip.
I enjoyed my stay and will certainly take this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regnum Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regnum Residence

Address: Ganz u. 8, Budapest 1025, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 330 hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regnum Residence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Regnum Residence is a newly built four star hotel situated in downtown Budapest with excellent access to the main public transportation facilities. Historical Castle District and the Danube are just a few steps away, while downtown area is in 5 minutes reach as well. Designed in minimalist-inspired style, the hotel satisfies the desires of business and leisure travelers seeking intimate surroundings, functional accommodations and the ultimate in modern comfort, all complimented by attentive and experienced personnel. Hence the great location rooms are quiet and spacious with high speed internet access. Complimentary WIFI access is also available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Regnum Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regnum Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.