We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, great location and helpful friendly staff -what more could you ask?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regnum Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Regnum Residence to your Saves list
Hotel Regnum Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ganz u. 8, Budapest 1025, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Excellent accommodation, great location and helpful friendly staff -what more could you ask?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

By coincidence we chose Hotel Regnum Residence, located in a quiet area a short walk from the city centre and main attractions, we visited all we could see in three days.

We had a room on the top floor with a balcony with a view of Danube river which was wonderful and we stayed for 2 nights in the middle of September. The room was huge and clean with air conditioning which we were extremely grateful for! The free soft drinks from the minibar is a nice compliment also. Smiling faces of the hotel staff greeted us at breakfast! Breakfast was excellent! Great choice of food, fresh fruit, yogurt and pastries.

About the service: the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful to us. They all spoke English very well. They helped us to book a evening cruise which was amazing!

In conclusion, we had a really nice weekend and Regnum Residence contributed to this. Definitely this is our choice of hotel for our next visit to fascinating Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallagergo, General Manager at Hotel Regnum Residence, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for taking the time and write a so long review. I think this review will help a lot to our future guests to select our hotel as it mention all the great services and facilities of our hotel. I am really glad that you liked everything and hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    221
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
124
320
34
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel has a good mix of tourists and business customers. We stayed there for a couple of nights late into a three-week trip. The clean, spacious rooms were a peaceful break from the noise and busy-ness of hotels in the center of cities and that focus primarily on tourists. The staff was friendly and helpful, and all of them speak at least a little English (the Canadian embassy is across the street). The restaurant has a good crowd of locals at lunch, which is always a good sign, and the breakfast was good. The restaurant is closed at night, but there is a good local restaurant a block away and several more within easy walking distance. Although the hotel is outside of the main tourist areas access to both Buda and Pest is easy, via foot or public transportation. Margaret Island is a ten minute walk away, with its wooded areas and running trail.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallagergo, General Manager at Hotel Regnum Residence, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest!
Thank you for your opinion and it is good to see that you have only good memories. It is true that we have many tourist and one of our advantage is our location. The hotel is located on a quite street but all the sights of the city are very close!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is an excellent value, clean, new hotel in Budapest. The staff was helpful and warm, especially Dora at the front desk. Her warm smile and lovely reception made our stay so comfortable. The hotel's location on the Buda's side is perfect and the location near the metro made travel so easy. The suite was spacious and the balcony was a nice added touch.. I would highly recommend this hotel as a great value.. It just opened in 2010 and the staff learned quickly how to make their guests comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallagergo, General Manager at Hotel Regnum Residence, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest!
I would like to thank you this review in the name of the entire staff of the hotel. We all work very hard to satisfy the needs our guest and provide 5star service in our 4star hotel. Dora and her colleagues at the front desk are always happy to help even the special request of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had a very large, luxurious room with a wrap around balcony on the fifth floor. I agree about the lack of restaurant in the evenings & lack of 'normal' tea bags (I don't drink coffee and had to have fruit tea at breakfast) but those are minor complaints for an excellent value hotel. There was ample choice for breakfast, even if fussy like me, and we all thought the bread was lovely and fresh. We had 2 cans of coke & 2 bottles of water in the room fridge which were replaced free of charge every day. The staff were very friendly and helpful & recommended a very nice local restaurant on our arrival. I would not hestitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the beautiful city of Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallagergo, General Manager at Hotel Regnum Residence, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your review, and it is good to read that you had an excellent stay with us. I am really sorry about the small mistake we usually offer "normal" tea as well not only fruit tea. I hope during your next visit to Budapest you can taste our normal tea and than you can write an even better review about the hotel. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Was upgraded to a suite on arrival which was very comfortable and clean, though dull decorwise. Very friendly, helpful staff and hotel is conveniently located to Yellow line of Hop-on Hop-off Bus which runs every hour on the half hour. The only criticism I would have is that breakfast was not 4 star,coffee from a machine and only Earl Grey tea. So bring teabags if u like your English breakfast. Hot choices very poor and bread did not seem fresh on some days. Also, no tea in bedrooms, only limited supply of coffee,sugar etc, and no milk. Had to ask for milk from bar area at night

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallagergo, General Manager at Hotel Regnum Residence, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest!
Thank you for your review and it is great that you enjoyed most of your stay with us. We always try to make our guest happy and offer a free upgrade at arrival if we have a free suite avaible.
I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with our breakfast selection. We usually offer at least 5 different tea for breakfast and also our coffee machine gives a wide selection of coffee. The bread and pastry is home made, we prepare it every day early in the morning. I am sure that you are right that the breakfast was not perfect for you during your visit, but please give us a second chance and visit us agian whene you can taste and enjoy our regular breakfast selection which is above the 4 star standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

30 Sept - 3 Oct 2011

I booked this hotel due to the good write ups on Trip Advisor as was not disappointed.
I emailed the hotel to arrange a Taxi to collect us from the Airport and it was there waiting for us as we came through the arrivals area. Our driver was very professional and knowledgeable. The fare cost 6500 HUF.
As we arrived at the Hotel we were met by friendly staff who spoke very good English. Our room was very clean and modern. This backed onto to the court yard which was very peaceful. The hotel is located on the Buda side of the Danube. Is very quiet and within walking distance of the pest side. It’s about 25min walk to get the Parliament Building and definitely worth a visit. It’s even more spectacular at night. The Breakfast was great, with loads of variety for everyone. The Bar is pleasant and located in a corner is a PC with internet access for all to use.
I read a few write ups with comments concerning the restaurant area not open in the evening, I must admit we would have used this if it had been available. But i will say the staff did offer to order food in from a restaurant or take away. We settled for a Pizza and were given plates and cutlery to eat off, which was great.
All in all the Hotel was everything we wanted from this trip, reasonably priced, Friendly, Clean relaxed and professional.
We are looking forward to a return trip to Budapest as it’s a very relaxed city with loads of beautiful places to visit and reasonable priced restaurants.

Room Tip: Court Yard Side for Quietness, Riverside for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here recently with friends on a long weekend. It is well located on the Buda side of the Danube and great for access to the castle area. I think the public transport to get across the river is fairly close but we walked everywhere. The weather was good and its a lovely city for walking.The hotel is actually opposite the Canadian Embassy and the area is fairly quiet.

The room was spacious and clean with all the usual things you would expect in a modern hotel of this class. A nice touch was the free non-alcoholic drinks in the minibar. The staff were really helpful and friendly and gave us several ideas for things to do and see. Do not miss the castle area up the hill, there are some great restaurants and the views to be had are superb,

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and helpful staff on hand again should you need anything. The only strange thing was that on our stay there was a toaster but no sliced bread to go in it. Only a minor hiccup but one they should try to avoid in the future. We didn't really miss toast in fairness, as there were more than enough alternatives to try.

Overall this is an great place to stay on the Buda side of the river. A very good hotel with excellent, friendly staff. I certainly recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#32 of 334 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Mirage Fashion Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#45 of 334 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Budapest Danube
#48 of 334 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#21 of 334 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regnum Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regnum Residence

Address: Ganz u. 8, Budapest 1025, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regnum Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Regnum Residence is a newly built four star hotel situated in downtown Budapest with excellent access to the main public transportation facilities. Historical Castle District and the Danube are just a few steps away, while downtown area is in 5 minutes reach as well. Designed in minimalist-inspired style, the hotel satisfies the desires of business and leisure travelers seeking intimate surroundings, functional accommodations and the ultimate in modern comfort, all complimented by attentive and experienced personnel. Hence the great location rooms are quiet and spacious with high speed internet access. Complimentary WIFI access is also available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Regnum Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regnum Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.